PDA

View Full Version : Weird Resolution Crash (6800)


yuriz43
10-16-04, 09:55 PM
Hello..
I have the most strange bug/crash in CS: Source.


This is what happens.... I will be playing and suddenly my screens resolution changes to some EXTREMELY LOW resolution and my screen turns sideways ... It's really weird.... The game dosen't crash, it keeps playing, but I obviously can't see anything except a couple giant pixels of the ground or something.

When I attempt to Ctrl-Alt-Del out of the game my screen dosen't go back to normal and its still in limbo mode, causing me to do a manuall restart.


This happens TOTALLY randomly.

Sometimes I play for 4 hours and it never happens.. or sometimes I can be playing 20 minutes and then it happens. All in all it dosen't happen that often.

CS: Source is the only game that this has happend to me in.


I am guessing this is a problem with CS: Source since it hasen't happend in any other games ( yet ).My video card is a Asus v9999 GE with (16,6vp) enabled running at 375/1000.
Could this be due to overclocking or the pipe mod? or Over heating? my Card runs at around 60-70c at load. Again, This happens totally randomly.... I have played HOURS without it ever happening so I don't think its a heat problem.

I was thinking it might be my LCD monitor.... But again, its only happend in CS: Source!

System Specs:

Pentium 4 3.2 ghz
1 gig ram
Geforce 6800 v9999 GE (16,6vp) 61.77 driver
Windows XP SP2 using DX9

(help)

Saintster
10-17-04, 01:13 AM
that's a new one

RealLifePixelShader
10-18-04, 04:02 AM
I got the same thing playing FARCRY the system goes on working but thr resolution changes to 8bit 640x480. Why I do not know?

SYSTEM

3Ghz Prescott
1024MB DDR400 Dual
80GB SATA RAID
LEADTEK 6800 GT 256
300W PSU
XP PRO SP2
and the same old same old

yuriz43
10-18-04, 04:10 PM
Were you overclocking when this happend?....

I thought this was a problem with Asus SmartDoctor Software... But I guess not!

RealLifePixelShader
10-19-04, 02:31 AM
Nope running stock and it happend twice in one day

yuriz43
10-19-04, 02:49 AM
I am wondering if this could be a driver issue?

Not many have reported this. so it makes me wonder....Another possibility is the card switching frequencies in 3d and 2d which all the cards do even if they aren't OC'd.