PDA

View Full Version : A64 3200+ / MSI K8N Neo Platinum problems


phourstar
10-01-04, 10:40 PM
Hi,


I recently upgraded my computer from a MSI K8T-NEO K8T800
A64 2800+ to a A64 3200+ with a MSI K8N Neo Platinum board.

Once i got everything assembled i reformated my HDD accordingly and installed all the latest windows updates, drivers for my mouse etc etc,66.72 nVIDIA drivers, and the latest chipset drivers and then defragmented. I decided to test everything out with 3DMARK 2001 and was hoping to see some big improvements, but instead saw a 3DMark score 2,000 points lower than the one with my 2800+ (18,000 to 16,000).

After that i tried loading up Call of Duty and my FPS was lower by atleast 20 sometimes dropping in different areas on my LAN server and online.

I have no clue where to begin with this problem or what to do, I have all the latest drivers and my system specs below:

Athlon 64 3200+ Newcastle
1 GB OCZ PC3500 Performance Series DDR Ram
MSI K8N Neo Platinum nForce 3 250 motherboard
BFG 6800OC Video card
IBM 7200 RPM Harddrive
470w Enermax NoiseTaker Series PSU
Lian-Li PC-65 Case

Oh, and also during benchmarks and games i frequently freeze up and pause alot, and my temperatures are at 36-40c idle for mobo and CPU and about 40-47c load.

phourstar
10-01-04, 10:41 PM
(mag)

|JuiceZ|
10-02-04, 12:14 AM
3DMark scores should be your last concern but you've definitely got a problem there. Since your sys specs are similiar to mine, here's a couple thoughts:

-Are you o'cing anything?
-Did you update to the latest K8N bios?
-Verify your hdd running in UDMA mode?
-What version chipset drivers are you using?

I know you said you updated all the system drivers but your symptons still point to a driver issue. Sometimes its not what drivers you install but in what order because, they can easily become corrupt and/or intefere w/ each other.

phourstar
10-02-04, 01:08 AM
My HDD is running in UDMA...

Also recently i've noticed when i try to install things via cd-rom i get an I/O error and the instillation fails.

My nforce3 drivers are 5.10, the latest from the nVidia and i just uninstalled the 66.72 drivers and used driver cleaner 3, then installed the 61.77 drivers... still the same results.

phourstar
10-02-04, 02:24 AM
My 3dmark scores went up a little bit and my game FPS is more stable by changing the VGA driver to 61.77 and i tried updating the nforce driver but

I think i narrowed it down pretty well, on CPU intensive tests/benchmarks it will start randomly freezing and pausing for 5-10 seconds then go again. I tried reinstalling the nForce drivers but no luck, anyone have any suggestions?

|JuiceZ|
10-02-04, 01:47 PM
Hop over to the MSI Forums (http://msihq.designlab.info/thread.php?threadid=62439&sid=f7bb0627b0205edbc51d0c9bfbbee890) & grab the latest bios update.

Also recently i've noticed when i try to install things via cd-rom i get an I/O error and the instillation fails.

My nforce3 drivers are 5.10, the latest from the nVidia and i just uninstalled the 66.72 drivers and used driver cleaner 3, then installed the 61.77 drivers... still the same results.

Did you swap out that IDE cable to the cdrom? Sounds like you have a bad one. Also when installing the 5.10 drivers, did you install the nvidia IDE drivers or stay w/ the windows ones?

myshkinbob
10-02-04, 02:31 PM
I had a similar issue when i first set up my a64/nforce3/6800GT combo. I'd had the 6800GT a couple of weeks before the cpu and mobo, and on my old system i'd tested it's overclockability and found some safe speeds to run it at. When i got the new system, i put it all together and put the 6800GT on those 'safe' overclock speeds. I got the 5-10 second freezes and my scores were down too. If i set the 6800GT back to default clockspeeds it worked fine, no pauses. The 5-10 second puase is your 6800 entering low power 3d mode. IO errors from the cd-rom drive also suggests your 12v rail is faltering. My psu is an enermax too btw.

Also, if your ram is 1gb in 2x512mb sticks, are they double sided? two double sided ram sticks, using 4 ram banks in total, can cause issues with the s754 a64 memory controller if you run them above ddr333 (AMD's PDF page mentioning this - http://tw.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/FileList/FAQ/faq_amdbiosguide.pdf). I say can cause problems, as in AMD say it does, but you can get away with 4 banks in two slots in reality, depending on the ram in question. 2x512mb of single sided sticks should'nt cause any problems though.

I suggest you set the 6800GT to 350/1000 and you ram to ddr333, or 166 divider in the bios. See how that goes, if your low scores, 5-10s pauses, and errors are still there.

phourstar
10-02-04, 08:38 PM
update:

Thanks for the replies / advice guys :)

I fixed my I/O Problem by uninstalling the nforce SW driver that came with the 5.10 unified drivers.

The am is double sided so tried to put my divider at 166 and it dropped my score by 4,000 and still with frequent pauses. :retard:

And about my 6800, it isnt a GT or an ULTRA and it has always been running at stock speeds.

juicez: i used the nvidia ide ones

phourstar
10-02-04, 08:43 PM
is there anything abnormal here or anything that should be changed maybe?

http://home.comcast.net/~silver45/cpu.JPG

Sazar
10-02-04, 08:46 PM
is it just me or are the volts you have for your cpu a little on the low side?

it should be approx 1.5v... or higher if you are oc'ing it...

what specs do you have for your psu? ie how many amps on the 12v rail?

for reference.. I have included my volts/clocks with and w/o CnQ running...

saturnotaku
10-02-04, 09:10 PM
I personally would reformat and ditch the 5.10 nForce drivers. I've read a lot of stories of folks having problems with that particular set. For my K8N Neo2, I'm using the previous 4.27 set, which is available here (ftp://download.nvidia.com/Windows/nForce/4.27) without any problems, including the IDE driver.

phourstar
10-02-04, 10:08 PM
Ok i reformated my HDD and installed all the windows updates, drivers etc and the nForce 4.27 set and still pauses and long freezes during benchmarks.

