PDA

View Full Version : Fun mod (gravity gun!)


Mr. Hunt
09-23-04, 11:33 AM
Well the guy creating a gravity gun for Doom 3 just released a beta. I just tried it and it is pretty fun, but I hope he can make it react better.

http://www.doom3world.org/phpbb2/viewtopic.php?t=6214

Mr. Hunt
09-24-04, 03:10 AM
No input on it?

XP_GUN
09-24-04, 05:09 PM
(w/opics)

Ill try it tomorrow.... :)

superklye
09-25-04, 11:39 PM
So what exactly does it do?

Mr. Hunt
09-26-04, 03:40 AM
It replaces the Plasma gun (for now... they are working on getting it its own slot/model) and you can pick up corpses with it or some boxes and barrels... after you hold on to them for 5 seconds you can release the button and it launches off. They are trying to work out a way to make it cause damage but right now it doesn't. It is quite fun to mess with right now though.

Darkoz
09-26-04, 08:04 AM
Got a screenshot for us?

Seoulstriker
09-26-04, 10:25 AM
So what exactly does it do?

It shows how the main feature of HL2 has been implemented in Doom 3! :nanahump:

superklye
09-26-04, 12:49 PM
It shows how the main feature of HL2 has been implemented in Doom 3! :nanahump:

heh

six_storm
10-05-04, 12:38 PM
Oh wow, I was just thinking of how cool it could be to have the gravity gun in Doom 3. Yes, we need some screens big time!!! Give us some screens man. Later.

Mr. Hunt
10-05-04, 02:03 PM
Ok... I am bad at taking shots but I just loaded up the game and the first level... original was 1600x1200 with 4xAA and 8xAF (I believe... I forget :\).

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/7905/Doom3Grav.th.jpg (http://img24.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img24&image=Doom3Grav.jpg)http://img24.exs.cx/img24/1294/Doom3GravGun2.th.jpg (http://img24.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img24&image=Doom3GravGun2.jpg)
http://img24.exs.cx/img24/8518/Doom3GravGun3.th.jpg (http://img24.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img24&image=Doom3GravGun3.jpg)http://img24.exs.cx/img24/591/Doom3GravGun4.th.jpg (http://img24.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img24&image=Doom3GravGun4.jpg)


EDIT: Oh and on the first level... although I didn't get a shot of it... the guy that gives you your PDA you can actually pull his chair out from under him lol :\.

six_storm
10-05-04, 03:37 PM
Ok, I d/led the zip file from PBMax but I dunno where to install it. Considering it was a .pk4, I put it where the other ones were but it didn't work. Nothing in the "Mod" box came up besides "Doom 3". Can someone please help me here?

Mr. Hunt
10-05-04, 03:40 PM
In your Doom 3 folder... add a folder GravityGun_Beta and place the pk4 in there.

six_storm
10-05-04, 04:03 PM
Ok I got it to load up in my Mod Box in the game but when I click "Load Mod", it will crash onto the desktop. My game is patched also. Has anyone else had this problem?

dante_uk
10-06-04, 10:57 AM
Ok I got it to load up in my Mod Box in the game but when I click "Load Mod", it will crash onto the desktop. My game is patched also. Has anyone else had this problem?

I put it in a directory under doom3 and then created a shortcut:
doom3.exe +disconnect +set fs_game GravityGun_Beta

No need to go to mod menu, just play doom3, bring down console and type: give all

Switch to plasmagun and have fun.

Just tested on Linux it's fun alright. :D
had to rename folder and pack to lowercase for Linux.

SH64
10-06-04, 05:49 PM
Sounds fun .. i'll give it a go ! :)

EDIT : Haha just tried it .. very nice ! & it dosent crash for me . i'm using ver 1.0 though .