PDA

View Full Version : XFX 6800 Ultra owners post here.


DJMONDY
09-09-04, 08:19 AM
Ive decided on a brand and ordered it, XFX 6800 Ultra 256mb dual DVI to be exact.

If any other XFX 6800 owners would care to post the good/bad/ugly in this thread please do!

Any info on the card would be good.

If you have any pics of Far Cry, Doom3 or any of your fave games running on the XFX please post here too.

Cheers guys/gals :)

saturnotaku
09-09-04, 08:23 AM
The Good: Comes clocked at 425/1200 out of the box.

The Bad: I couldn't get mine to be consistently stable at that speed so I ended up returning it for a BFG.

If you want to see screenshots, read this sticky thread. The XFX card is reference just like most every other 6800 Ultra.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=31678

einstein_314
09-09-04, 12:16 PM
I absolutly love my card. It came clocked at 425/1200 but I've overclocked it to 445/1210 with no stability problems what so ever. idle temp = 53C-55C. When I go to 450 on the core it freezes everytime on the nature demo in 3DMark03 but seems to run games (DoomIII and Farcry) perfectly fine. I'm running Farcry with the 1.2 patch, at 4x/8x , every setting as high as it goes, resolution at 1280x1024 with not the slightest problem. standing around out side fps=about 70. I havn't done any real game benchmarking yet (I working on it) but 3dMard03 score is 13150 and in 3DMark01 is 24008. oh and I'm using the 65.73 drivers. I love this card :lol2: And it isn't too loud either. Hope this helps.

DJMONDY
09-09-04, 12:17 PM
Cheers einstein_314, thats made me feel alot better. Could you post a pic or 2 of far cry for me?

If it performs badly or i see any artifacts when i get it should i downclock it slightly??

einstein_314
09-09-04, 12:20 PM
If it performs badly or i see any artifacts when i get it should i downclock it slightly??

I suppose you could, but personally I'd RMA it. It comes at 425/1200 and is warrantied at that so it should perform at that. But you could always underclock it. Stock 6800 ultra speeds are 400/1100 so it would work at that for sure. THen you could just work your way up from there.

skoprowski
09-09-04, 01:18 PM
I have had my XFX 6800 Ultra since the first time NewEgg got it in stock (so I have one of the first 6800 Ultras). The card has been perfectly stable at standard 425/1200 speeds- I never have overclocked the card. I am curious if XFX will release an updated bios for the 6800 Ultra like eVGA has. I guess some folks have had crashes due to the 2d and 3d clock speeds being different. The new bios makes the 2d and 3d gpu speed the same. I don't know if this applies to all 6800 Ultras or not, but I never had my 6800 crash once. It has been an excellent card for me.

Scott

Skinner
09-09-04, 01:48 PM
Awesome card, nice and crisp 2d, 425/1200 defaultclock, mine does 450 with no problems.

rellingsen
09-09-04, 01:51 PM
I have had my XFX Ultra for about 3 months now and have not had a single problem with it. I now have a A-C NV Silencer 5 on it but it came from the factory with what appeared to be Arctic Silver Compound on the GPU. Mine came clocked at 425/1.15 and runs at 455/1.28. I get just a shade over 14000 in 3DM03 at those clocks with the 61.76 WHQL driver. Some asst. pics below.
http://pages.prodigy.net/ellingsen1/revolt3.jpg
http://pages.prodigy.net/ellingsen1/Painkiller1.jpg
http://pages.prodigy.net/ellingsen1/Nalu5.jpg
http://pages.prodigy.net/ellingsen1/FarCry01s.jpg

DJMONDY
09-09-04, 05:19 PM
Thanks for the posts guys, its really made my day. With any luck i'll have my card somtime next week.

Keep posting pics and stuff if you can!

Cheers.

Turks
09-09-04, 10:51 PM
Mine also will be arriving in the next week or so and I cant bloody wait!!! :drooling: :drooling: :drooling:

DJMONDY
09-10-04, 03:46 AM
Just a few more questions:

At the mo im using 61.77 drivers which i got from nvidia's site. Should i keep these for now or have any of you found better drivers??

What bios should be on the card? I got these from the guru3d forums 5.40.02.10.04 or 5.40.02.10.14

Why has the card got dual DVI's?

On XFX's site theres info on how you should connect your PSU to the card but the link didnt work for me so could you explain how i should do this to get the best results.

Thanks :)

einstein_314
09-10-04, 11:27 AM
As for the drivers, I was using 65.73 but changed to 66.31 yesterday. The 66.31 give a definate performance boost. Here's a link 66.31 drivers (http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=861)

As for the bios, mine came with 5.40.02.10.04. I havn't changed it. Don't think I will either seeing as it works fine.

The card has dual dvi connectors so that you can connect 2 digital lcds. But 2 dvi -> VGA adaptors are included in the bundle should you not have a lcd with dvi.

The manual that comes with the card out lines the power connections. Your options are:
1: for normal use (no overclocking) use one connector from the psu (one with nothing else on the line) and use the supplied y-adaptor to connect it to both power plugs.
2: or instead of the above, just use 2 power dongles of the same cable from the power supply (again nothing else should be on the line)
3: if you plan to overclock, use 2 power dongles of off different cables making sure nothing else is on either one of them.

I'm using the #3 method. But if you don't have 2 spare lines with nothing on them, you need to either rethink the connections to your other hardware or just use one of the other options.