PDA

View Full Version : New to Nvidia cards

hectorsm
10-23-04, 02:55 PM
I am new to NVidia cards (previously owned ATI). Bought a BFG 6800 OC card today. Any recommendation on how to get the most out of it.

OC utility, best driver, tweak utility, etc.

thanks.

Hector

keith33
10-23-04, 04:31 PM
Right now the best drivers for 6800 cards at least with my experience is the 65.73 WHQL. That's a start. For overclocking use the Coolbits 2.0 registry hack and match 2D/3D clocks for max performance. If you're one of those n00bs looking for a high 3dmark05 score; use the 66.81 forceware drivers but they have problems with the Valve Source Engine. Other than that, just use your brain, I used to have a 9800xt a few months ago and the nvidia drivers are a breath of fresh air. RivaTuner is so far the best "tweaking" tool. Welcome!

einstein_314
10-23-04, 04:49 PM
I agree with keith. Although I'm using the 66.81 drivers. They seem to work better for me. But if I were you I'd try several different versions and see which works best for your system.

hectorsm
10-23-04, 05:12 PM
I will download the 65.73 since I prefere problem free drivers. I was going to download Coolbit but the link in NVNews is not working. Does anyone know if the site is down or is this a dead link? Any other links

I did downladed RivaTuner a while ago was going to enable the extra 4 pipes but changed my mind after I read the warning mesage. Has anyone's card died after enabling the "hardware mask unit"?

thanks for helping this (newb)

Rytr
10-23-04, 05:28 PM
Coolbits2 can be found here: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=29541&highlight=coolbits2

bkswaney
10-23-04, 06:21 PM
Coolbits 3d works best for me.

Also I do not run my BFG with 2d/3d the same clocks.

I run my 2d at 350core and my 3d at max stable core.
There is no need to run both 2d and 3d the same speed.
All u will be doing is burning up your card for no reason. "just my 2 cents" ;)

MikeC
10-23-04, 06:29 PM