After that i tried raising my voltage to 1.55 and still the same results

I'll try to be more in depth here about whats going on and use 3dmark2001 as an example:

During the first game test: Car Chase Low Detail, when the car is coming around the first corner it completely freezes for about 10 seconds and all of a sudden it shows the car driving away and the test fading to black.

Car chase high detail runs fine.

The second game test: Dragothic low detail freezes when the dragon spits fire out of its mouth and it does it untill the test ends

Once again high detail runs fine for this test

During the third game test: Lobby Low & High detail it pauses for about 5-10 seconds when the guys are shooting the shotguns, then the test starts going very slowly again (about 4-8fps) then speeds up all of a sudden (100+ fps) and finishes out

During the fourth game test: Mother Nature when the camera views the trees/leaves swaying back and forth and goes down to the water it completely freezes untill the end of the test.

Dazz
10-03-04, 07:41 PM
Pft 3Dmark 2001, A64 @ 2.4Ghz w/ Radeon 9800Pro 22,000, A64 @ 2.4GHz Geforce 6800 256MB 23,000, looks CPU bottle necked right? A64 @ 2.6GHz Geforce 6800 256MB 23,400 even the 6800 is running @ 444MHz/1.2Ghz over the Radeon 9800Pro 430/750Mhz big diffrence yet no really diffrence????

-=DVS=-
10-04-04, 09:19 PM
Hi,


I recently upgraded my computer from a MSI K8T-NEO K8T800
A64 2800+ to a A64 3200+ with a MSI K8N Neo Platinum board.

Once i got everything assembled i reformated my HDD accordingly and installed all the latest windows updates, drivers for my mouse etc etc,66.72 nVIDIA drivers, and the latest chipset drivers and then defragmented. I decided to test everything out with 3DMARK 2001 and was hoping to see some big improvements, but instead saw a 3DMark score 2,000 points lower than the one with my 2800+ (18,000 to 16,000).

After that i tried loading up Call of Duty and my FPS was lower by atleast 20 sometimes dropping in different areas on my LAN server and online.

I have no clue where to begin with this problem or what to do, I have all the latest drivers and my system specs below:

Athlon 64 3200+ Newcastle
1 GB OCZ PC3500 Performance Series DDR Ram
MSI K8N Neo Platinum nForce 3 250 motherboard
BFG 6800OC Video card
IBM 7200 RPM Harddrive
470w Enermax NoiseTaker Series PSU
Lian-Li PC-65 Case

Oh, and also during benchmarks and games i frequently freeze up and pause alot, and my temperatures are at 36-40c idle for mobo and CPU and about 40-47c load.


Yep i got MSI K8N Neo Platinum for testing , and it to shows same problems , clean install any type of bios any ForceWare driver and highest my 6800GT did in 3dmark 2003 was 9000 :retard: ,without ForceWare it does 6000 , i get 11700 on my Via K8T800 , makes me wonder how screwed up Nvidia 250G chipset is :lame:

john19055
10-05-04, 12:37 PM
What about the N-force3 4.24 set do they work fine with the A643400 and the MSI K8N NEO PLatinum.

phourstar
10-05-04, 06:40 PM
I formatted again and installed the 4.27 nForce drivers and 61.77 VGA drivers and updated windows to SP2, adjusted some voltages ( memory to 2.70 and vcore to 1.6) and scored 20,500 in 3dmark01 and about 8,900 in 03. Oc'd my processor to 2.4 (10x240) and am scoring 22,000 now and close to 10k in 3dmark03

-=DVS=-
10-05-04, 08:11 PM
Aye i experimented more to find the problem with this Motherboard and found the problem for low 3dmark score ,
What i did to get bad scores , before booting or installing anything i connected 2 DVD-ROMS, 2 SATA drives, 1 6800GT, 1 Aydigy 2, 1 Floppy ,1 Card reader - Then format , install windows , motherboard drivers , vid drivers , sound drivers , and got score drop of 2000 marks03 (~20% of what it should be). ( also note not installing motherboard drivers at all cuts your score by 50% )

Trying out many Bios versions and different Nforce drivers didn't solve this problem.So i figured the problem was the way bios or windows assign resources to video card perhapse screwing up things with virtual IRQ maybe..... ect.

So to test this theory and fix this problem , i disconected all items except 1 DVD-ROM , 1 SATA HDD , and 6800GT ( also switched off PSU and cleared CMOS ) after boot up disabled onboard Audio , and proceeded with Windows XP instalation , then Motherboard driver and Video driver , ran benchmark and got normal score within range of stock system :D , Power Down and reatached rest of them components and viola Working system ;) .

Now one problem remains obviously Nvidia is not very FastWrite friendly maybe its driver sensative or bios i dunno , but in this case FastWrites couse random ~5second freezes in 3dmark03 ( i used this as its faster to find problem then actual game ) sometimes it went throu without problem sometimes not.... so disabling it in Bios fixed it , penelty however low CPU score in this benchamrk and lower FPS in software rendered games for actual D3D / OpenGl games practicaly no difference maybe 1 or 2 FPS , also disabling FW makes things mutch smoother ( as discovered by someone in some cases enabling Blit thingy in Rivatuner is nice bonus to )

Note there is no problem with FastWrites and Via 800 series of chipsets .