PDA

View Full Version : Strange 6800 GT Problem


CWB
08-23-04, 10:14 PM
I received an eVGA 6800 GT on Friday from NewEgg. Built new system, installed Windows, ran 3DMark (10,800). Played CoD @1600x1200, 4xAA & 8x AF=around 60 fps. Out of curiosity, I ran "detect optimal frequencies", which=376/1050, tested it, no problems. But since it wasn't much of a difference, I hit "restore default" and went back to CoD.

Scenes that were just fluid @60 fps were now choppy & dropping below 10 fps. Checked driver, speed sliders were now all the way to the left and blank (no numbers). So I open NVHardPage, which says clocks=0/0. Back to driver, hit "restore default" again, ran CoD and this time the screen filled with wierd colors and locked up. Checked driver again, and apparently "restore defaults" had selected "Auto" OC instead of No OC, which had overheated GPU. So I hit "restore defaults" again, and it goes to Auto OC right before my eyes (which is NOT default).

I check NVHP again, and both core & mem clocks=15000, with "apply at startup" checked! So I delete NVHP, un-& reinstall driver (safe mode, w/Driver Cleaner), and run 3DM again=7000! Comparing results to earlier bench, I notice that in first (10,800) my clocks are listed as 5/1, and in second (7000), as 5/14!?

Today I boot up and 3DM=10,800 again (but still lists speeds as 5 MHz/1 MHz?!), & CoD runs tolerably but not as fast as before. So is 10800 3DM about right? Is CoD @1600x1200 w/4xAA & 8xAF=60ish fps about right? Why did NVHP report speeds as 0/0 and then 15,000 a few minutes later? Why do my clocks appear as 5/1 on 3DM? Should I just return this card?

P4 3C GHz Northwood
Intel 875 PBZ
1 GB Corsair TwinX-1024XL
eVGA GF 6800 GT
SB Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro

ghostboy
08-24-04, 12:34 AM
I got new ram and went from 11307 3dm to 9307. Was listed as 5/1 and now as 5/3 so i'm in the same boat

CWB
08-24-04, 10:33 AM
Before you installed the new RAM, did 3DM report your clock speeds correctly?

Wavern
08-24-04, 11:41 AM
3dmark2003 detects my card much the same way. It's a Leadtek TDH400GT.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=2933297

CWB
08-24-04, 12:58 PM
Thanks for the replies. If 3DMark was the only problem, I would've kept the card. But it wasn't, so I just sent it back to NewEgg for a replacement.

It's gonna be a long couple of weeks...

CWB
08-24-04, 02:29 PM
UPDATE: The good folks at NewEgg allowed me to order another GT (same make & model but $5 less due to sale) today (2nd day air) and will refund my money for the first card as soon as they receive it. So I'll have the new one by Thursday, and the $5 off almost makes up for the money I spent shipping the RMAd card back.

Thank God for NewEgg. :)

FastRedPonyCar
08-24-04, 03:04 PM
man. sucks to hear your bad luck. I've never heard of that with the 6800's but I did run into that problem with my old GF3TI500. It was after some runtime error with farcry, it crashed, went back to windows and I checked powerstrip on the clock speeds to mabey back it down a tad and noticed that they were both at 0/=0mhz :rolleyes:

newegg = teh win :clap:
________
buy easy vape vaporizer (http://vaporizers.net/easy-vape)