PDA

View Full Version : A "moire" filtering pattern in CS:S


Pages : [1] 2 3

SH64
10-08-04, 07:10 PM
While playing CS:S with 8xAF (Trinlinear Opt : off , Aniso Opt : ON) .. i notice this filtering pattern esp. in clear grounds .. like the office map ?!

any idea how to get rid of it ? will 16xAF or turning Ansio opt to off correct that ??

system is 6800GT with 61.77 drivers .

http://img85.exs.cx/img85/4224/hl22004-10-0815-30-56-92.jpg

Schumi4ever
10-08-04, 07:31 PM
Why dont you try it?

Killall
10-08-04, 08:37 PM
I have that moire pattern with almost every 3d fps i play... dunno how to get rid of it, it very ugly to look at.

SH64
10-08-04, 09:22 PM
Why dont you try it?

Ok i tried disabling AF opt but didnt fix it .

PikachuMan
10-08-04, 09:46 PM
I get the same thing, no solution found.. =(

They say upping the LOD thing in rivatuner helps it, as well as using 8xS anti aliasing, but that isn't a fix really.

There is a big thread up called Edge and texture aliasing artifacts (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=35592&page=1&pp=15) , it was stickied a little while ago, but for some reason it isn't anymore...

Here's (http://www.mitrax.de/?cont=artikel&aid=24&page=14) a website setup by one of the posters in that site showing the effect in UT2004.

The link to nvidia's support request form is below, might as well give it a shot
http://support.nvidia.com/Content/NVSupport/frmSupport.asp?RequestTypeID=10

particleman
10-08-04, 10:19 PM
Same here, you can try every 6800 driver available, disable all optimizations and it will still do it. The only acceptable solution I've found is the supersampling modes, I don't really find increasing LOD a very good solution because it blurs up textures.

CaptNKILL
10-08-04, 10:53 PM
Yeah I get this kind of thing in a lot of games. Especially noticeable in Battlefield 1942.

Really irritating. As far as I know this has been visible in 61.77, 66.70 and its still in 66.81 (which im using now). Its a shame, the filtering quality is so nice besides this.

K007
10-08-04, 11:54 PM
Using 65.73 having pro problems :D

particleman
10-09-04, 12:03 AM
Would someone who claims they can't see the texture aliasing (that uses a 6800, the problem doesn't affect pre 6800 cards) please take a screenshot of the exact same spot SH64 took his shot at with 8XAF no AA?

I think that there are people that just don't see Image Quality problems, feel free to prove me wrong though by taking a screenshot at the same spot with 8XAF no AA on a 6800 though.

K007
10-09-04, 12:08 AM
Its gonna be hard, but ill see, i have alot of screenshtos posted over at this site tho :).

http://www.wcreplays.com/forums/showthread.php?t=24027

Feel free to browse through them till i try to get that exact shot.

anzak
10-09-04, 12:08 AM
Using 65.73 having pro problems :D

Same here. 65.73 and High Quality set in the CP.

K007
10-09-04, 12:13 AM
http://homepages.ihug.com.au/~umedha/1.jpg

As you can see i notce that too, but i never noticed till you told me lol.

A643200
GT @ Default clocks
65.73
All Opt on
Quality
AF/AA App control
Vsync Off

CS Source
1024
4xaa
8xaf (setting to 16xaf didnt do anything)
All high.

I noticed that if you put to trilliniar it goes away.

anzak
10-09-04, 12:18 AM
This is not the same location but it has the same floor texture and that's all that matters.

http://img57.exs.cx/img57/9168/screen66.jpg

65.73
4xAA 16xAF
High Quality in the CP (which disables all opt.)

The optimizations only give a 2-3% boost in performance anyways. I don't understand why people play with them enabled.

K007
10-09-04, 01:15 AM
Actually turning them on gives me about 20-30 fps boost :O.., and i cant see the difference :(.

Also you should try to take a screenshot at the same angle/place, you can see it there, its very hard to see / spot that when your on that level.

Slammin
10-09-04, 01:44 AM
Pardon me if I don't see what the big deal is here. It looks like something that is hard to catch, much less see, especially if you are being chased. Yes, I realize we paid a lot for these cards but I'll not let something like a moire pattern at a precise location in CS spoil my fun.

K007
10-09-04, 03:54 AM
I didnt notice it till he told me :). Nor do i care :nanahump:

Schumi4ever
10-09-04, 05:29 AM
It doesnt really spoil the fun, but you buy for maximun quality, so thats what you want to see ;)

particleman
10-09-04, 07:20 AM
It probably won't spoil the fun in a game like HL2 or CS2, but it is a lot more noticeable in some other games. It's also only clearly noticeable on certain texture patterns. Also the problem is much more noticeble when you are moving, because then it looks like shimmering bands.

Anzak can you try taking the screenshot in the same place the other two were taken at? The you are looking at a certain texture at as well as lighting conditions also tend to make it more or less noticeable. If you can take the screenshot there, and the pattern isn't there then we've got to figure out what you are doing differently. Also please make sure the LOD is at 0, 8X Anisotropic Filtering and no Antialiasing, although multisample antialiasing doesn't affect textures, supersampling does.

iwbs
10-09-04, 08:28 AM
It seems that i don't have the problem
I'm using 66.81 high quality in CP
CS:S CP set to 4xaa, 8xaf
Actually i got all shimming textures problem fixed by running high quality in CP, hope this could help you

|MaguS|
10-09-04, 08:44 AM
No probs here with 65.73 driver set.

Settings: 1600x1200 4xAA/8xAF
http://bellsouthpwp.net/T/h/TheClericBanton/images/cs_office0000.jpg

Cali3350
10-09-04, 09:23 AM
No problems here. High Quality in CP and 66.51. High Quality vs Quality with opts on resulted in a 1.3 fps loss for me, so HQ it is! Not to mention with Q (even with all opts disabled) their is noticeable texture shimmering. Nvidia has said their are some behind the scenes opts at work you cannot turn off.
Ill try and get a picture.

Edit -

One thing i just noticed is that if you look at the pictures in anything less then Their full size (allow XP to do its stupid resize thing) the effect is their. Look at their full size and its not. heres mine:

http://www.novicee.com/pics/CS_S_Moire.jpg

SElkie
10-09-04, 10:12 AM
Looks to me like a resolution issue.

You guys should check the same spot at 1600x1200

particleman
10-09-04, 10:16 AM
High Quality was the first thing I tried when I got the texture shimmering, in OpenGL it removes the issue for me, but for all my Direct3D games, it still shimmers, for me anyways, it's almost like that setting won't go above Quality to High Quality in Direct3D. On my system in Direct3D Quality looks pretty much exactly the same as High Quality. BTW I don't think "Quality" is a good name for the Quality mode.

Some people in the aliasing artifacts thread even tried clean reinstalls and it didn't resolve the problem.

Cali3350
10-09-04, 10:35 AM
I see a huge difference between quality and HQ, and my picture above is the same spot and doesnt show the moir pattern. I dont know.

adpr 02
10-09-04, 10:43 AM
I used to get that exact same pattern in Halo at 800 by 600 rez, only on hte whole screen. once i turned the rezolution up to 1024 by 700 it was gone.