PDA

View Full Version : Right click blackouts on BFG 6800GT


FuSi0N
10-18-04, 09:39 AM
I'm having this very annoying problem with my BFG 6800GT. Everytime I right click an icon on my desktop, the screen blacks out and then reappears this also happens when I click the advanced button in Display properties. The card is overclocked to 410/1000 but this problem also occurs at stock speeds. Here’s a run down of what I have done to figure this out.

I have tried various driver revisions WHQL and non; I'm currently on 66.71.

I was originally using DirectX 9.0 when the problem started, so I upgraded to 9.0c but the problem remains.

Some system specs

Pentium 4 at 3.4 Gigaherts
1 gig of pc3200 ram
400 watt Actec power supply
Chieftech Dragon Case with 4 fans and a Vantec card cooler

Any ideas?

dpagan
10-18-04, 10:25 AM
do you have nview enabled? (transperancy ect) if you do disable and see if this takes care of problems

bkswaney
10-18-04, 12:11 PM
Never had any problem with mine.
Also have not seen any post
from others with this problem.

TeaEtchSee
10-18-04, 12:53 PM
I'm having this very annoying problem with my BFG 6800GT. Everytime I right click an icon on my desktop, the screen blacks out and then reappears this also happens when I click the advanced button in Display properties. The card is overclocked to 410/1000 but this problem also occurs at stock speeds. Here’s a run down of what I have done to figure this out.

I have tried various driver revisions WHQL and non; I'm currently on 66.71.

I was originally using DirectX 9.0 when the problem started, so I upgraded to 9.0c but the problem remains.

Some system specs

Pentium 4 at 3.4 Gigaherts
1 gig of pc3200 ram
400 watt Actec power supply
Chieftech Dragon Case with 4 fans and a Vantec card cooler

Any ideas?

hmmm is your card VOLT modded? cuz 410 would be pretty high for a 1.3v card.

anyways i have a 420 power supply and my screens blacks out when i hit higher clocks....but it happens 2 minutes during Computer opperation..

so i settled to a 370/1050 clock

55illinois
10-18-04, 12:55 PM
hmmm is your card VOLT modded? cuz 410 would be pretty high for a 1.3v card.

anyways i have a 420 power supply and my screens blacks out when i hit higher clocks....but it happens 2 minutes during Computer opperation..

so i settled to a 370/1050 clock

410 isn't that weird... I can do 440+ MHz at 1.3v on my GT

fuelrod
10-18-04, 12:58 PM
I have this problem on a PNY 6800GT but it doesn't happen all the time. I mostly see it when I'm using file explore and then use right click to copy or paste a file. Just for a second the screen blacks out then comes back. Sort of like when you boot into windows and the monitor initializes. It never happens in games, only in windows 2D desktop. It is annoying but I guess I've gotten use to it.

FYI, I have no volt mods and it's not overclocked. FuSion what monitor do you have? I have a Viewsonic 19" G90fb-2.

FuSi0N
10-18-04, 08:27 PM
I have this problem on a PNY 6800GT but it doesn't happen all the time. I mostly see it when I'm using file explore and then use right click to copy or paste a file. Just for a second the screen blacks out then comes back. Sort of like when you boot into windows and the monitor initializes. It never happens in games, only in windows 2D desktop. It is annoying but I guess I've gotten use to it.

FYI, I have no volt mods and it's not overclocked. FuSion what monitor do you have? I have a Viewsonic 19" G90fb-2.

I'm using a 20 inch Mitsubishi Diamind Plus 200 Crt that I bought 3 years ago. I haven't changed the voltage on my card.

FuSi0N
10-19-04, 07:29 AM
I don't think the voltage will cause you any problems. I'm running my GT at 440/1250 at 1.3+volts currently without a problem.

Good god 440/1250 at 1.3+volts? My card refuses to go past 412/1100 for some reason.

TeaEtchSee
10-19-04, 08:49 AM
I don't think the voltage will cause you any problems. I'm running my GT at 440/1250 at 1.3+volts currently without a problem.

wow :) i dont know how u pulled that but GOOD JOB :)!

55illinois
10-19-04, 11:50 AM
I run at 440/1200 at 1.3v also. I guess some of us just get lucky :) BTW, that's with stock cooling as well ;)

Kojiro
10-19-04, 02:40 PM
Try overclocking your 2D settings to the same level as your 3D settings if you haven't already done so. I don't know why that would fix it, but it is the only suggestion that comes to mind.

They are the same clock speed.

I got a BFG 6800 GT, no probs what so ever.

you can try offically released drivers (last time i checked nvidia's website it was 61.77. This as probably not changed since it probably is the most stable driver that will work for all Nvidia Cards), check the pins on the VGA/DVI cable to see if any one is loose or bent, set your monitor to 60hz refresh rate to see if the prob goes away.

If you have a known working card, use that, and if no probs, then RMA 6800 GT. It is that simple.