PDA

View Full Version : Powersupply limiting me?


Cali3350
09-12-04, 08:10 PM
I dont mind spending money on a new PSU, but i want to make sure its worth it. I jsut got my 6800GT from BFG and the thing cannot seem to overclock at all. At 400 core coolbits just flat out tells me it didnt pass and wont even let me attempt those settings. Mem seems to overclock more, but they dont require much more power. I could just have a bugged chip, and im okay with that (im no gonna return it or anything) i just want to know if my PSY is possibly holding me back.

camelot
09-12-04, 08:15 PM
You need to list the name and ratings of your current PSU for people to help you :)

-=DVS=-
09-12-04, 09:27 PM
You can't excpect all cards to overclock equally not all GTs hit 400 without a problem , lucky ones do 450+ 470 :eek:

aAv7
09-12-04, 09:37 PM
nvidia cards have a pretty sensitive program on them....if your psu is low-you get that annoying window to pop up saying it's been downclocked to protect the card from damage. So if your not reaching the levels you'd like, it could just be that your card isnt very oc'able.

Furthermore, I would look to heat as a possiblity before I looked at a psu as the culprit. How warm is your case temp and how warn does the card get to?

Cali3350
09-12-04, 11:25 PM
Card gets to 78 full load.

PSU is Thermaltake Truepower 430W.

Powering Athlon XP 2800+ @3200+
1gb PC3200
Gefore 6800GT
Lite on DVD and CD Burner
120gb Harddrive
Audigy 2
5 case fans

aAv7
09-12-04, 11:41 PM
download a voltage reading app and see what your volts look like....try speedfan. Post your numbers here and we'll see if your psu is taking the plunge. =)

WeReWoLf
09-13-04, 12:06 AM
this website (http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/) is also a great help in figuring out if you need more power. PSU Calculator (http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/)

approximately you are using about 338W ATM. I should think that ur 430W is fine.

subbo
09-13-04, 10:20 AM
My MSI only clocks to 398 and mems almost nill. Too bad cause the copper cooler could do more.

mustrum
09-13-04, 10:45 AM
download a voltage reading app and see what your volts look like....try speedfan. Post your numbers here and we'll see if your psu is taking the plunge. =)
Forget all that crap. They are not unaccurate. They are totally useless.
I get readings of 11.7v on my 12 volts rail but my multimeter shows that i have 12.40v in reality. This is with using MBM5.
Speedfan is showing my 12v rail correctly but shows 4.5v on the 5v rail. Reality: 5.05v on 5v rail tested with multimeter.
Get yourself a multimeter. They are not expensive at all.

WeReWoLf
09-14-04, 06:44 AM
MBM5 is showing 5.65 on my 12v rails so i wouldn't take it's word for it.

Pandora's Box
09-14-04, 06:57 AM
could try looking in your bios.

mustrum
09-14-04, 07:33 AM
could try looking in your bios.
A better thing to do than using software but still inaccurate. The Temperatures of Bios's are far off often as well.
My Bios tells me 4.6v on the 5v rail. My system should crash since that 4.6 are idle! Multimeter shows 5.04 and that can't be wrong. :D

WeReWoLf
09-14-04, 04:31 PM
as far as i could care, my computer runs. I'm happy.