PDA

View Full Version : Gt


Pages : [1] 2

dsj
09-09-04, 08:38 PM
what setting should the computers be set to to get good performance for the gt?

saturnotaku
09-09-04, 09:06 PM
A list of your system specs would be helpful.

dsj
09-09-04, 09:53 PM
AMD Athlon xp 3000+
A7N8X deluxe
1024 MB ddr 400 ram
Western digital JB
52x dc rom

saturnotaku
09-09-04, 09:55 PM
Now what games will you be playing?

dsj
09-10-04, 01:09 PM
I somehow got less than 20 frames per second sometimes in farcry but the average framerate is close to 40 per second on the highest settings with 1024*768 and the one at pcperspective got over 56 frames average. What happend? Shouldn't mine get around the same?

saturnotaku
09-10-04, 01:18 PM
You are going to be somewhat CPU limited, but your performance should be higher than what you're getting. Make sure you have anisotropic filtering and anti-aliasing set to "Application preference" in the driver control panel. Also disable it in the game configuration utility. Try playing again and see what you get.

Also, make sure you have the latest chipset drivers for your motherboard and disable Fastwrites via your motherboard BIOS. If you don't have the option there, you can disable it through RivaTuner.

dsj
09-10-04, 04:05 PM
Mabe they set everything to low when they tested it. Like particles, deadbodys lasts shorter time ect.. And they did enable both of them to the maximum. should it be one of the videocard settings in the control pannel that they set to low?

aAv7
09-10-04, 04:36 PM
make sure aa/af is off and vsnyc is disable-all in the nvidia drivers profile.

dsj
09-10-04, 05:40 PM
You are going to be somewhat CPU limited, but your performance should be higher than what you're getting. Make sure you have anisotropic filtering and anti-aliasing set to "Application preference" in the driver control panel. Also disable it in the game configuration utility. Try playing again and see what you get.

Also, make sure you have the latest chipset drivers for your motherboard and disable Fastwrites via your motherboard BIOS. If you don't have the option there, you can disable it through RivaTuner.
Why disable fastwrites? How much AGP aperature size should I use? I'm getting 25-35 frames persecond outside of buildings. Why is it so low?

kahloq
09-10-04, 05:46 PM
whats your agp aperature size?

s-flow
09-10-04, 05:46 PM
Why disable fastwrites? How much AGP aperature size should I use? I'm getting 25-35 frames persecond outside of buildings. Why is it so low?

I set shadows to MEDIUM in Farcry, that speeds up things much and
still looks fine.
With everything maxed at 1024x768 me too get 27 fps at some outside locations (that is with 4xAA/8xAF of course).

dsj
09-10-04, 05:48 PM
I set shadows to MEDIUM in Farcry, that speeds up things much and
still looks fine.
With everything maxed me too get 27 fps at some outside locations (that
is with 4xAA/8xAF of course).
I'm trying to get my card to compare to the one on pcper.com and to see if my card is defective. And it seems to be a lot off they set everything to the highest. And why is mine a lot slower? My AGP aperature size is 128 MB.

dsj
09-10-04, 05:57 PM
I see some processes in the task manager, should some be turned off? if so, which one should be left on?

s-flow
09-10-04, 06:05 PM
I'm trying to get my card to compare to the one on pcper.com and to see if my card is defective. And it seems to be a lot off they set everything to the highest. And why is mine a lot slower? My AGP aperature size is 128 MB.

I might be the Intel P4E @ 3.4 GHz they used and, do you benchmark
the same levels as they are?

Have you run 3Dmark03, score?

dsj
09-10-04, 06:09 PM
I see some processes in the task manager, should some be turned off? if so, which one should be left on?
Can someone answer this question? and My 3d mark score is 10050.

s-flow
09-10-04, 06:41 PM
Can someone answer this question? and My 3d mark score is 10050.
I bet those processes doesn´t matter and I think your score is decent.

I'm getting 25-35 frames persecond outside of buildings. Why is it so low?

This is not low, the game is demanding and pcperspective gets the same
at times. As I said try lowering shadows in Farcry to medium, makes the
game faster and it looks fine.

Then you could always overclock your card (great potential with the GT)
and run SM3.0 beta path for more speed.

saturnotaku
09-10-04, 06:43 PM
Can someone answer this question? and My 3d mark score is 10050.

We can't answer if we don't know what the processes are. :rolleyes:

aAv7
09-10-04, 07:29 PM
3dmark2k1 or 2k3?

dsj
09-10-04, 07:32 PM
But I see people getting 10800 and 11200s why is mine 10 percent lower? And did I set something incorrectly? And that computer in pcperspective got 57 average, I at most can get 25 average at the beginning of the game. Is any of my computer parts defective?

dsj
09-10-04, 07:34 PM
3dmark2k1 or 2k3?
2003

aAv7
09-10-04, 07:39 PM
10K is a fine score for a gt....I get 10,800 with a gt @ stock and an A64 cpu....the test is basicaly gpu limited...as for this...


But I see people getting 10800 and 11200s why is mine 10 percent lower? And did I set something incorrectly? And that computer in pcperspective got 57 average, I at most can get 25 average at the beginning of the game. Is any of my computer parts defective?

I have no clue what your talking about....57 average and u get 25....but in what? A game? A benchmark? What game? What benchmark? You gotta give us more details or saturn is gonna go buck wild on you.

dsj
09-10-04, 07:40 PM
I already said farcry. I'm dissapointed in the performance of my computer.

dsj
09-10-04, 07:48 PM
10K is a fine score for a gt....I get 10,800 with a gt @ stock and an A64 cpu....the test is basicaly gpu limited...as for this...




I have no clue what your talking about....57 average and u get 25....but in what? A game? A benchmark? What game? What benchmark? You gotta give us more details or saturn is gonna go buck wild on you.
I see people with around the same specifications as me and get 10800.

dsj
09-10-04, 09:44 PM
I was playing farcry and suddenly every thing turned blue and then it got well again.

aAv7
09-11-04, 03:30 PM
install the farcry 1.2 patch.