PDA

View Full Version : Doom 3 not working in Stereo 3-D on 6800 Series Cards


Arioch
08-26-04, 01:44 AM
Well Doom 3 still doesn't work on my 6800 Ultra with either the new 61.77 drivers or the older 61.76 drivers. I did make sure both the video card and stereo 3-D drivers matched also. Is there anyone here that is a beta tester that can provide feedback to Nvidia to let them know that Doom 3 doesn't work properly on 6800 series cards in 3-D? When 3-D is turned on everything stays way too dark, even the parts that are supposed to be lit up.

There are more people than me reporting this problem with 6800 cards from places like Stereovision.net and Guru3D. I do not see any place to send Nvidia feedback for this problem like ATI has and was hoping someone who has contacts at Nvidia could let them know.

Thanks!

Prod
08-26-04, 01:54 AM
have you tryed the 61.77 off the nvidia website?

Arioch
08-26-04, 01:55 AM
have you tryed the 61.77 off the nvidia website?

Yes, I tried both the 61.76 and 61.77 sets, making sure they both matched.

Let me update my post for clarification purposes.

Arioch
08-27-04, 06:08 AM
I guess the Corps don't get their's...


(bump)

Arioch
08-28-04, 03:09 PM
I guess I like talking to myself!

Ok, I think I may have figured out the problem. I have a 6800 Ultra and also have problems trying to run this game in 3D. The 6800 series uses the "Best" rendering path, which in this case is the ARB2 path. When I go into the console and change the "r_rendering" to ARB I can get 3D to work. The only problem with this is the fact that the IQ is not as good as the ARB2 path. I guess if you really want to play this game in 3D on these cards then that is an option. I think I will wait till there is a fix for this using the ARB2 path hopefully.

I tested this using the 61.77 video card and 61.77 stereo 3D drivers.

Arioch
08-28-04, 07:26 PM
Well I got my 3D tweaked as well as I could get it and it looks a lot better. While I will say the ARB path isn't exactly ugly as I originally thought I do wish I could play this with the ARB2 path and the enhanced image quality.

wazooda
08-29-04, 12:19 PM
Well I got my 3D tweaked as well as I could get it and it looks a lot better. While I will say the ARB path isn't exactly ugly as I originally thought I do wish I could play this with the ARB2 path and the enhanced image quality.

I'll give this a try....

BTW - Have you played UT 2k4 with the stereo glasses??

REALLY great effect! However... the player names and damage bar are 2D objects and thus quite annoying...

Wazoo

Arioch
08-30-04, 04:17 PM
I'll give this a try....

BTW - Have you played UT 2k4 with the stereo glasses??

REALLY great effect! However... the player names and damage bar are 2D objects and thus quite annoying...

Wazoo

Yeah I agree - UT2K4 looks great but the 2D objects are a pain. This is one of the games I choose to play without 3D due to it getting hard to kill people consistently because of this.

Battlefield Vietnam looks great also but that game needs the full power of my 6800 Ultra to run effectively just in 2D - I can't bring myself to run any games less than 1280x960 anymore, even in 3D.

wazooda
08-31-04, 06:16 PM
Yeah I agree - UT2K4 looks great but the 2D objects are a pain. This is one of the games I choose to play without 3D due to it getting hard to kill people consistently because of this.

Battlefield Vietnam looks great also but that game needs the full power of my 6800 Ultra to run effectively just in 2D - I can't bring myself to run any games less than 1280x960 anymore, even in 3D.

Regarding UT, I was hoping to find a mod out there that converted the 2D objects to 3D. It is so crazy cool that I'm still using 3D.

If only I could figure out how to create mods/mutators... :(

MY problem is good refresh rates at higher res. Forget 1600x1200 (my 24" Sony monitor will only do 72hz at that rez). I can get 120hz at 1280 x 720... so although it looks a bit funky because of the aspect, the 120hz is nice.

1024x768 will do 100hz which is sometimes worth the trade off.

Any CRT's out there that will do 16x12 (or even 1280x1024) at high refresh?

Wazoo