PDA

View Full Version : New to Nvidia and new to overclocking Nvidia cards -help

Nickeleye
09-19-04, 07:42 PM
First off, new to the forums here. Looks like some good info can be found here and I hope somebody here can help.

I just put together my new system which includes the following hardware:
Athlon XP 3200+ CPU
MSI Neo Platinum motherboard
1 gig of OCZ EL PC3200 RAM
EVGA Nvidia 6800 GT video card

Up until this system I've been using Radeon cards for the last 4 years or so and always overclocked them. I decided to try nvidia this time around because of the performance for the price. I am thinking about overclocking the card to get even more performance gain, but I have no idea where to start. I don't know anything about these cards so I'm hoping some seasoned vets can help me out.

(newb)

MUYA
09-19-04, 07:54 PM
For o/c you can use the o/c utility the NV CP. Or, alternatively you can download Rivatuner from Guru3D and use that. Its quite easy either way.

subbo
09-19-04, 08:13 PM
What MUYA means you need to enable something called "coolbits" in the registry. This opens a new tab in the nvidia settings (under display-> advanced) where you can select to automatically detect your oc setting, and a checkbox that applies the new clocks at every startup. If you're content with the automatic settings, it couldnt be easier.

Nickeleye
09-19-04, 08:52 PM
Cool. So should I expect a decent OC or is it not even worth messing with given my system specs? I'm not going to be doing anything other than using stock cooling at this point since the card is already fast.

Ok, so I did the CoolBits registry entry and was able to find my overclocking settings. How should I go about overclocking this card? Should I focus on the memory before the core, core before memory or a little of both at the same time?