PDA

View Full Version : which Ultra should i get?


WeReWoLf
09-07-04, 06:35 PM
I now have the means and access to a 6800U but i have a choice. Which should i choose, the Sparkle 6800U (http://accelenation.com/?ac.id.229.2) or the Pixelview 6800U (http://www.prolink.com.tw/2003/english/products/vga/FX/GeForce%206800%20Ultra.htm) Seeing as no-one has yet reviewed the pixelview one (and it's slightly cheaper) i thought it would be good, but i also have a sparkle 5900XT at the moment, and i'm very happy with it. Any ideas here, coz i get my tax cheque back in a few days.

WeReWoLf
09-07-04, 10:23 PM
anyone?

Cota
09-07-04, 11:41 PM
Dont mean to be rude but

If you have to ask you don't deserve getting one.

Clay
09-07-04, 11:49 PM
Dont mean to be rude but

If you have to ask you don't deserve getting one.
If you don't want to be rude...then why were you, well, rude? I'm confused.

@WeReWoLf5900: I don't know much about either vendor but I do know that they're both basing these cards off of the NVIDIA reference design. So, the factors to weigh are things like: warranty, product bundle, price, etc.

Good luck. :)

Cota
09-07-04, 11:54 PM
Simple, pure envy.

Sorry for that one

Clay
09-07-04, 11:57 PM
Simple, pure envy.

Sorry for that oneAhh ok. Well then, that's a different story and totally acceptable. :D We can't let these guys with $500 burining a hole in their pocket go without a little razzing. :cool:

RoJo
09-08-04, 12:06 AM
I have the Sparkle 6800 nu, and it's a well built card. It also overclocks well, but then most of the 6800 nu's do also. The other good thing I found out the other day is that Rivatuner can open up the extra pipelines on it. :)

So even tho I have a BFG 6800 Ultra in my main system, if I had a choice again, I'd go with Sparkle instead.

There we are Cota, I've got two 6800's, if that doesn't instill any more pure envy in you, I don't know what will. :tongue2:

Unwinder
09-08-04, 01:14 AM
I have the Sparkle 6800 nu, and it's a well built card. It also overclocks well, but then most of the 6800 nu's do also. The other good thing I found out the other day is that Rivatuner can open up the extra pipelines on it. :)

So even tho I have a BFG 6800 Ultra in my main system, if I had a choice again, I'd go with Sparkle instead.

There we are Cota, I've got two 6800's, if that doesn't instill any more pure envy in you, I don't know what will. :tongue2:

What did you unlocked? Only new pixel / vertex unit or both of them?

WeReWoLf
09-08-04, 08:12 AM
$500??? damn. i wish i could get them at that price. Try over $800.

Annihlist
09-08-04, 09:37 AM
I was lucky to get my albatron 6800 ultra here in Australia for $850AU. Lucky I put it on back order with the supplier when the card was anounced. Got it on like the 1st of August. lol.

Blacklash
09-08-04, 10:23 AM
%^$%^b

I am thinking you might want to wait. Two 6600GT's in SLI might be the ticket in the future.

Clay
09-08-04, 10:59 AM
%^$%^b

I am thinking you might want to wait. Two 6600GT's in SLI might be the ticket in the future.
Very true but he may not be excited about upping his expenses by getting an SLIe mobo, etc. ;)

RoJo
09-08-04, 11:13 AM
What did you unlocked? Only new pixel / vertex unit or both of them?

Both as far as I'm aware, as I gained 700 3dmarks (Before with the overclock you see I was getting 9000) from somewhere.

Here is the info from my card for you Unwinder...

$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff Northbridge information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0400000000 Description : NVIDIA nForce2
$0400000001 Vendor ID : 10de (NVIDIA)
$0400000002 Device ID : 01e0
$0400000003 AGP bus : revision 3.0
$0400000004 AGP status : enabled
$0400000005 AGP rate : 4x 8x supported, 8x selected
$0400000006 AGP SBA : hardwired, enabled
$0400000007 AGP FW : supported, enabled
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff Display adapter information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0000000000 Description : NVIDIA GeForce 6800
$0000000001 Vendor ID : 10de (NVIDIA)
$0000000002 Device ID : 0041
$0000000003 Location : bus 2, device 0, function 0
$0000000004 Bus type : AGP revision 3.0
$0000000005 AGP status : enabled
$0000000006 AGP rate : 4x 8x supported, 8x selected
$0000000007 AGP SBA : hardwired, enabled
$0000000008 AGP FW : supported, enabled
$0000000009 Base address 0 : e0000000 (memory range)
$000000000a Base address 1 : d8000000 (memory range)
$000000000b Base address 2 : e1000000 (memory range)
$000000000c Base address 3 : none
$000000000d Base address 4 : none
$000000000e Base address 5 : none
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$ffffffffff NVIDIA specific display adapter information
$ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
$0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (12x1,5vp)
$0100000001 Hardwired ID : 0041 (ROM strapped to 0041)
$0100000002 Memory bus : 256-bit
$0100000003 Memory type : DDR (RAM configuration 06)
$0100000004 Memory amount : 131072KB
$0100000005 Core clock : 399.000MHz
$0100000006 Memory clock : 399.000MHz (798.000MHz effective)
$0100000007 Reference clock : 27.000MHz

If you need more info, I'll have to find somewhere to host the images.

And I'd just like to say, that you do, a bloody good job with Rivatuner mate. :)

Cota
09-08-04, 03:51 PM
There we are Cota, I've got two 6800's, if that doesn't instill any more pure envy in you, I don't know what will. :tongue2:

Actually what puts more envy in me is that you succesfully unlocked the PS/vertex units on your 6800. IFAIK there are very few succesfull attepts.

Damn you lucky %&@#, hope both your cards burn into flames. :retard: :retard:

:) :) :)

Eltigre88
09-08-04, 04:17 PM
PIXELVIEW make one hell of a good quaility fast product and have been around longer than sparkle. I have owned Pixelview and they have always preformed awesomely in my book!!

WeReWoLf
09-08-04, 04:23 PM
i've had both, and i'm quite happy with the performance of both. I have had the Pixelview 5700 PDF and i currently have the Sparkle 5900XT

Unwinder
09-09-04, 01:25 AM
RoJo


Here is the info from my card for you Unwinder...


Is this report for default config or modded one? Because you're still at 12x1,5vp according to it ;) So if it is modded config - try to uninstall NVStrap and post the report again. Prorably you had one of those 8x1,4vp moddable LEs sold as regular 6800:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=105222

If you have such fake 6800 - please leave details in our statistics thread.

RoJo
09-09-04, 11:44 AM
Ok will do Unwinder, I'll try this later...

RoJo
09-09-04, 08:14 PM
Ok...I did as you asked, and this is the result Unwinder: http://img39.exs.cx/img39/1874/RivaProfile.jpg

Unwinder
09-10-04, 01:24 AM
RoJo

Then you've unlocked nothing, sorry. Take a look at status line in "Custom graphics processor configuration" dialog, then click [?] and point this line to read help about it.

RoJo
09-10-04, 02:08 AM
Ok cheers Unwinder, thanks for the info.

I was looking forward to this tweak, but you can't win them all. :)