PDA

View Full Version : 8s AA?


Pages : [1] 2

hassata
08-24-04, 12:28 PM
High:

Is 8sAA the highest setting with 66.77 and the 6800 GT?

Thanks

Fx-Rat
08-24-04, 12:31 PM
Yes and you will take a big performance hit it you use it in newer games. :nanahump:

saturnotaku
08-24-04, 12:33 PM
8xS is the highest you can set from the driver control panel. aTuner (available from 3dcenter.de) and I believe RivaTuner also offer a 16x mode. It might only be available for OpenGL, but I know there are modes higher than 8xS available through 3rd party programs.

And yes, 8xS isn't practical for newer games, but if you want to play the classics (UT, Carmageddon and older flight sims among others) 8xS is a godsend. :D

rewt
08-24-04, 01:08 PM
You mean to tell me 8xS is not playable on a 6800 GT? It has to be. I can play Doom3 at 8xS on my FX 5900. Not blazing fast of course, but plays ok if I turn driver to High Performance and leave AF off. IMO AF is not needed with 8xS AA because 8xS AA provides its own level of texture sharpening/filtering.

fivefeet8
08-24-04, 01:17 PM
8xS works fine in some recent games too. Max Payne 2, COD, NFS: U.... ect.. ;)

hassata
08-24-04, 02:12 PM
I use 8s in Splinter Cell Pandora Tomorrow and the fps are up there (although some jaggies come through). Maybe a stupid question, but why s and not x?

Thanks

Mr. Hunt
08-24-04, 02:14 PM
I believe it is supersampling. Not exactly sure though.

wEEt
08-24-04, 02:26 PM
16xaa is funny. you can enable it with aTuner. it's so sharp that it even looks unsharp ;)

Mr. Hunt
08-24-04, 02:28 PM
I like using 16 aa :\. SC PT looks nice with 16 aa, 16 af, and the digital vibrance to medium (I think).

Edge
08-24-04, 02:55 PM
Maybe a stupid question, but why s and not x?

Actually it's called 8xS, the S represents the Supersampling used in the algorithm (and also that it's being combined with multisampling).

What's the performance hit of 16xAA, anyway? Since it's multisampling I wouldn't be suprised if it isn't much worse than 8xS's performance.

Mr. Hunt
08-24-04, 03:10 PM
Yay I was right about the S :).... Not sure on the performance hit... I can use 16 aa in SC PT and UT2k4 and still get good playable framerates at 1600x1200 so I have no idea :\.

fivefeet8
08-24-04, 03:21 PM
16xS performance hit and IQ screenshot:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=30641

ChrisRay needs some more advertisements for his sticky threads. ;)

hassata
08-24-04, 03:47 PM
I may try aTuner and 16aa with PT--thanks for that!

Pandora's Box
08-24-04, 03:50 PM
omfg 16xaa looks amazing. wow! definately for older games though

Edge
08-24-04, 03:52 PM
Haha, 16xS AA? Jesus, that's insane...that's practically movie-quality AA. Massive performance hit too (120 FPS to 20? yikes), but I bet jaggies are impossible to see. Would be funny using that in a game like The Longest Journey, I bet the characters have better AA applied to them than the pre-rendered backdrops do :D

Props to ChrisRay, he certainly goes to a lot of trouble for us ;)

fivefeet8
08-24-04, 03:55 PM
16xS is actually playable in UT2k4 for me somewhat. I average about 30 fps playing the CTF on the FAce 3 map with 8 people.. At 1024x768 resolution though. ;)

Fx-Rat
08-24-04, 03:55 PM
Here is just one bench mark taking a loss using 8xs on a 6800 ultra I can't find the one I say the other day http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=33299 :nanahump:

saturnotaku
08-24-04, 03:58 PM
I thought 16x AA was multisample only. But a 16x supersampling version...wow :drooling:

Movie quality FSAA indeed.

Fx-Rat
08-24-04, 04:03 PM
Here is the one I was looking for going from 96.4 frams per second with 4xs to 22.4fps with 8xs at tomshardware http://graphics.tomshardware.com/graphic/20040414/geforce_6800-43.html (mag)

Pandora's Box
08-24-04, 04:06 PM
16xS is actually playable in UT2k4 for me somewhat. I average about 30 fps playing the CTF on the FAce 3 map with 8 people.. At 1024x768 resolution though. ;)


the resolution loss outweighs the increase in aa imo. like the lower the resolution the higher the aa you have to set to eliminate jaggies. when compared to 1600x1200 with 4xaa with no jaggies i bet the performance at 1600x1200 is better than 1024x768 with 16xS

fivefeet8
08-24-04, 04:07 PM
16xS is another mixed mode Super Sampling AA mode. 4xRGMS * 2x2 SuperSampling. I just tried the 16xS mode with the same Face 3 CTF map with 8 bots and even in heavy firefights, I'm getting 30FPS. When running around, I get around 40 fps. This is also with 8xAF..

fivefeet8
08-24-04, 04:09 PM
the resolution loss outweighs the increase in aa imo. like the lower the resolution the higher the aa you have to set to eliminate jaggies. when compared to 1600x1200 with 4xaa with no jaggies i bet the performance at 1600x1200 is better than 1024x768 with 16xS

In some situations, a higher resolution with less AA doesn't always rid Aliasing more than a lower resolution with very high AA. ;) Especially in screengrabs since they will be at their correct resolution instead of being resized to fit your monitor. Of course perfomance wise, 1600x1200 + 4xAA should be faster.

1024x768 * 4(SS) = 4096x3072 + 4x Multisampling.

Here are a few screens of 16xS/8xAF-per app in UT2k4 on my system(1024x768).
http://img19.exs.cx/img19/6620/UT20042004-08-2414-03-39-92.th.jpg (http://img19.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img19&image=UT20042004-08-2414-03-39-92.jpg)http://img19.exs.cx/img19/3314/UT20042004-08-2414-04-11-14.th.jpg (http://img19.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img19&image=UT20042004-08-2414-04-11-14.jpg)http://img19.exs.cx/img19/1086/UT20042004-08-2414-05-16-25.th.jpg (http://img19.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img19&image=UT20042004-08-2414-05-16-25.jpg)

I've also seen screenshots from several people using 16xS in Max Payned 2 and still have good performance.

Warlord
08-24-04, 04:16 PM
8xS AA and 16x AF works great in CS 1.6

Looks awesome and still very playable, 100 FPS+. :)

hassata
08-24-04, 04:19 PM
I tried 16 with PT and got: the same fps! I then tried no AA, 8, aa, still the same. So something is definetly wrong. Its as if teh game is implementing aa, but I have unchecked application control in the cp and cannot find any options in PT menu other then quality to high. Btw, fps at the begining of the Jerusalem mission (where Iim at right now) is 54. P4 3.0 800 fsm 1 gig 2700 dual channel. Any ideas as to what I'm doing wron?

P.S. I think I was saw some jaggies at 8s, but I may just have been looking at no aa at all. Now that's a good card!

P.P.S I just tried 16aa with Lock On: oh man, oh man, oh man does that look sweet. I think I am permenatly spolied.

saturnotaku
08-24-04, 04:25 PM
8xS AA and 16x AF works great in CS 1.6

Looks awesome and still very playable, 100 FPS+. :)

That's to be expected from a Quake 1-based engine. I've played Half-Life with the same settings at 1600x1200 and it's been perfect all the way through.

I do want to try 16xS AA in Carmageddon 2 especially since that game is limited to 640x480 res. :D