PDA

View Full Version : I've finally unleashed the true power of my GT!


Schumi4ever
10-14-04, 08:03 PM
I have the XFX 6800GT, and I had it running on my MSI K8N Neo Platinum where I was encoutering to stupid freezing problem.
I had tried everything you can imagine to solve this problem.

Changin 2d/3d clockspeeds, forcing 3d speed, disabling fast writes, flashing the bios with many others, adjusting the gpu voltage, adjusting the agp voltage, buying a new power supply, installing the nv silencer 5 etc etc etc. Everything, but nothing worked.

I then decided I really wanted to try a via k8t800pro chipset based motherboard, and today my abit kv8pro 1.1 arrived. I installed everything and tried oc my gt, and NO MORE FREEZING!!! I havent really tried going past 400/1100, but at these speeds I benched 3dmark03 and 05. At default at 03 I get 10800, now I had 12100 (with oc the cpu a little bit I already got 12400).

05 went up from 4500 to 5100!

And I aint done at all :D Im going to buy much better memory and better cpu cooling to oc that a lot, and Im not done finding the limit of my card, because on my old mainboard I was able to run 425/1200 flawlessly in Opengl :D

Damnit, this Abit really made my happy :D :D :D

Schumi4ever
10-14-04, 08:39 PM
Just clocked my 3200 clawhammer to 220*10 and put my gt to 415/1100 and I scored 12704! Thats already 2000 more then non-overclocked :ORDER:

Am gonna run 05 now :D

Just scored 5300 at 3dmark05 :nanahump:
And 66700 at aquamark3, non overclocked I get 58000 :nanahump:

Tomorrow Im gonna install some games (Far Cry) and see how they run :D

Scrith
10-14-04, 09:19 PM
I had the same problem w/ my eVGA 6800 Ultra on my K8N Neo Platinum w/ a socket 754 3200+ (stepping C0).

I tried everything you listed and more (multiple times), but nothing made the problem go away.

Finally, I got RivaTuner because somebody at the eVGA forums said they fixed the problem by checking some options under the Blitting section of RivaTuner. Well this, didn't help either. But I saw another option in there (under the first settings tab)...compatibility mode for nForce motherboards. VOILA!!!! For the first time since I bought the video card a few months ago, I was able to play games all night without even once experiencing the stuttering problem.

Halfway through the night I dialed my card's speed up to the stock setting (425 w/ the latest BIOS) for the first time in weeks (I had been running at 400 for 2D and 3D, which seemed to reduce the frequency of the problem, though it didn't eliminate it). And it still worked great!

I'll report back if the problem pops up again, but things certainly seem to be working much better now.

Schumi4ever
10-14-04, 09:33 PM
Blitting and compatibility didnt work for me either, but the via chipset did :nanahump:

And besides that, I really like this motherboard. All the oc options and the eq etc really rock:)

It even allows me to slow down my casefans, and that makes a big difference in noise! :retard: (only one of two is making a lot of noise, so Im thinking of getting rid of it. My pc is now pretty silent (only aircooled) and pretty cool :))

circuitbreaker8
10-14-04, 11:55 PM
Where is that option for blitting and nforce compatibility mode?

SigmaOrionis
10-15-04, 02:14 AM
Yep sometimes its better to just swap hardware then spend good gaming time hunting for fixes. I'm also using the K8T800 chipset. Works great with my 6800GT.

Schumi4ever
10-15-04, 07:00 AM
Where is that option for blitting and nforce compatibility mode?

In rivatuner on the d3d page iirc.

ATI_Dude
10-15-04, 07:33 AM
I have the XFX 6800GT, and I had it running on my MSI K8N Neo Platinum where I was encoutering to stupid freezing problem.
I had tried everything you can imagine to solve this problem.

Changin 2d/3d clockspeeds, forcing 3d speed, disabling fast writes, flashing the bios with many others, adjusting the gpu voltage, adjusting the agp voltage, buying a new power supply, installing the nv silencer 5 etc etc etc. Everything, but nothing worked.

I then decided I really wanted to try a via k8t800pro chipset based motherboard, and today my abit kv8pro 1.1 arrived. I installed everything and tried oc my gt, and NO MORE FREEZING!!! I havent really tried going past 400/1100, but at these speeds I benched 3dmark03 and 05. At default at 03 I get 10800, now I had 12100 (with oc the cpu a little bit I already got 12400).

05 went up from 4500 to 5100!

And I aint done at all :D Im going to buy much better memory and better cpu cooling to oc that a lot, and Im not done finding the limit of my card, because on my old mainboard I was able to run 425/1200 flawlessly in Opengl :D

Damnit, this Abit really made my happy :D :D :D

I might swap my NForce 3 board as well. No matter what I do my card won't clock higher than the stock 400/1100 without freezing/pausing.

It's a bit ironic that Nvidia's own motherboard chipset don't work well with their graphics hardware :retard:

Marcos
10-15-04, 07:42 AM
I still have a bitter taste in my mouth from kt-400

Schumi4ever
10-15-04, 12:01 PM
Far Cry also runs better. Before I had moments where the fps could drop to 30, now its 40+ :)

Ive also quickly tried finding the max htt, which is 270 (260 on my previous board), but I havent tried raising the voltage. So far Im very happy with this board :nanahump:

Gorion
10-15-04, 12:43 PM
My Gigabyte K8nspro works great with my 6800U I have no compatibility probs. I had heat issues. Replaced the thermal pads on my mem. That fixed my stuttering problems. EVGA sent me a free copper heatsink for my GPU and now its cooler than ever and zero issues. :)

Jethro
10-17-04, 10:35 AM
6800 GT is working flawlessly with KT600 board. VIA chipsets are far better than some people give them credit for. Mine is getting 13000+ 03 marks so im quite pleased. Glad your enjoying your 6800 dood. thats not the first time ive seen MSI having issues lately.

kahloq
10-17-04, 11:01 AM
Wanted to add here that ASus boards are real good performers with nvidia's cards as well. I have p4c800e deluxe and 6800ultra works extremely well. Have the same model in wifes pc with a 6800GT and works very well too:)
459/1280 on Ultra(BFG)
415/1150 on GT(BFG) both air cooled with stock coolers.

john19055
10-17-04, 05:34 PM
Maybe I just got lucky but I have no problems with my MSI K8N Neo Platinum and my A64 3400 and Evga 6800 ulta ,I did have the pauses when I first got my 6800 ultra but the new bios flash witch made the 2D and 3D the same I guess fixed it and I have no problems running with Fast writes on except it want let me over clock my video card as high.But I have always had good luck with Nvidia boads and bad luck with Via.IMO

Highlander_608
10-19-04, 05:06 PM
i too had a via kt800 based mobo(kv8se) and i get much better benchmark scores on the chaintech znf3_250 board,my benchmarks with a small o/c on the chip,but no o/c on the 6800ultra i get 26xxx on 01 and 12xxx on 03 and 52xx on 05 ALL of them a big improvement on the via based board

ATI_Dude
10-19-04, 05:45 PM
I might swap my NForce 3 board as well. No matter what I do my card won't clock higher than the stock 400/1100 without freezing/pausing.

It's a bit ironic that Nvidia's own motherboard chipset don't work well with their graphics hardware :retard:

Update:

Fixed the problem by disbaling Fast Writes in the bios. Now my card runs like a dream at 425/1150 MHz :headbang: