PDA

View Full Version : What's AGP aperature setting for 6800GT 256MB?


bluerains
10-05-04, 12:44 AM
Should I just use the default 128MB aperature size (on the motherboard setting) for AGP or should I change it to 256MB? I have the BGF 6800GT 256MB. Thank you!

jAkUp
10-05-04, 12:53 AM
128 would be fine... you have enough texture memory already, so no need to reserve any more system memory.

Rzeractor
10-05-04, 12:58 AM
all aperature does is when it runs out of video card memory it uses some of your RAM. Since your card has 256mb already, it should be plenty.

john19055
10-05-04, 11:21 AM
some companies suggest to set it at 256with a 256mb card.I set mine to 256 can't tell no difference from 128.

Chippy
10-05-04, 12:07 PM
some companies suggest to set it at 256with a 256mb card.I set mine to 256 can't tell no difference from 128.

Thats because the AGP setting is the maximum amount of system memory that the card is allowed to use. So for example if a game needs 32MB, that's all it would use. In that case, setting the AGP aperture to 128MB or 256MB would make no difference.

Chip

|JuiceZ|
10-05-04, 12:18 PM
Thats because the AGP setting is the maximum amount of system memory that the card is allowed to use. So for example if a game needs 32MB, that's all it would use. In that case, setting the AGP aperture to 128MB or 256MB would make no difference.

Chip

Correct.