PDA

View Full Version : Apple Cinema display problem - Going to throw my 6800GT out window


nickwild
08-23-04, 07:24 PM
Upgrade gone terribly wrong

Got a Evga 6800GT and a new Apple Cinema 23 display on my XP box.

The card will not display bios screens, or even boot windows (yes I've waited for it to get to the desktop load with no luck). The only way I can get it to boot is to keep an analog vga monitor plugged in. When I do this the Apple comes up perfectly on the DVI port once in windows. The hugely ironic thing is that it works perfectly with my old 4200ti- BIOS screens windows boot screen everything works perfectly.

EVGA claims it stems from the monitor sending a non compliant EDID signal and have no bios fix to help. Apple could care less. EVGA said they have had reports of the ULTRA card working fine with the monitor- sounds fishy.

Anyone stuck in the same boat?

Thanks

-Nick

slainfoe
08-23-04, 07:27 PM
Edit: Cut it with the flames. I dont want to see any more of this kind of crap. --ChrisRay

nickwild
08-23-04, 07:29 PM
Wow thanks for the help.

If there was a PC monitor that looked as good as the Apple and supported 1920x1200 for the price I'd have been there.

EVGA also stated that this affects other monitors not just the Apples

mezkal
08-23-04, 07:43 PM
what you get for buyin an apple product.
why the hell do people buy apple when pc stuff is so much better.

Ummm What? Apple Cinema Displays are *cherished* in design houses around the world bro. Design houses with PC workstations. Sheesh. Don't be so one-eyed and ignorant yo!

Sazar
08-23-04, 08:00 PM
what happens when you run it using your vga port? are you getting the same issue?

btw yes.. the fact that the evga techie said the ultra works fine makes no sense... they should both be using the same ramdacs... dunno if the dual-dvi setup makes a difference for the ultra's though.. would be the only difference (unless your card has dual -dvi?)

nickwild
08-23-04, 08:10 PM
That's a really interesting point about the dual DVI on the ultras- the GT does have one DVI and one VGA. I'll give it a shot using a VGA->DVI adapter. Thanks for the suggestion.

mczern
08-23-04, 08:37 PM
Ultra's are supposed to have 2 seperate EDID chips I think. this may be why.

nickwild
08-23-04, 10:56 PM
Thank you very much for the feedback so far. I've been able to retrieve the EDID information from the apple display but I'm not sure if I'll be able to possibly update it yet. Here is the EDID information. Does anyone know what the 6800GT might be looking for that would be confusing it? Please note this was pulled while running under my old 4200ti:

I'm guessing it is the supported resolutions? The monitor actually displays 640x480,800x600,1024x768 all just fine. Text mode for bootup stretches OK with the 4200.

Monitor
Windows description......... Plug and Play Monitor
Manufacturer description.... Cinema HD Display
Manufacturer................ Apple
覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧
Plug and Play ID............ APP921F
Serial number............... [REMOVED]
覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧覧
Manufacture date............ 2004, ISO week 31
EDID revision............... 1.3
Display type and signal..... Digital
Sync input support.......... n/a
Screen size................. 490 x 310 mm (~24")
Power management............ Active off/sleep

Color characteristics
Display gamma............... 2.20
Red chromaticity............ Rx 0.640 - Ry 0.332
Green chromaticity.......... Gx 0.288 - Gy 0.601
Blue chromaticity........... Bx 0.146 - By 0.065
White point (default)....... Wx 0.313 - Wy 0.329

Timing characteristics
VESA GTF support............ Not supported
Horizontal scan range.......
Vertical scan range.........
Video bandwidth.............
Timing recommendation....... 1920x1200 at 60Hz
Modeline................ "1920x1200" 153.970 1920 1968 2000 2080 1200 1203 1209 1235 +hsync -vsync

Standard timings supported
1920 x 1200 at 60Hz - Apple
1920 x 1920 at 60Hz - VESA

Raw EDID (1)
00: 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 06 10 1F 92 A3 04 FE 02
10: 1F 0E 01 03 80 31 1F 78 2E CF B5 A3 55 49 99 25
20: 10 50 54 00 00 00 D1 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01
30: 01 01 01 01 01 01 25 3C 80 A0 70 B0 23 40 30 20
40: 36 00 EF 36 11 00 00 1A 00 00 00 FC 00 43 69 6E
50: 65 6D 61 20 48 44 20 44 69 73 00 00 00 FC 00 70
60: 6C 61 79 0A 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 0F

Display adapter
Adapter description......... NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4200 (Microsoft Corporation)
Adapter device ID........... 0x025310DE
Display settings............ 1920x1200, 32bpp

User/computer information
Registered user name........ [removed]
Registered organization..... [removed]
Network user name........... Administrator
Network computer name.......
Windows version ............ Windows XP
Windows build .............. 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
Installation date .......... 4/11/2104 12:52:51 PM

Sazar
08-23-04, 11:03 PM
okies... quick question... when you were displaying with the 6800gt... what resolution were you using?

is it one of those supported by the display? or was it a standard windows one not supported by the display?

if it is the latter run a custom resolution that the display supports and see if this helps...

naturally if you are already doing that than dis-regard this post :p

nickwild
08-23-04, 11:09 PM
Works fine once in windows (if I boot with analog vga monitor attached also). Problem is with no display of BIOS screens, xp boot screen etc.

