PDA

View Full Version : I can't put a higher res on my TV


ironhacker
09-08-04, 01:06 PM
Hi, I have an FX5600xt and because I'm a designer my resolution is 1152x864 on the monitor. So when I am using my TV out, the image is very big and I have to scroll with the mouse to see all the areas. I figured out that my TV was set to 1024x768 and that's the reason it was so big there. The problem is that I can't put higher resolutions for the TV. Could anybody help me?

P.S. And could you explain or give me some sort of an article for overclocking my vga?

aAv7
09-08-04, 01:28 PM
Your tv doesnt support higher resolutions-which is why you have the problem. You need to set your t.v to 640X400 or 480....t.v's dont support anything higher, unless you bought a uber hdtv with like 1280i ....and even then you would run into problems, as it's not the same full 1280 as a monitor. As for oc'ing your card....there's quite a few posts throughout the board here...I rec. coolbits. Do a google search, it will be very helpful. Goodluck =)

mobilenvidia
09-08-04, 01:48 PM
The TV output is limited by the TV-encoder chip.
Which on more modern Video cards is 1024x768, you'll need a HDTV to get higher res.
Your lucky my encoder (for the GF2go) maxes out at 800x600, very hard to read text.


Pieter

r2d2d3d4d5
09-08-04, 01:48 PM
Once you switch your signal to the TV you can change resolutions the same way you change monitor resolutions when the signal is going to the monitor.

There shouldn't be that much difference between 1152x864 and 1024x768 though.

r2d2d3d4d5
09-08-04, 01:50 PM
The TV output is limited by the TV-encoder chip.
Which on more modern Video cards is 1024x768, you'll need a HDTV to get higher res.
Your lucky my encoder (for the GF2go) maxes out at 800x600, very hard to read text.


Pieter

The dot pitch on a lot of larger TVs is very low, which doesn't help with readability.

ironhacker
09-08-04, 03:29 PM
My TV is absolutely normal. The resolution doesn't actually have to be the same as the tv's because the tv's maximum one is 'round 640x480, so there won't be a problem of raising it...my opinion is that the guys who are writing the drivers misslooked it.

And thanks for the overclocking...

P.S. I'm not reading stuff on my TV - just watching movies ;)

saturnotaku
09-08-04, 04:49 PM
my opinion is that the guys who are writing the drivers misslooked it.

It's always been like that. With the nView software that's built into the drivers, you should be able to select the TV like a second monitor that has its own independent resolution controls. That way you could have 1152 on your monitor and 640 on the TV. In my limited experience working with my laptop (GeForce4 440 Go), I was able to configure my machine this way to watch movies on the TV in my living room.

ynnek
09-09-04, 10:59 AM
on my HTPC with a 5200, the max my 27" sony wega (non hd) can do is 800x600 thru svideo... text is barely readable at that rez.. but looks great for video.