PDA

View Full Version : Framerate dies a screaming death in Doom3 demo1...


Korok
08-25-04, 11:55 PM
...but only at a few points. When imps are throwing fireballs and the first time the flashlight is used, the demo turns into a slideshow. The rest of the time, it glides along beautifully. There's occasional stutters during weapon-changes and passing through doors, but nothing so pronounced.

I'm running on the following:

XFX 6800 GT @ 375 core
Athlon 2800+ Barton
2 x 512meg Corsair DDR3200 in dual-channel
MN31/N Shuttle nforce 2 mobo
Win XP Pro SP 2
Forceware 61.77 drivers

And I'm getting the following:

41 FPS @ 1024x768 High quality, no AA.
40 FPS @ 1280x1024 Ultra quality, no AA.
36 FPS @ 1600x1200 Ultra quality, no AA.

Vsync is turned on, because there's hideous, very visible tearing when it's off. The monitor's set to 85 hz refresh rate.

KickAssCop
08-26-04, 12:25 AM
Try running the demo again. The second run of the demo is the actual fps because all the data is loaded into memory during second run!

Korok
08-26-04, 01:11 AM
Well sonova... Yes, a second pass through the demo removed those loading hitches completely and boosted the average FPS by six points. However, 46FPS @ 1280x1024 Ultra is still a good 20ish FPS under what other benchmarkers with the 6800 GT have gotten.

I worry that the Barton 2800+ is my bottleneck, as I'm holding off on doing a motherboard/processor upgrade until the nforce 4 boards are out, so that'd mean several more months before I can get a playable Doom 3.

fivefeet8
08-26-04, 01:16 AM
Well sonova... Yes, a second pass through the demo removed those loading hitches completely and boosted the average FPS by six points. However, 46FPS @ 1280x1024 Ultra is still a good 20ish FPS under what other benchmarkers with the 6800 GT have gotten.

I worry that the Barton 2800+ is my bottleneck, as I'm holding off on doing a motherboard/processor upgrade until the nforce 4 boards are out, so that'd mean several more months before I can get a playable Doom 3.

My overclocked Barton 2800+@2.2 @400mhz FSB gets 57 fps with the Second run of the timedemo at 1600x1200, 2xAA, HQ.. Of course my 6800u is overclocked too. ;)

BYUNews
08-26-04, 08:42 AM
Tough to say. I get 42 fps at 1024* with my Barton 2800, and I only have a 6800NU (at stock right now) ... but that's only on the first run. Looks like it could be a CPU limitation.

Ruined
08-26-04, 08:45 AM
Also, you'd want to run in High Quality instead of Ultra Quality. Ultra is designed for 512mb videocards and you will get hitching in game.

Lastly, you can reduce or eliminate tearing with vsync off by raising the refresh to 100hz or better in the Nvidia control panel or using Doom3's internal configs (Doom3 defaults to 60hz).

Assi9
08-26-04, 08:54 AM
There's always the option of running:

"Timedemo demo1 usecache"

Not sure if it affects the scoring, it takes a little longer to start the demo, but since it caches everything first, there should be no stuttering during the first test.

JoKeRr
08-26-04, 08:59 AM
if you read the Xbit labs CPU performance review, you'll easily find out that the entire AthlonXP line CPU really bottlenecks your system performance, even Athlon64 3200+ or 3000+ will get you less than 30 frames at certain time. P4 3Ghz+ and 3400+ Athlon64 should be much better.

BrianG
08-26-04, 09:03 AM
There's always the option of running:

"Timedemo demo1 usecache"
Good tip.

There are SOOOO many variables when it comes to relaying benchmark scores and it is probably easier to compare apples to mufflers. We need to note driver control panel settings, game control panel settings, overclock frequences, system specs, blah blah blah.

The important thing is if gameplay is solid. I am going to porbably start using FRAPS with actual gameplay minimum framerates to judge a setting. Point being that in fillrate limited areas, the higher AA settings will suffer, but the minimum framerate may be the same at points where Doom3 causes system limitations.

Everyone has a visual quality/performance compromise point. Pick yours and be happy.