1920x1200, 800x600,1024x768,1280x1024 all work fine in windows.

The monitor displays boot screens, bios stuff (text mode EGA) all OK when using a 4200ti. No dice with the 6800GT.

Sgt_Pitt
08-23-04, 11:14 PM
isnt bios and windows startup in a really crappy resolution ? something like 400x320 ? maybe the monitor doesnt support this or the vid card doesnt like it either ?

nickwild
08-23-04, 11:22 PM
IT WORKS perfectly with 4200ti card!

martona
08-28-04, 05:57 PM
nickwild - I have the same problem. Picked up a BFG 6800 (128 Mb vanilla version) and a 23" Apple screen. No bios screen. Once I'm in Windows (with my old monitor still attached to the VGA out on the card) I can designate the Apple as the primary monitor, and it is absolutely gorgeous. But having to have a 2nd monitor just to be able to boot really annoys me.

Getting a card that has dual DVI outs should solve the problem though.

akumax
08-29-04, 01:07 AM
I have a New Aluminum 20" Apple cinema display w/ an eVGA 6800nu 128 card.

The only issue I had w/ the display and this card was the resolution not sticking upon boot up. But once I installed the 66.00 forceware drivers that issue was fixed.
I think it is just that card it's self that is the issue. Bios and everything work fine for me on my card.

And eVGA is correct in saying that Apple is using a different DVI method. There have been a number of reported issues of the bios thing on ATI and Matrox cards as well. w/ these displays as well. but then again Apple is not the only one that uses this method because my work Dell machine w/ FX5200 and Dell LCD have that same bios issue when using DVI. The only difference is that the Dell LCD can VGA too so thats their way around the issue.

BTW, this is by far the best monitor I have had in my life!!!

nickwild
08-31-04, 08:58 PM
I sold the Evga 6800GT and got a BFG 6800 Ultra because I received a report of it working. Sure enough the BFG Ultra works 100%. I get all Bios screens and have no problem booting, using text mode RAID config etc.

Don't know if this is the case with all Ultra cards and or with cards that have dual DVIs and no analog VGA

In any case. I was very disappointed that eVGA wouldn't pass the issue on to Nvidia. I never recieved a response from Nvidia. Very impressed with the BFG card.

Good luck to others facing this problem

Auswak
09-01-04, 03:31 AM
The problem has been forwarded onto nVidia by eVGA Engineering, I spoke with them Aug 30th about it.

:clap:

Bigfat
09-01-04, 09:02 PM
Enjoy that display... we have one as a demo where I work... f'ing amazing.

influx
09-02-04, 01:38 AM
Hi,

I've got a 23" cinema display and a Leadtek 6800GT, and it's amazing :)

I see nothing on the display until windows reaches the login screen. I have a 15" lcd plugged in so I can see what's happening at boot. I didn't have to mess around with any thing, it just worked.

Make sure that "Hide modes that this monitor cannot display" is checked in the display properties/advanced/monitor page. I've had trouble with that before, it can make windows keep the previous resolution even if the monitor says it can't handle it.

For some strange reason it was always starting in 1024x768, but now that I'm leaving the 15" plugged into the vga connector it remembers 1920x1200. Go figure!

One last tip: Like it says in the sticky, you can add custom resolutions in the nvidia display properties. That got my Warcraft III sorted. It doesn't support widescreen, so the maximum resolution it was letting me chose was 1024x768. I added 1600x1200 in the drivers, now I can choose that in Warcraft III and get a slightly stretched but very nice looking image.

I hope you get it sorted, you'll love it.

jimbokoz
09-02-04, 05:53 AM
I also have a new apple 23" cinema display and a Leadtek 6800 GT card. I also have the problem with no BIOS or DOS mode display, however, if I wait for a short while (about 1 min), my system will boot to windows, and reliably startup at 1920x1200 resolution... and looks great!

However, I don't want to have another monitor lying around just so I can do a reformat of windows. I would like to get the GT working in DOS modes, and am wondering if any other GT owner has gotten this monitor to work fully.

Curiously, a friend let me try out his Leadtek 6800 Ultra (with two DVI ports) in my machine. This card worked flawlessly - booted, showing BIOS and DOS modes, and also worked well in windows.

The cards are almost identical in hardware, so I find it hard to believe that one should work, whilst the other doesn't. I attempted flashing my card's BIOS with that of the ultra - the flash was successful, but the card was still unable to drive the monitor in DOS mode. I assume their must be something small different to cause this problem.

As to the easy, expensive solution - there is no further stock of 6800 ultra's in Australia, nor will there be for some time...

To the eVGA representative: have you had any response from the nvidia engineering team as to what the problem might be, and whether it can be solved? I have a certain time window in which I can return the GT for a refund and try to seek out an ultra card.

Thank you all, JK.

Cryogen
09-03-04, 11:40 PM
Sorry this has nothing to do with that display or that video card but I am having the same problem. I have a Geforce 5950u and I have tested 5 dell 2001fp LCDs and none of them will display anything until windows is up unless I use the analog port.

vl臈
09-04-04, 02:48 AM
I finally talked Dell into switching out the 2001FP to an NEC LCD2080UX+, haven't had an issue with the BIOS screen since!