PDA

View Full Version : Counter Strike Source Machine playability


Vanzagar
10-08-04, 03:15 PM
Will upgrade my PC in a few months once I feel better about PCI Express but for now was wondering if I would be able to play CS source above 35fps with the following system:

Windows XP
AMD 1800+, 512MB RAM
MSI Geforce 4 Ti4400, Latest detonator drivers
Creative Soundblaster Live
Shuttle MN31N Mobo, Latest Drivers

I'm willing to turn off all the bells and whistles and go down to 800x600. What do you think?

Also, where can I obtain CS Source config/autoexec file commands so i can turn off extra stuff like decals and customize my keys.... or anyone maybe found an cs source optimzation site yet...

Thanks for any suggestions,

Vanz

anzak
10-08-04, 03:23 PM
CS: Source should run flawless in DX8.0 mode @ 1024x768 maybe even 1280x960 with all feature enabled. I have a friend with a Athlon 1.4Ghz, 256mb of RAM, and a Radeon 9600 and the game runs fine @1024x768.

AthlonXP1800
10-08-04, 05:39 PM
rhuala, I have the same speed of your CPU and memory, mine got 70fps at 1024x768, it matched the speed of Pentium 4 3Ghz, on your Geforce 4 Ti 4600, you will have around 64fps (http://firingsquad.com/hardware/counter-strike_source_midrange/page3.asp) at 1024x768, more than 35fps you hoped for. :D

Edge
10-08-04, 06:10 PM
You won't have any problems, CS:Source is pretty scaleable. I don't think you'll have any problems getting at least 35 FPS at 1024, you can probably even turns some AA/Aniso on.

Although I'm more worried about how it scales to REALLY old hardware. My friend has a 2.9 celeron CPU with a "Intel Extreme Graphics" card with NO AGP port...any indication on how that computer would "run" CS:S or HL2?

aaahhh52
10-08-04, 06:49 PM
You won't have any problems, CS:Source is pretty scaleable. I don't think you'll have any problems getting at least 35 FPS at 1024, you can probably even turns some AA/Aniso on.

Although I'm more worried about how it scales to REALLY old hardware. My friend has a 2.9 celeron CPU with a "Intel Extreme Graphics" card with NO AGP port...any indication on how that computer would "run" CS:S or HL2?

yeah....it wont :angel2:

Vanzagar
10-08-04, 07:54 PM
rhuala, I have the same speed of your CPU and memory, mine got 70fps at 1024x768, it matched the speed of Pentium 4 3Ghz, on your Geforce 4 Ti 4600, you will have around 64fps (http://firingsquad.com/hardware/counter-strike_source_midrange/page3.asp) at 1024x768, more than 35fps you hoped for. :D


Thanks AthlonXP1800, that has convinced to me to go buy it thru steam earily... if only the web page would allow me to go to the purchase screen... pretty busy i guess...

Vanz