PDA

View Full Version : Please help me pick some RAM.


gate1975mlm
09-11-04, 06:45 AM
What would be the best option to do? Corsair Value Select 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 Model# VS512MB400 $150 For 2 of them or

1 Corsair GB DDR (400) PC-3200 Corsair (CMX1024-3200PT) $229? or

1 GB DDR (400) PC-3200 Corsair w/Heatsink (CMX1024-3200C2 $239?

Can all of these run in Dual Channel if I were to get 2 of them? (spit)

Motherboard will be ASUS A8V Deluxe Revision 2.0 or MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum!

PaiN
09-11-04, 07:12 AM
Doesn't Corsair memory have incompatibilities with the A8V??
Anyway, word is the best choice for A64 systems is the OCZ PC3200-3700 Platinum EB

and btw: don't take this personally, but man gate....you need a dose of confidence :POKE: ..... hehehe Did you know that if you bought something and it didn't work right...the world wouldn't end and you actually send it back :D

saturnotaku
09-11-04, 08:28 AM
and btw: don't take this personally, but man gate....you need a dose of confidence

As well as the ability to create one thread for all your questions. Please stop spamming the forum with individual threads whenever you come up with another question.

gate1975mlm
09-11-04, 10:11 AM
As well as the ability to create one thread for all your questions. Please stop spamming the forum with individual threads whenever you come up with another question.

Ok I will take that advice. One more thing if I buy a 1GB stick of ram. And then buy one more stick of the same ram maybe 6 months from now would I be able to run them in Dual Channel? Or is there Special Ram I need to buy for Dual Channel? Thanks for your help! (newb)

Nutty
09-11-04, 10:20 AM
No you can only run dual channel with 2 sticks AFAIK. Adding a 3rd would stop dual channel working.

saturnotaku
09-11-04, 10:43 AM
No you can only run dual channel with 2 sticks AFAIK.

That's correct. If you want dual channel, best bet is to buy the matched sets. Every major manufacturer makes them.

Nutty
09-11-04, 11:58 AM
I'm running different sticks, and dual channel still works fine for me.

1 stick of corsair DDR3200 LL 2-2-3-6, and 1 corsair DDR3200 XL 2-2-2-5, with both set to 2-2-3-6. My local supplier stopped supplying the original one I had, and they dropped the prices of the XL stuff anyway.. Works great.

gate1975mlm
09-11-04, 12:44 PM
How is this http://www.corsairmicro.com/corsair/products/specs/cmx1024-3200.pdf
http://www.corsairmicro.com/corsair/products/specs/cmx1024-3200c2.pdf
Between those 2 which is better? And also how would they compare to the Corsair Value Select?