PDA

View Full Version : want 512mbs of video memory


vicious2003
08-24-04, 12:43 PM
I now know that I will need a new Nvidia or ATI graphics card in the near future, but I want 512mb of video memory. I like to double that everytime I buy a new card. Anyone have a clue on when the new 512 cards will be showing there super charged faces?

GamerGuyX
08-24-04, 12:46 PM
I want 512mb of video memory.

Me too. :D Even though no game other than DOOM 3 could possible take advantage of such a huge amount of video memory... I just have a strange feeling that it would help me sleep better at night. :cool:

Edge
08-24-04, 12:58 PM
Probably in the refresh cards that'll show up in about half a year, aside from that I don't think you'll find any consumer-level graphics card with 512 megs of memory. But really, video memory is getting kinda pointless: only Doom 3 uses up that much video memory, and that's only because it gives you the option to completely uncompress all the textures. Even the Unreal Engine 3 supposedly will work fine with 256 megs of video ram, and that game (well, engine anyway) is running at around 20 FPS on a 6800u.

Omega53
08-24-04, 12:59 PM
Or you could get 2 256MB cards in PCI express and hook then up via SLI ;)

CaptNKILL
08-24-04, 01:03 PM
Or you could get 2 256MB cards in PCI express and hook then up via SLI ;)
They hold the same data, so you'd still only have 256Mbs. Or technically, 512Mbs with twice the data...

Omega53
08-24-04, 02:13 PM
They hold the same data, so you'd still only have 256Mbs. Or technically, 512Mbs with twice the data...

Didnt think about it that way :(

mikechai
08-24-04, 02:45 PM
If you can afford it, Quadro FX 4400 PCI-E (http://www.nvidia.com/page/qfx_uhe.html) model has 512MB GDDR3. ;)

Edge
08-24-04, 02:51 PM
Didnt think about it that way :(

Yup, it's exactly like 3dfx's SLI system in that way: the "64 megabyte" Voodoo 5 was actually 32 megabytes of usable video memory since the data was just mirrored on half the chips.

AthlonXP1800
08-24-04, 05:34 PM
If you can afford it, Quadro FX 4400 PCI-E (http://www.nvidia.com/page/qfx_uhe.html) model has 512MB GDDR3. ;)

Hmmm I cant find Quadro FX 4400 pictures on internet to find out what the card with 512Mb onbard look like. :(

CaptNKILL
08-24-04, 06:32 PM
the "64 megabyte" Voodoo 5 was actually 32 megabytes of usable video memory since the data was just mirrored on half the chips.
Now THAT I didnt know... damn, I didnt realise they did that :retard:

Edge
08-24-04, 07:31 PM
Heh, yeah, not many people knew about that, they just saw "64 megabytes" on the box and never thought twice about it, even though right in the display properties screen it only listed the card as 32 megs. Didn't matter much back then since not many games used more than even 16 megs of video memory, but was still something that confused a few people when they thought they were getting a "64 meg" card. Oh, and the never-released 128-megabyte Voodoo 5 6000 card also only had 32 megabytes of usable memory, since it was the same as the regular Voodoo 5 but with 4 parallel processors/RAM arrays rather than just 2.

ricercar
08-24-04, 08:01 PM
no game other than DOOM 3 could possible take advantage of such a huge amount of video memory
FYI Secondlife.com--a MMORPG--has a preference setting for 512M video RAM. The client streams textures extensively, depending on the objects within the player's field of view.

GamerGuyX
08-24-04, 08:03 PM
FYI Secondlife.com--a MMORPG--has a preference setting for 512M video RAM. The client streams textures extensively, depending on the objects within the player's field of view.

I stand corrected. :D

Kamel
08-24-04, 08:24 PM
ati's x800 series is supposed to come out with a 512mb version iirc.