PDA

View Full Version : Low 3dmark score with 6800Ultra


spirited1
08-29-04, 01:12 AM
I'm getting a score of 9689 with 3d mark 03. I've compared it with others who have a similar system to mine on the 3d mark site and they seem to have scores at 1200+ - I'm thinking I'm doing something wrong here.

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
1GB PC3400
BFG 6800U
Maxtor 120GB SATA
Gigabyte Ga-K8NS M/board

Doom3 is a *little* bit jerky on high setting, Far Cry performs well but the Nvidia demo's Dusk and Dawn run very poorly - they are literally slide shows.

I'm a little bit noobish when it comes to a system of this standard and perhaps there's obvious settings I'm overlooking - hoping one of you guys can be kind enough to give me some pointers!

For the record, I'm using BFG's drivers - 61.22. AGP size is 128 in the bios if that's of help. I'll provide any further info for you if I can. Thanks in advance!

EDIT - I should probably mention - not overclocked anything, and 3d mark settings were the default ones.

mattkenn_4545
08-29-04, 01:19 AM
At least for the nvidia demos. It should be smooth if you raise you agp aperature size to at least 256mb in you bios. That might increase your perf in the other apps/games also can't hurt.

Wavern
08-29-04, 02:11 AM
Common performance problems:
AGP Aperature size should be 256mb
AGP Fast Writes can cause jerkiness
A 2nd monitor can slowdown game performance.

Upgrade to 61.77 and set your aperature size to 256 and see how it goes.

wshadow
08-29-04, 02:32 AM
make sure ya got no AA or AF on, and that your quality is not on high quality

Auswak
08-29-04, 03:50 AM
Some Tweaks Advanced Display Properties to achieve higher Benchmark.

Access Your Display properties
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/7274/DisplayProp01.jpg

Check your Driver Version, IRQ, Bios Version, DirectX9.0
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/4940/DisplayProp1.jpg

Performance and Quality Settings
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/6603/DisplayProp2.jpg

More Direct3D Settings
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/7307/DisplayProp3.jpg

Maunual Overclocking 3D
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/6718/DisplayProp4.jpg

Manual Overclocking 2D
Note: Memory speed should be the same as 3D
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/574/DisplayProp5.jpg

AGP Settings
Note: Disable FastWrites here and in Motherboard Bios
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/2748/DisplayProp6.jpg

Watch Your Temperature Settings. Overclocking will edge them up
Idle Temps
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/2207/DisplayProp7temp.jpg

Some people might offer some further adjustments to the above recommendations, but they work for me.

:clap:

Lfctony
08-29-04, 04:30 AM
Have you installed your mainboard's chipset drivers? IE the NForce latest drivers?

JD-Scorpion
08-29-04, 06:05 AM
More Direct3D Settings
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/7307/DisplayProp3.jpg

Maunual Overclocking 3D
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/6718/DisplayProp4.jpg

Manual Overclocking 2D
Note: Memory speed should be the same as 3D
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/574/DisplayProp5.jpg

AGP Settings
Note: Disable FastWrites here and in Motherboard Bios
http://img39.exs.cx/img39/2748/DisplayProp6.jpg



Why aren't these particular features (see pics) available for me within the advance options area. I have all the other's features except the ones in the above pics :eek2: :(

Also Im using the 62.01 Forceware driver!!

poppachocks
08-29-04, 08:41 AM
JD: You'll only see those options with coolbits2 enabled.

Check out this thread:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29541

JD-Scorpion
08-29-04, 09:04 AM
JD: You'll only see those options with coolbits2 enabled.

Check out this thread:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29541

DAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmnnnnnnnnnnn :drooling:

Took less than a minute to setup :clap:

Thank you very much poppachocks!!

spirited1
08-29-04, 09:13 AM
I think I've spotted what may be the problem...

Auswak, in one of your screenshots under "Adapter Information" it lists your settings as being -

Bus - AGP 8X

Mine is reading as PCI x0
I'm thinking this isn't good...How do I go about changing this? I tried to google this but just came up with pages of PCI Express info - my board's definately AGP.

poppachocks
08-29-04, 09:45 AM
I think I've spotted what may be the problem...

Auswak, in one of your screenshots under "Adapter Information" it lists your settings as being -

Bus - AGP 8X

Mine is reading as PCI x0
I'm thinking this isn't good...How do I go about changing this? I tried to google this but just came up with pages of PCI Express info - my board's definately AGP.

If it's set to zero, you may need to install your chipset drivers for your motherboard. An easy way to find out is to run dxdiag and select "Save all information". It will create a text file. You can then look under the "Display Device" section, and make sure that AGP status says "Enabled".

spirited1
08-29-04, 10:13 AM
Ok poppachocks, I've done that and it says AGP Staus is set to "Enabled." Is there anything else I should look at? Any advice is appreciated.

(FWIW, this system came with a Radeon 9800 card - I uninstalled it with Driver Cleaner 3 so there should be no problems with conflicting drivers I hope)

kahloq
08-29-04, 10:25 AM
Ok poppachocks, I've done that and it says AGP Staus is set to "Enabled." Is there anything else I should look at? Any advice is appreciated.

(FWIW, this system came with a Radeon 9800 card - I uninstalled it with Driver Cleaner 3 so there should be no problems with conflicting drivers I hope)


It is possible, even tho you used driver cleaner, that there is left over junk. If all the above mentioned things dont work, last thing to do is reformat and do a clean install of XP as well as drivers etc....

Rieper
08-29-04, 11:14 AM
Should I use Auswak's settings for overclocking my 6800GT, or is it specific to 6800 Ultra? Currently running at 350/1000. Don't think going to 400/1000 with my XFX 6800GT will hurt any. It sounds like a dust buster inside my PC anyway...

spirited1
08-29-04, 11:34 AM
I've solved it!

I installed my chipset drivers that were on my motherboards cd.

Because this PC was pre-built to specification, silly me thought everything would be "good to go" right out the box. I can only assume when the software/image was decompressed. XP automatically installed a generic driver for the motherboard. Well, at least that's the way I see it, though I may be off.

Either way, I'm now picking up a 11786 3D Mark Score, it reads as AGP 8 under "Adapter Information" and Dusk looks fantastic.

Thanks to everyone who chipped in with information!

poppachocks
08-29-04, 12:00 PM
I've solved it!

I installed my chipset drivers that were on my motherboards cd.

Because this PC was pre-built to specification, silly me thought everything would be "good to go" right out the box. I can only assume when the software/image was decompressed. XP automatically installed a generic driver for the motherboard. Well, at least that's the way I see it, though I may be off.

Either way, I'm now picking up a 11786 3D Mark Score, it reads as AGP 8 under "Adapter Information" and Dusk looks fantastic.

Thanks to everyone who chipped in with information!


Glad to hear that everything is OK. I suspected that when you said what your AGP was set to originally. Usually it will say something like AGP status : "not available" in dxdiag.

tn2004
08-29-04, 06:28 PM
I did the dxdiag and it says agp enable but i dont have that AGP Setting in my display browser. I have a leadteak 6800 gt and coolbits2 enable. help please

JediDrew
08-30-04, 03:57 AM
I'm getting a score of 9689 with 3d mark 03. I've compared it with others who have a similar system to mine on the 3d mark site and they seem to have scores at 1200+ - I'm thinking I'm doing something wrong here.

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
1GB PC3400
BFG 6800U
Maxtor 120GB SATA
Gigabyte Ga-K8NS M/board

Doom3 is a *little* bit jerky on high setting, Far Cry performs well but the Nvidia demo's Dusk and Dawn run very poorly - they are literally slide shows.

I'm a little bit noobish when it comes to a system of this standard and perhaps there's obvious settings I'm overlooking - hoping one of you guys can be kind enough to give me some pointers!

For the record, I'm using BFG's drivers - 61.22. AGP size is 128 in the bios if that's of help. I'll provide any further info for you if I can. Thanks in advance!

EDIT - I should probably mention - not overclocked anything, and 3d mark settings were the default ones.
ouch thats horrible. Im getting 9560 on a 6800NU with a barton OC'd to 3000+ Speeds. I got crappy memory too. IMO I think somethings wrong.