PDA

View Full Version : PLZ help with lockups


alberta2
09-12-04, 02:40 PM
Sorry if someone has posted this before but I looked on the forums and in that sticky and could not find anything, I tried disableing FW but it still locks up.

Basically what happens is, after bootup any game I have will constantly lock up with about 2 second intervals between. After about 30 - 1 hour cetain games will work but others, like doom 3, wont work period.

Specs are

evga 6800 gt
AMD barton 3200 +
a7n8x-e motherboard
500 watt psu

(newb) plz help... plz

Wavern
09-13-04, 02:34 AM
Get the latest bios from EVGA's website.

mustrum
09-13-04, 02:46 AM
Especially Doom 3 locking up indicates a PSU issue. Tests showed that Doom3 cosumes way more power from the PSU as any other game released so far. 100 games could run stable on a PSU but Doom 3 can make it crash.
Check your voltage rails under load with a multimeter.

Edit: 500Watt PSU, what brand? Cheapo? If it'S one of these 50 bucks 500W PSUs then you know what your problem is. The only thing they do is upping your power bill.

SpiderWoW
09-13-04, 05:06 AM
i solved my lockups by setting the 2d clock equal to the 3d clock frequency.
to enable that feature you have to import the coolbits(2) registry keys.
another topic on doom3 can be that you are playing on ultra high but only have 256 mb of gfx memory - then the "lockups" are only slowdowns looking to not cached wall textures ...

Schumi4ever
09-13-04, 07:01 AM
I have aa 350w aopen psu and the xfx 6800gt, and can run doom3 @ ultra with 1024x768, 4xfsaa, 425/1200 and I have no problems at all :clap:

As soon as I try a d3d game though... :lame:

SpiderWoW
09-13-04, 07:23 AM
I have aa 350w aopen psu and the xfx 6800gt, and can run doom3 @ ultra with 1024x768, 4xfsaa, 425/1200 and I have no problems at all :clap:


and .... ?