PDA

View Full Version : installing case fans

Fred_Flint
11-06-02, 03:11 PM
I have just installed two Thermaltake smart fan 2s in my midi tower. One is positioned under the psu attached to the back of the tower (next to the cpu fan). The other is attached to the front of the case at the bottom. I have set the front fan to blow into the case and the rear fan to blow out of the case. I have never used case fans before so I do not no if this is the correct way to position them?

The case temp with no fans and the side off goes to about 28-32 degrees C, the cpu runs about 29-38.

After putting the fans in and closing the case the case temp is 36-42 degrees and the cpu is 38-44.

I expected the temps to be much lower dose it sound ok?

Thanks

Flash
11-06-02, 04:18 PM
You have your fans set correctly. But they are stuggling in getting the heat out of the case. This usually calls for higher rated cfm fans or installing more fans.

Good air flow thru the case is essential and dependant on a number of things. First, each case with system components tends to be different. But basically its like this:

Intake and exhaust cfm's should be about equal. More air coming in is considered positive pressive and more air going out than coming in is considered negative pressure. I generally have more luck with positive pressure setups in mid-towers.

Suggest initially trying a higher rated fan in the front intake...80mm, 36cfm or higher.

Its really trial and error (but fun if you enjoy experimenting). Just remember you can go overboard and have your case sounding like a vacuum cleaner. :D

Fred_Flint
11-06-02, 05:26 PM
Thanks for the reply Flash