PDA

View Full Version : My 6800 seems to be underperforming


Cheimison
08-19-04, 02:34 PM
GeForce 6800 GT OCed, Athlon 64 3400+, 1 gig RAM
Okay, turning the quality to default and leaving AF and noAA to application controlled I ran in 1600x1200 in high quality mode on Doom3, using timedemo1, and got 34.something FPS, whereas HARDOCP was getting an average of 57.something FPS. Any ideas as to why my performance is subpar?

IGx89
08-19-04, 08:55 PM
If it isn't already, try changing your AGP aperture size to 256mb in the BIOS; that seemed to help my 6800NU.

saturnotaku
08-19-04, 09:10 PM
Should double check to make sure your motherboard chipset drivers are properly installed and that you run the timedemo twice consecutively, taking the second score as the proper one.

Cheimison
08-19-04, 09:47 PM
Increased my arpeture size and updated my chipset drivers, and I did get a performance boost. However I'm still doing 52fps on the second timedemo. That's not by any means bad, but considering my card is OCed over hte HardOCP levels and my proccessor is faster and I have more RAM, I find it odd that I'd be doing 5fps less.

IGx89
08-19-04, 09:55 PM
My Athlon 64 3200 @2.4ghz and 6800NU computer gets ~47fps in demo1 (2nd run) at High Quality 1280x1024 0xAA (and 49.5fps with 2xAA!?), and it also does seem slower than most benchmarks I've seen.

Sazar
08-19-04, 10:06 PM
GeForce 6800 GT OCed, Athlon 64 3400+, 1 gig RAM
Okay, turning the quality to default and leaving AF and noAA to application controlled I ran in 1600x1200 in high quality mode on Doom3, using timedemo1, and got 34.something FPS, whereas HARDOCP was getting an average of 57.something FPS. Any ideas as to why my performance is subpar?

coupla questions...

what chipset are you running on...

and do you experience subpar scores with any other benchmarks?

Cheimison
08-19-04, 10:17 PM
VIA something or other on an MSI mainboard
I was generally scoring lower than normal on benchmarks, but now that I updated drivers I'll run again

And I just ran timedemo demo1 on Ultra Quality at 1600x1200 with 2xqAA (patented nVidia thing, sort of a mix of 2x and 4xAA) and 16xAF, with the Ultra Extreme Quality mod (self-shadowing) and got 40something the first time and 50fps the second time.

I think either the AGP Aperture thing or the chipset drivers were causing the hitching,

Cheimison
08-19-04, 10:53 PM
Thanks much to everyone who responded, your recommendations have doubled my score on 3dmark2003, improved my doom3 performance noticeably and also got me to look at my case long enough to realise one of my four fans wasn't plugged in.

Sazar
08-19-04, 11:00 PM
i was gonna say it might be an idea to get newer chipset drivers :)

there are new hyperion drivers out for the chipset that dropped about a week ago or less... if you don't have em... grab em...

the aperture generally doesn't make a difference but who knows... quirks abound with hardware :)