PDA

View Full Version : ForceWare 66.81 beta driver feedback thread


Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

Jas28
10-01-04, 08:08 PM
Saw this on Guru3d's forums. Check it out!

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?postid=930600#post930600

Havent tried them yet tho. So, dont know anything about them.

MontoyaSG
10-01-04, 08:21 PM
downloading em now

garikfox
10-01-04, 08:31 PM
Runnin nice too :)

Cruel_Logic
10-01-04, 08:32 PM
3dmark 05?

red_star
10-01-04, 08:36 PM
What's the 3DMark05 score?

Any better?

I have feeling that NVIDIA simply can't make drivers to match ATI's 3DMark05 score. They are owned:


(whine)

Why?

Because PS3.0 you can't run nothing but with FP32 precision, and it hurts by 1000 points less. Futuremark was sneaky this time by showing PS2.0, PS2.0a, PS2.0b PS3.0 modes, so basically you can't cheat.

Pandora's Box
10-01-04, 08:37 PM
What's the 3DMark05 score?

Any better?

I have feeling that NVIDIA simply can't make drivers to match ATI's 3DMark05 score. They are owned:


(whine)

Why?

Because PS3.0 you can't run nothing but with FP32 precision, and it hurts by 1000 points less. Futuremark was sneaky this time by showing PS2.0, PS2.0a, PS2.0b PS3.0 modes, so basically you can't cheat.

ps3.0 can use fp16 and fp32. your post is total bullsh|t.

red_star
10-01-04, 08:40 PM
I will stay with 66.72 drivers for quite time now. They are 100% WHQL for my 6800GT. Finally WHQL installed drivers. They works great in the games...

66.81 are non WHQL.

NVIDIA could replace complete shaders in 3DMark05 (shows PS3.0) but we are running with FP16 precision, and that's gonna be fiasco number 2.

I hope i'm wrong....

red_star
10-01-04, 08:42 PM
ps3.0 can use fp16 and fp32. your post is total bullsh|t.

Dude, don't dream. PS 3.0 requires FP32, can't run with FP16. The min!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! READDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD is FP24, but as we now NV4x doesn't support it.

red_star
10-01-04, 08:44 PM
ATI was right that in order to have full benefit of PS3.0 (FP32) you need more pipes than those 16, otherwise PS2.0b will be perfect match or faster thing.

I think that NVIDIA will override everything to PS2.0 with FP16 and gain 1000-1500 points...

END OF STORY!!!

rellingsen
10-01-04, 08:44 PM
My 3Dmark score up by about 180 pts. :) 5799 for first run with the drivers

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=66092

red_star
10-01-04, 08:46 PM
:rolleyes: My 3Dmark score up by about 180 pts. :)

Pandora's Box
10-01-04, 08:50 PM
omfg. the ability to do fp32 is a requirement of sm3.0. it is not a requirement to do it all the time however.

ChrisRay
10-01-04, 08:57 PM
Dude, don't dream. PS 3.0 requires FP32, can't run with FP16. The min!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! READDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD is FP24, but as we now NV4x doesn't support it.



You are incorrect, DirectX specs classifies anything (In shader 3.0 Model) Under FP32 as Partial Precision.


So FP24 and FP16 Fall under the Partial Precision Flag in Shader model 3.0, Any Shader can use this flag, How the hardware support the PP flag is how it will render it, FP16 is still the minimum for partial precision under shader model 3.0.

bobmanfoo
10-01-04, 08:58 PM
buggy in CS:S, instead of a bunch black lines theres a few white lines on the ground

_Pablo
10-01-04, 08:59 PM
PS3.0 requires you to support FP32 and classes FP24 and below as partial precision.

Edit: Wow, just saw a whole host of FP32 full precision posts, sorry for my slowly typed redundant post.

Pandora's Box
10-01-04, 08:59 PM
You are incorrect, DirectX specs classifies anything (In shader 3.0 Model) Under FP32 as Partial Precision.


So FP24 and FP16 Fall under the Partial Precision Flag in Shader model 3.0


thank u, thank u very much.


now back to topic. doesnt anyone else have problems setting settings for profiles? like i just tried making a profile for 3dmark05, i set aa to 0 and clicked apply, it set it back to app preference.

Pandora's Box
10-01-04, 09:07 PM
oh it seems that profiles are working. i set the settings i wanted, closed the control panel, reopened it and low and behold, settings saved.

Greg
10-01-04, 09:15 PM
I can confirm that the UT2004 Blue Screen on exit bug is still present in this driver version. (This issue effects Athlon64 systems as described in other threads.)

red_star
10-01-04, 09:19 PM
You are incorrect, DirectX specs classifies anything (In shader 3.0 Model) Under FP32 as Partial Precision.


So FP24 and FP16 Fall under the Partial Precision Flag in Shader model 3.0, Any Shader can use this flag, How the hardware support the PP flag is how it will render it, FP16 is still the minimum for partial precision under shader model 3.0.

Having PS3.0 and partial precision sounds pathetic to me...

(mag)

Pandora's Box
10-01-04, 09:27 PM
Having PS3.0 and partial precision sounds pathetic to me...

(mag)


omfg. ok test:

what is partial precision and full precision? what is the difference between the two?

Pandora's Box
10-01-04, 09:39 PM
ok now red_star has been occupied with copying and pasting an article here, has anyone else tested these drivers?

mikedep333
10-01-04, 09:56 PM
Ok, 1st benches:
My card running at 390/1050
66.51 --------- 66.81

doom3: 1280x1024, ultra
51.0 FPS ------ 53.1 FPS

3dmark05: standard
4766 3dmarks - 4824 3dmarks

BTW no bugs or IQ issues apparent from these two tests.

aAv7
10-01-04, 09:59 PM
And slowly the board turns bitter and reminds me of that horrid place known as rage3d. (mag)

anzak
10-01-04, 10:07 PM
And slowly the board turns bitter and reminds me of that horrid place known as rage3d. (mag)

Damn, it does. Still you can check out my 3DMark05 IQ debate (and defend me) over at R3D http://rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?p=1333218567&posted=1#post1333218567

Demanufakture
10-01-04, 10:38 PM
Well for me these drivers seem pretty badass so far. Doom3 seems smoother on my 5950 and I have yet to run into a major bug. I like the new doom3 profile. BTW, I play at doom3 at 1,024x768x32, auto detects high settings with 4xAA. It runs a little better with these drivers than 61.77. And yup, the profiles work. Only thing I dont like about them is that they still have the 6x.xx series sky/fog bug with fx 59xx cards in JointOps. Oh well though, its a small bug, but I was hoping nvidia would fix that bug most of all. Otherwise they seem very fast and stable. I guess Ill just have to upgrade someday to a geforce 6800gt oc to get rid of that JO bug.