PDA

View Full Version : Decisions, Decisions


Cheimison
08-19-04, 04:14 AM
Should I run Doom 3 at 1280x1024 at Ultra Quality or 1600x1200 at High?

Skrot
08-19-04, 04:52 AM
1600 at high.

LiquidX
08-19-04, 09:48 AM
It can be very playable at 1600X1200 Ultra, 4X AA, 8AF. It did stutter at first but after this tweak I came by I had no problems at all also which also helped some others. At 1280X1200 you can even raise AA and AF with tweak but 1600x1200 looks about the same.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=34082

Ninjaman09
08-19-04, 09:51 AM
16x12 high, and turn off AA, there's no point in it at that resolution anyway. Ultra mode doesn't look any different from High, so that's an easy one. Runs awesome and looks incredible at this setting on my system.

Riptide
08-19-04, 10:10 AM
1600x1200, HQ. And I agree with Ninja, turn off AA. It saps performance and IMO is not worth it in this game. Aliasing isn't as noticeable for some reason with this program.

Arioch
08-19-04, 10:40 AM
1600x1200, HQ. And I agree with Ninja, turn off AA. It saps performance and IMO is not worth it in this game. Aliasing isn't as noticeable for some reason with this program.

It's because all the jaggies are in the dark!

:tongue2:

I found the best compromise to be 1600x1200 Ultra Quality, 8xAF/2xAA. The 2xAA is just enough to deal with jaggies when the flashlight is on them and more than compensates for the performance loss at 4xAA.

Edge
08-19-04, 12:39 PM
Actually, it seems that there's virtually no performance hit for running in ultra high rather than high with a 256meg card, in fact some people have noted IMPROVED performance in ultrahigh. All it does is uncompress all the textures, which might eat up texture memory but doesn't really impact performance. Run a few timedemos and see if running in ultrahigh really makes a difference, if not you might as well run it at 1600x1200 with ultrahigh.

Sazar
08-19-04, 12:49 PM
16x12 @ high... :)

no brainer there...