PDA

View Full Version : Doom3 on Windows Server 2003


Heavyd
08-19-04, 09:33 PM
Does Doom3 Install/play on Doom3, I know it only says 2k/Xp only, but im guessing that since it is newer than both operating systems it should work. Its like saying the next version of windows won't play Doom3 because its not 2k or xp. If it does work, then great!, if it doesn't, is there a way to bypass it and get it to work?

de><ta
08-20-04, 09:46 AM
I have not tried it out on 2003, but of the top of my head I can not see why it should not work (ie. driver related or DX/OGL related).

intercede007
08-20-04, 09:54 AM
There is a mod that requires you to rip an ISO of CD1 and replace a file.

I've tried to install D3 on Windows XP Professional 64 Bit Extended and it wouldn't let me. The error says "Doom3 is only supported under Windows 2000 and Windows XP".

YMMV.

saturnotaku
08-20-04, 10:02 AM
It'd be nice if someone would put out a mod that allows D3 to run on XP 64.

superklye
08-20-04, 10:12 AM
I used to run Server 2003 Enterprise (got it free with my VS.NET 2k3 upgrade for $26 :)) and I always had huge issues after installing the nVIDIA drivers. They weren't WHQL for Server 2003 and I'm guessing because of that anytime I had to open a submenu item, like say you go to Files and there is a "Recent Items>" with the black arrow meaning the side menu will pop out...I would have like a 5-10 second delay that made my computer freeze EVERY time I moused over one. It was obnoxious.

Heavyd
08-20-04, 06:37 PM
hey all, i found a solution to get doom3 to work on any version but it requires a second computer with 2k\xp. Pretty straight forward, install doom3 on the second computer and either a) copy it to cd\dvd, or b) network transfer, to the other computer, no registry problems, no nothing. Sometime in the future ill try this out with 9x, not that anyone really cares

Heavyd
08-20-04, 06:39 PM
I used to run Server 2003 Enterprise (got it free with my VS.NET 2k3 upgrade for $26 :)) and I always had huge issues after installing the nVIDIA drivers. They weren't WHQL for Server 2003 and I'm guessing because of that anytime I had to open a submenu item, like say you go to Files and there is a "Recent Items>" with the black arrow meaning the side menu will pop out...I would have like a 5-10 second delay that made my computer freeze EVERY time I moused over one. It was obnoxious.

man that must suck, hey i have that with my althlon on any operating system regardless :rolleyes:

r2d2d3d4d5
08-20-04, 06:57 PM
You could try a manual install (https://activision.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/activision.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=12693):

To do a manual install, do the following:

1) Create a destination folder (for example, c:\program files\doom 3)
2) Insert CD 1.
3) Copy Doom3.exe from CD 1 (Setup\Data\Doom3.exe) to your destination folder.
4) Create a "base" directory in your destination folder (for example, c:\program files\doom 3\base).
5) Copy pak002.pk4 from CD 1 (Setup\Data\base\pak002.pk4) to the "base" folder.
6) Copy game00.pk4 from CD 1 (Setup\Data\base\game00.pk4) to the "base" folder.
7) Insert CD 2.
8) Copy pak000.pk4 from CD 2 (Setup\Data\base\pak000.pk4) to the "base" folder.
9) Copy pak001.pk4 from CD 2 (Setup\Data\base\pak001.pk4) to the "base" folder.
10) Insert CD 3.
11) Copy pak003.pk4 from CD 3 (Setup\Data\base\pak003.pk4) to the "base" folder.
12) Copy pak004.pk4 from CD 3 (Setup\Data\base\pak004.pk4) to the "base" folder.
13) Go to the base folder and create a text file called "doomkey". NOTE: This file should not have any file extension.
14) Open the doomkey file in notepad.
15) Enter your CD Key exactly as it appears on the CD Key sticker. Use all capital letters and do not include any dashes.
16) Save that file.
17) Doom 3 should now be installed on your computer.

The final layout on the CD drive should look like this:
[destination folder]\Doom3.exe
[destination folder]\base\doomkey
[destination folder]\base\game00.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak000.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak001.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak002.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak003.pk4
[destination folder]\base\pak004.pk4