PDA

View Full Version : CS Source: Vertical Sync


yuriz43
10-07-04, 07:19 PM
Hey all....


I have a LCD Monitor so in most games I like to have Vertical Sync on to get rid of the cutt off images that appear when your turn around really quick... The only problem is that when I have vertical Sync on my frame rate goes to ****( on most maps, like de_aztec) Now I was told that Vertical Sync caps your max fps to your Monitors Refresh rate ( mine is 60hz because I use DVI ) Does anyone know a fix for this? Or something that I can do... I would like to play with Vertical Sync, but the fps decrease makes it not worth it =(


p4 3.2
1g dual channel ram
asus v9999 GE (16,6vp softmod)
Windows Xp SP2


:angel2:

jAkUp
10-07-04, 07:21 PM
Force your refresh rate to the maximum your monitor supports in the nvidia control panel, this will ensure that if th framerate gets halved, instead of 30 fps (half of 60) it will be half of 70, ro 75, or whatever your monitor supports.

yuriz43
10-07-04, 07:35 PM
Thats the problem... LCD dvi Monitors are forced to 60hz ( impossible to change) Unless maybe if you use the VGA connector instead. I suppose I could use the VGA connector instead, but I don't see why I should have to sacrafice image quality for fps just because it's refresh rate.... In other games like doom3, Tribes Vengeance, and UT2004 I do not have these problems.

arise
10-08-04, 09:42 AM
nah, most LCDs do 70,72 or even 75Hz besides the default 60Hz. Make sure you install the LCD drivers, don't leave it to XP to select Plug n Play monitor.

My 19" Iiyama E481S does 75Hz, i enable vsync and play with max_fps 75 with no problems.

|JuiceZ|
10-08-04, 09:58 AM
Yes thats tru for most but I'm limited to 60hz as well, although I normally don't use vsync though. Avg roughly 75-80fps on most maps in CS:Source.

Roscoe
10-08-04, 10:16 AM
I run on an LCD too, though mine manages 75hz too. But my system (9700np, Ath 2500XP) isn't up to hitting that max all the time

If you are truly limited to 60hz, then you're just rather out of luck - I could suggest turning on Triple Buffering (which greatly reduces the times the framerate is cut) except...
a) you're running an nVidia card which doesn't support TB
b) CS:S doesn't support it either (I heard, though I'm not sure that's still true)

So that leaves you with one option if you want vsync on... cut the resolution and the settings down to a point where it rarely does dip below 60fps. It'll feel a bit painful at first, but hell - this is a FPS game where fps is king - admiring the eye candy isn't as important as smooth movement and aiming.

yuriz43
10-08-04, 06:04 PM
Does geforce 6800's support Tripple Buffering? I read on the steam forums that CS: Source does not really support it yet? So maybe when they patch it, we will have an alternative.

jolle
10-09-04, 05:40 AM
It seems CS:S uses TB when Vsync is ON, atleast if its ON in the video menu..
6800 Should support it, dunno tho, cant se why not..