PDA

View Full Version : Flashing 6800NU to 6800GT, The Experience.


ChrisRay
08-22-04, 03:14 AM
Well I went ahead and did it, So I tell you what happened.


Absolutely Nothing, The bios flash went perfectly, Card was recognised as a 6800GT, and my clock speeds changed, But nothing else changed. Performance was exactly what you'd expect from a 350/900 card (I altered the memory) on a 12 pipeline configuration.


I when ahead and flashed back to the 6800NU (I mean what difference did it make) and I have had no problems with any games. Now I'm not suggesting people go flash there 6800NU now, But I am having my doubts that many cards are going to be moddable, The pipes seem to be locked at the hardware level. Same with the additional vertex unit.

mezkal
08-22-04, 03:18 AM
Hey Chris,

If that's the case then what do you think of Alexey's (Unwinder) work with his disussed Soft Mod solution?

ChrisRay
08-22-04, 03:20 AM
I have a feeling some 6800NU are actually NV40's that are just software locked. But I can say from this experience. That not all of them are. I'm cant say for sure how Nvidia and board dealers are handling the 6800 Line with the 6800NU/6800LE line.


I know Unwinder is an excellent programmer. If he has a found a way to unlock some cards, It wouldnt surprise me.

zoomy942
08-22-04, 09:29 AM
i have a 6800le that i just flashed last night to a non ultra and it has the 12 pipes perfeectly. so i am really excited about that. having the 12 pipes instead of 8 is nice. i wonder if someone could edit a bios and have 16 pipes open, but not have the super clock speeds of the 6800 ultras.

mezkal
08-22-04, 09:44 AM
Zoomy that sounds like a REALLY GOOD DEAL. The 6800LE is quite a bit cheaper than the others. Hmmm. Almost makes me want to go for one not 2 months after getting my FX 5900 XT :)

Ah consumerism. Donchya just love it? :P

zoomy942
08-22-04, 11:05 AM
Zoomy that sounds like a REALLY GOOD DEAL. The 6800LE is quite a bit cheaper than the others. Hmmm. Almost makes me want to go for one not 2 months after getting my FX 5900 XT :)

Ah consumerism. Donchya just love it? :P


yeah, i was really worried it wouldnt work.. but alas.. here i am with a non ultra! from an LE! and i have played for hours to see if artifacts show up.. and nope, everything is great.

mezkal
08-22-04, 11:10 AM
Could you pass on the site/shop where you purchased the LE? I can't seem to find any suppliers :(

saturnotaku
08-22-04, 11:14 AM
I thought the 6800LE was for the OEM market? It's not listed on Pricewatch anywhere and through Google all I come up with is sites that are outside the US.

zoomy942
08-22-04, 11:15 AM
i wish i could, but i bought it off someone here.. it was ruff97. he was selling it in the sale/trade forum.. i snatched it up. i meant to ask him where he got it, but now it looks like we both will ask. and if you get one, i am looking into someone having a bios, with the non ultra memory speeds and such, but with 16 pipes open

saturnotaku
08-22-04, 11:17 AM
with the non ultra memory speeds and such, but with 16 pipes open

Only problem with that is if you should happen to unlock the 16 pipes with the BIOS flash and it's unsuccessful, you're not going to be able to "re-lock" the other 8 pipes.

zoomy942
08-22-04, 11:18 AM
Only problem with that is if you should happen to unlock the 16 pipes with the BIOS flash and it's unsuccessful, you're not going to be able to "re-lock" the other 8 pipes.


what do you mean? i am new to the whole bios flashing scene. mine worked with going from 8 pipes to 12.

kahloq
08-22-04, 12:15 PM
There is nothing in ANY bios to LOCK down pipes tho. If you had experinced problems opening up the 4 pipes to GET to 12, there is NO WAY to lock those pipes back up. A bios flash, even back to the LE would not LOCK the 4 pipes you opened.

zoomy942
08-22-04, 12:29 PM
okay.. i get ya now.. now i see why i was so lucky that i was able to open these 4 pipes..

Nandro
08-25-04, 07:52 AM
What kind of gains did you get by opening those 4 pipes?

mustrum
08-25-04, 07:58 AM
With a modified flashtool you can lock pipes on x800 cards again.
If you can unlock via bios flash you can lock it again as well. The problem is just finding out/modify the flashtool to write the correct info.
It could be a problem to find out wich one is defective though (no issue with the pro vivos).

dsn2k
08-25-04, 08:02 AM
thanks, I expected the same result besides the fact your card is not bust.

zoomy942
08-25-04, 09:01 AM
What kind of gains did you get by opening those 4 pipes?

with my card.. when it was a 6800le, it was okay, but not the performaer i wanted.. i dont benchmark.. but when i opened the other pipes.. man o man, she was fast. doom 3 had no studdering at 1280x1024 at med detail. before, when i would look at large rooms and at glass, it would slow down.. and just wait till i get my cooling stuff i ordered from newegg and start overclocking it. woohoo :nanahump:

ruff97
08-25-04, 04:21 PM
I get it from a RMA from XFX i had to RMA my FX5900nu and they sent me a 6800LE man zoomy942 if i know i can open up the other pip i would not had sell but oh will

zoomy942
08-25-04, 07:40 PM
yeah, i didnt know i could dpo it until the day i got it. i saw somewhere about bios flashing, which i had never done.. i tried it and it worked great

ruff97
08-25-04, 08:02 PM
man oh man oh i had gold sit under me i didn't know it :retard: :retard: :screwy: