PDA

View Full Version : 6600 = 6800 - 8 pipes and 3 vertex units?


anzak
09-06-04, 10:10 AM
If this is the case then a 6600 @ 430/1000 (128bit bus) should get:

7124 3Dmarks!

This is 70mhz less than a 6600GT so 8000 sounds like a reasonable number to me. I will be back with the 6600 numbers soon.

ragejg
09-06-04, 10:17 AM
ehh?

Maybe I need more coffee, anzak, but... ummm, whaddyou doing, emulating a 6600 somehow?

And does a 6600GT feature a 500mhz core?

r2d2d3d4d5
09-06-04, 10:20 AM
ehh?

Maybe I need more coffee, anzak, but... ummm, whaddyou doing, emulating a 6600 somehow?

And does a 6600GT feature a 500mhz core?

I guess he could be using RivaTuner to lower the vertex/pixel units. Not sure how he would lower the ram bandwidth though.

anzak
09-06-04, 10:32 AM
I guess he could be using RivaTuner to lower the vertex/pixel units. Not sure how he would lower the ram bandwidth though.

Yes, I used the new version of RivaTuner. I lowered the ram to 500mhz (256bit) which is = to the 6600GT's 1000mhz (128bit). I am not able to obtain a 500mhz core clock though. I can't set the clocks to low ether, 6600 clocks cause major artifacts. So far I have tried Doom 3 and UT2004 and both are very playable at 1600x1200.

particleman
09-06-04, 10:38 AM
There's an article on the front page with some scores, (of course the link is from the inqwell so take it with a grain of salt). But anyways the article claims the 6600 standard will score 4300 in 3Dmark.

http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=18259

anzak
09-06-04, 11:03 AM
430/1000
Doom 3 (timedemo 1) HQ (8xAF) 1600x1200 - 43.2FPS

Every game I have tried runs great at 1600x1200, Far Cry, Doom 3, Rome Total War, and UT2004. Im downloading the MoH:PA demo now. The 6600GT is going to be an awesome card for $200.

ragejg
09-06-04, 11:11 AM
Hm, my A64 3000+/6800NU @ 400/850 gets 47.1 @ hi quality @ 16x12, 66.00 CP set to HQ...

How could my ***so much more bandwidth/ 4 more pipelines/2 more vertex units/much faster cpu*** setup only score marginally higher? I really don't mean to doubt teh validity of that result, anzak, but that 40 something fps @ 16x12, hi quality is really a 6800NU-ish figure, IMO...

coldpower27
09-06-04, 11:56 AM
Nvidia does claim 8000 3D Marks for 6600 GT.... so I think this is in the right ballpark :D

anzak
09-06-04, 12:00 PM
Hm, my A64 3000+/6800NU @ 400/850 gets 47.1 @ hi quality @ 16x12, 66.00 CP set to HQ...

How could my ***so much more bandwidth/ 4 more pipelines/2 more vertex units/much faster cpu*** setup only score marginally higher? I really don't mean to doubt teh validity of that result, anzak, but that 40 something fps @ 16x12, hi quality is really a 6800NU-ish figure, IMO...

Yeah, I thought it was a little high too, but I ran it 3 times and got around 43 each time (crazy) . Keep in mind that is with all optimizations turned ON. My 6800GT only gets 62ish without optimizations. Anyways, I was finally able to get the clocks down to 6600 levels with coolbits (I was lowering the clocks to quickly :P). Here's a few benchmarks.

Geforce 6600 300/550(128bit) 275 (256bit) All optimizations ON

3DMark03

Overall - 5017
GT1 - 168
GT2 - 38.1
GT3 - 33.8
GT4 - 27.3
Singletexture fill rate - 1222.8
MultiTexture fill rate - 2225.0
VS - 12.4
PS - 62.7

Doom 3 HQ (8xAF)

1600x1200 - 25.7
1024x768 - 46.9

Well, it appears that the Inquirer was off by 700 points :P I used the clock speeds that galaxy is giving there 6600, 550 instead of 500. Also, this is a 256mb card unlike the 6600's which are 128mb.

coldpower27
09-06-04, 12:02 PM
In my opinion we already hav the ability to simulate the results of the 6600 GT. They won't be totally accurate but they will give use a rough indicator.

Clock the 6800 GT/Ultra down to 250MHZ Core, and the GDDR3 memory down to 500MHZ and you have the amuont of pixel/vertex fillrate and memory bandwidth amount for the 6600GT.

The only thing skewing the results would be the 256MB of memory. Fortunately that doesn't hold for the resolutions of 12x10 and below :)