PDA

View Full Version : Doom 3 problem


Kain
09-10-04, 05:25 PM
While playing the game, it sometimes crashes to the desktop. Why is this? I tried searching for updated graphics drivers but I did not find any. I was running it at 800x600 with Medium quality.

Kain
09-10-04, 05:40 PM
Okay, it also locks up in game sometimes too.

Nutty
09-11-04, 04:57 AM
Have you installed the patch? I seem to remember this was fixed in it.

BioHazZarD
09-11-04, 05:01 AM
I think your videocard cant handle the game.

Kain
09-11-04, 05:44 AM
Have you installed the patch? I seem to remember this was fixed in it. No I haven't installed the patch. Are you saying that you too had the same problem and that the patch fixed it?

Nutty
09-11-04, 05:50 AM
No I didn't have the problem.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36421

STABILITY
- Fixed desktop crash when loading a QuickSave made when during influence in EPD Lab in Alphalabs 1
- Fixed game freezing if in-game MP menu is opened just after a change map vote
Passes and just before the map changes.
- Fixed duplicate player names shutting down a server during map changes

Mike1357
09-11-04, 11:24 PM
I think your videocard cant handle the game.

Having a weak video card wouldn't make a game crash to desktop. it would just make it run like ass. plus, i run doom 3 on a GeForce 3... never crashed on me even on the test level with all the enemies (it runs at 1 fps)

Kain
09-12-04, 12:25 AM
The patch didn't help.

Kain
09-13-04, 04:53 AM
I searched on Google about this "Doom 3 crash problem" and it seems many people have this problem.

majortom
09-13-04, 07:16 AM
yo veeedee-oh cahd ees ah guh-lee mahn! (flex)

Zeta
09-13-04, 10:51 AM
My friend has a laptop with a 9800 moblie and it crashed out to the desktop unless he runs 640x480 with low detail. Basically the game is overheating the card. Farcry runs great on his laptop but Doom 3 kills it.

Nutty
09-13-04, 12:34 PM
Sounds like stability issues with machines, that are only brought to surface via a demanding game.

Try some Prime95 tests, and select large FFT tables to force high memory usage.

oldsk00l
09-13-04, 12:47 PM
no, don't use the above mentioned driver, just use the 4.9 catalysts.

The above mentioned driver is just a beta version of the 4.9's

Kain
09-13-04, 02:36 PM
Will those drivers work on mobile graphics cards or desktop cards only?

Zeta
09-13-04, 03:06 PM
And here lies the problem. The mobile cards need mobile drivers. Maybe there is some way to make them work but my friend has to wait for Alienware to update their drivers before he can use them.

saturnotaku
09-13-04, 03:11 PM
When Omega modifies drivers he always includes support for laptop GPUs. His 4.9-based set should be out shortly. Download and use those.

Kain
09-14-04, 02:56 AM
Should I download and use the current Omega drivers?

Kain
09-14-04, 03:36 AM
Okay, I just downloaded and installed the Omega drivers and now Doom 3 seems to be running fine. I am running it at 1024x768 with High Quality settings and it is running fine.