PDA

View Full Version : Far Cry on my new BFG 6800U oc


DJMONDY
10-21-04, 08:24 AM
Far cry runs better than ever....sometimes???

I did some FPS checks from my old GPU to my new one and its weird.

When i first start far cry up and youve got the tunnel in front of you i use to get 30-35fps. now i get 105fps (max settings) I was amazed when i saw that.

But, when you first get outside i used to get 30fps and now i get 35????? I thought it would have atleast doubled!

Have i done something wrong?? Please help

Old card: 5900 Ultra

Current drivers: 61.77

Thanks

tyx
10-21-04, 08:57 AM
Get the lastest drivers perhaps that would help a little.

Now, the setting you are playing at, are they the same as what you had with your 5900 Ultra?? If not that should explain it. I never really played far cry before(apart form the demo), but if you 5900 Ultra can go form small indoor enviroment to outdoor enviroment with hardly any loss of FPS thats weird. Apart form different setting, thats the only thing i can come out with.

DJMONDY
10-21-04, 09:05 AM
Thanks, I'll try newer drivers tonight. I think the latest ones are 66.81 (worth a try)

Im using the same settings as before.
Its as if it can handle indoor environments at tripple the speeds but can only do 5-10 fps more than my old card during outdoor environments?? weird.

A driver update might be what i need. :)

Ninjaman09
10-21-04, 09:09 AM
It's a CPU bottleneck. In the kinds of situations you'd drop to 30-35fps, you're most likely losing frames as a result of the CPU not being able to keep up. New drivers rarely, if ever, provide a noticable framerate boost.

DJMONDY
10-21-04, 09:14 AM
My CPU is a P4 3.2, Would this really be whats causing my low fps???

I have 1Gig of ram too. nothing special, ddr 2700

MatsoN1983
10-21-04, 10:01 AM
yeah it would mine does the same and im on a 3.4 pentium lol

DJMONDY
10-21-04, 10:19 AM
Dam, These things cost 350 and we dont even get the full potential coz our processors cant keep up. (bummer)

DJMONDY
10-21-04, 11:41 AM
I just realised im only on v1.1 with far cry. would that be a slight cause of the problem??

And ive tried the game with AA4x AF16x and the outdoor area was still at 30fps which i didnt expect. the indoor shot was at 85fps instead of 105fps.

Cheers

Nitz Walsh
10-22-04, 09:06 AM
I just realised im only on v1.1 with far cry. would that be a slight cause of the problem??
Only one way to find out for sure is there? :)

And ive tried the game with AA4x AF16x and the outdoor area was still at 30fps which i didnt expect. the indoor shot was at 85fps instead of 105fps.

Cheers
Which again, indicates a CPU bottleneck. Try patching Far Cry first though and see.

ATI_Dude
10-22-04, 12:06 PM
Like the other said most outdoor scenes are CPU dependant due to the draw distance and AI enemies/allies. I experienced the same when upgrading from a 5950 Ultra to a GeForce 6800 Ultra. I picked up 5-10 FPS going from a P4 3 GHz to an Athlon 64 3500+

PSYCHODAD
10-22-04, 01:22 PM
Since I upgraded my vid card most of my games are showing a huge performance increase. Unfortunately, FarCry hasn't changed all that much.
I compared my sons system(5950u FX-51)to mine and there is very little difference in performance per this particular game.
However, most of the other games we play show a large performance difference in favor of the 6800u. This generally holds true for Glide and D3D, which leads me to believe something in FC is causing a bottleneck.

fivefeet8
10-22-04, 01:59 PM
This generally holds true for Glide and D3D, which leads me to believe something in FC is causing a bottleneck.

Wow, you've got glide in that 6800 card? ;) And what are you guys taking about? Little difference?

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2023&p=17

And that's not even the SM3 enabled Far Cry. I've noticed a rather significant performance and IQ gain from my 6800u from my former fx5900u@5950bios. Especially in High Resolution AA/AF performance in Far Cry.

PSYCHODAD
10-22-04, 02:11 PM
Wow, you've got glide in that 6800 card? ;) And what are you guys taking about? Little difference?

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2023&p=17

And that's not even the SM3 enabled Far Cry. I've noticed a rather significant performance and IQ gain from my 6800u from my former fx5900u@5950bios. Especially in High Resolution AA/AF performance in Far Cry.
Doom3 and IL-2 FB are a couple of Glide games we play.
When we compared FarCry,using the same graphic settings, the 6800u would be faster in some scenes and the 5950u would be faster in others. Bear in mind though my son has the FX-51 proc., compared to a 3200+ barton.

fivefeet8
10-22-04, 02:15 PM
Doom3 and IL-2 FB are a couple of Glide games we play.
When we compared FarCry,using the same graphic settings, the 6800u would be faster in some scenes and the 5950u would be faster in others. Bear in mind though my son has the FX-51 proc., compared to a 3200+ barton.

Hehe. Didn't know Doom3 used glide. Maybe I'll try running it on my Voodoo 5 then. ;) :angel2:

Processor speed makes a difference in a game like Far Cry. But so does the video card.

PSYCHODAD
10-22-04, 02:17 PM
Hehe. Didn't know Doom3 used glide. Maybe I'll try running it on my Voodoo 5 then. ;) :angel2:

Processor speed makes a difference in a game like Far Cry. But so does the video card.
I agree, about the processor/vid card part anyway.

fivefeet8
10-22-04, 02:24 PM
I agree, about the processor/vid card part anyway.

Hehe. I was joking with you. OpenGL is probably what you were talking about, but you said Glide instead. 3dfx glide was a proprietary 3d API designed specifically for the long dead Voodoo line of video cards.

PSYCHODAD
10-22-04, 02:28 PM
(mag) Hehe. I was joking with you. OpenGL is probably what you were talking about, but you said Glide instead. 3dfx glide was a proprietary 3d API designed specifically for the long dead Voodoo line of video cards.
Aha, didn't know that. Guess I learned somethin new today. (mag)

DJMONDY
10-23-04, 08:23 AM
I tried the 66.81 drivers but they didnt make any difference. The IQ is better in far cry tho!!

I havnt got any white lines in CS:S so i'll stick with these drivers as they arnt causing any problems. YET!

Im gonna try enabling SM3.0 in far cry. Where can i get the 1.2 patch from???

Cheers :)