PDA

View Full Version : Can't enable sideband addressing


vyXen
09-18-04, 06:18 AM
I have a Geforce FX 5700 128MB (Ennyah Digicolor) and an nForce2 400 board (Gigabyte GA-7N400E-L) with 512MB Hynix DDR400 SDRAM running Windows 2000 SP4. My problem is that I can't enable SBA. I've installed CoolBits 2.0 with Forceware 56.72 (fastest driver for FX series GPUs). The Sideband Addressing option is greyed out in the AGP settings pane. It says that my chipset and GPU support it but not my OS. Is Win2k not equiped for SBA? I've also tried RivaTuner, but to no avail. I installed it's NVstrap driver and set SBA to Force On. Its still off, though, as I checked in the motherboard pane in CPU-Z. What do I do? Is PowerStrip any good with this? I'm running nForce2 drivers from the Gigabyte website 'cause the ones from nVidia rebooted the computer (ATA driver was weird). What kind of performance gain is expected from enabling SBA?

P.S. There is no BIOS option to enable it (not even a hidden option!).

Hydroxides
09-18-04, 09:02 PM
You'll be needing GART drivers version 4.40. These have only been available in one release to my knowledge, and not an official one at that. See the link below. If the rest of the drivers cause stability problems remember you only need the GART driver to be version 4.40. The rest can be whatever set you like.

I haven't benchmarked the difference but when I initially enabled SBA I have to say I noticed a marked "smoothing" in graphics performance. Nothing major though. Try them for yourself and see.

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=821

SLippe
09-19-04, 02:28 AM
There is a new version of Unified Drivers for nForce motherboards on nVidia's website as of the 17th of September. They are for Windows XP ONLY! Version 5.10. This set has fixed my problem with the SBA box being greyed out, well, actually it is greyed out still, but now under OS it says YES instead of NO. I have 4 YES's across the board! Woohoo! First time I have seen a YES under OS, ever! Test time! As for Windows 2000, I noticed a set, version 4.26, I think, released in July. You might try those and see if they help you, vyXen.

vyXen
09-19-04, 04:29 AM
Thanks a lot, Hydroxide, for the quick reply. I didn't use the unreleased 4.40 drivers (I'm gonna download them now). I did use the July release unified driver from nVidia's website and installed only the GART driver and WALLA! The box was still greyed out as before, but this time the SBA was forced on!
CPU-Z said that SBA had been enabled. Now SBA was shown as supported in the OS category in the Forceware AGP section (enabled using Coolbits 2.0).

I don't think SBA impacts performance much, as my 3DMark 2001 score of 9120~9130 dropped to 9080~9090 (within the limits of error, I suppose). But Splinter Cell seemed a bit smoother. i'm yet to try out UT2004 and Far Cry (stuck with Far Cry 1.0 - I can't update it - must play only at 800 x 600 at normal everything).

Grunt, are these XP drivers version 4.40? 'cause Hydroxide has posted a link to unofficial 4.40 drivers that also supposedly work in Windows 2000 (which is what I have).

Anyway, thanks for the help!

Athlon XP Barton 2800+ (stable at 2.25 Ghz OC'd but now at stock) : Gigabyte GA-7N400E-L (nForce 2 400 single channel DDR) : 512MB DDR400 (Hynix) (NEVER BUY HYNIX, EVER! no scope for OC'ing) : Ennyah Digicolor Geforce FX 5700 128MB (stable at 469/648 but now at stock) : Seagate Barracuda 80GB Ultra ATA100 : Samsung 52x32x52x CDRW (black) : Codegen 400W PSU : Standard ATX cabinet (black) Samsung SyncMaster 793s (16") : Logitech PS2 Keyboard : Logitech Optical Mouse : Creative SBS 2.1 370 :

SLippe
09-20-04, 09:30 AM
The unified driver set on nvidia right now is 5.10 (WinXP Only), but the GART driver inside that is 4.3.6.0, so your best bet is the unofficial 4.40 set.

EverGreen
09-20-04, 02:57 PM
Nforce driver 5.10 works fantastic, but still under OS AGP still
locks on 2x instead of the 8x, strange that the OS not support
the 8x standard given by Vid-card and Bios of mobo.
So should it run at steady 2x AGP and the whole system can
actually running faster to 8x ?!?

john19055
09-20-04, 05:05 PM
I was wondering that too why my OS says it is 2x AGP and the rest of them show 8x agp.Is they a way to change this so the OS reports 8x Agp the same as the chipset ,GPU and optimal.

SLippe
09-20-04, 07:33 PM
I don't think the OS AGP Max Rate has anything to do with your video card. I think that would only apply if for some odd reason you were running without a card or just onboard video. Would be interesting to see if there is a way to change it, but I doubt it.

vyXen
09-21-04, 09:46 AM
My comp also reports a max AGP rate of 2x in the AGP pane of Forceware, but only after I installed the GART driver. I'm quite sure the GART driver is the cause, and would rather have SBA enabled and an erroneous 2x being reported than no SBA and 8x. I'm sure my card is running at 8x as that's being reported by CPU-Z and RivaTuner.

Just OC'd my CPU and Card. Stable at 2.3Ghz (AMD barton 2800+). GPU (FX 5700) stable at 484/648 (stock is 425/550). Got a 17% boost in performance according to 3DMark 2001. 17% !!!!!!!!!! Ennyah cards are definitely the rice-rockets of the graphics world. This card cost less then the Gainward FX 5700LE! (here in India graphics cards are really expensive - mine cost about $200 for a $120 card!)

Does anyone know how to sense the GPU temperature? FXs come with a thermal diode in the die, but the access to this is locked. I saw a screenshot of Forceware displaying a temperature meter somewhere online.........

Athlon XP Barton 2800+ (OC'd at 2.3Ghz) : STOCK HSF (lapped and paste used) : Gigabyte GA-7N400E-L (nForce 2 400 single channel DDR) (FSB 184 DDR) : 512MB DDR400 (Hynix) (NEVER BUY HYNIX, EVER! no scope for OC'ing) (184Mhz DDR, stock timings) : Ennyah Digicolor Geforce FX 5700 128MB (OC'd at 484/648) : Seagate Barracuda 80GB Ultra ATA100 : Samsung 52x32x52x CDRW (black) : Codegen 400W PSU : Standard ATX cabinet (black) : Samsung SyncMaster 793s (16") : Logitech PS2 Keyboard : Logitech Optical Mouse : Creative SBS 2.1 370 :

SLippe
09-21-04, 12:04 PM
I thought the temp thing was pretty standard, but maybe not. Not sure if Coolbits would help with that or not, but give it a shot.

I now have SBA on and Fast Writes off. Definately keeping this way!

http://www.slippe.com/images/screenshots/sba_fastwrites.jpg

EverGreen
09-21-04, 03:41 PM
I now have SBA on and Fast Writes off. Definately keeping this way!


If i may ask, why put SBA & Fast Writing off ?!?