PDA

View Full Version : How do I max my BFG's fan?


circuitbreaker8
10-16-04, 06:07 PM
When i'm in my BIOS, the fan is really loud, but when windows starts up, the lights dim and the noise gets lower, so i'm guessing the fans volts are getting cut off. Is there any way to have it at a constant speed? Thanks. :nanahump:

wickfut
10-16-04, 06:20 PM
remove the plug from the fan and wire it straight to the power supply

circuitbreaker8
10-16-04, 06:24 PM
remove the plug from the fan and wire it straight to the power supply

Its a 2 pin connector...is there any other way?

JRd1st
10-16-04, 06:27 PM
Have you tried Gainwards ExperTool? Many are using it to control their fan speeds on non-Gainward cards and getting good results.

wickfut
10-16-04, 06:29 PM
Its a 2 pin connector...is there any other way?

no , the 6800 does not have speed controlled fan speed that you can fiddle with

you either get an adapter/ or chop it and wire it to your main powersupply on a steady rail or you leave it alone - dead easy :)

YOGIx213
10-16-04, 06:46 PM
no , the 6800 does not have speed controlled fan speed that you can fiddle with

you either get an adapter/ or chop it and wire it to your main powersupply on a steady rail or you leave it alone - dead easy :)

Use Expertool and you will be able to control the fan speeds. I've been using it for months and it's great. I think nvidia should implement it as a feature in all future drivers because I've found it to be invaluable. It tells your core temps, allows you to adjust fan speeds, and is a good overclocking tool. I have my PNY 6800 Ultra fans running at 70% during 2D and 100% during 3D.

JRd1st
10-16-04, 06:48 PM
Well my fan is controllable and I've read many posts where others were able to do it too.

circuitbreaker8
10-16-04, 06:59 PM
Cool, expertool works! Thanks! But...my 3dmark03 dropped 3,000 points after installing it...

YOGIx213
10-16-04, 07:00 PM
Yeah, the fan IS controllable. You don't need to do anything to your card or wires to do this. Just download Expertool and all your worries will go away... :)

circuitbreaker8
10-16-04, 07:18 PM
How do I get my default clocks back? My minimum is 370/1140 now!

YOGIx213
10-16-04, 07:32 PM
Do you have coolbits installed? I use both when it comes to overclocking. If I overclock too high and Expertool shows a minimum that is above my default, I go into the nvidia display properties with coolbits, set it back to defalut speeds (using coolbits) and then go back to Expertool. It should show it back to default speeds.

I know it sounds so tedious but that's what sucks, the best features are on different programs so I find I have to go back and forth. Together though, coolbits and Expertool are perfect for me.

Oh, and I don't know what's going on about your 3,000 point loss in 3DMark03. That's wierd.

wickfut
10-16-04, 07:36 PM
i thought the fan control was to force the fan to work on 2D instead of shutting off ?

YOGIx213
10-16-04, 08:00 PM
The fan control in Expertool allows you to adjust the fan speeds for both 2D and 3D. When you set the 2D mode to 100%, you can hear the difference, it gets loud, like a small vacuum. That's why I set it to 70%, then I can hardly hear it. But, on 3D it's on 100% because I'm so into the game, I can't even notice the fan.

SigmaOrionis
10-16-04, 08:37 PM
It would drive me nuts if my card sounded as loud during gaming as it does at bootup. Then again I dont overclock so I guess thats why I dont see the need.

JRd1st
10-16-04, 09:09 PM
How do I get my default clocks back? My minimum is 370/1140 now!

When you press the "Enhanced Mode Settings" button do your clocks go to 400/1100?

I wonder what would happen if you flashed your card with a Gainward 6800GT bios?

NightFire
10-16-04, 09:17 PM
Yeah, you can try coolbits. Your loss in 3dMark was probably due to the reduction in clock speeds.