PDA

View Full Version : Everquest 2 ships on November 8th


Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

Arioch
11-03-04, 05:18 AM
I am still undecided on this game but I am glad they designed it to be taxing on today's hardware. Just look at how dated EQ was even after only a couple years out. Since a MMORPG lasts for many years we won't be gouging our eyes out when playing this game in the near future because the graphics should still hold up pretty well for a while.

zoth
11-03-04, 06:01 AM
Funny thing is the servers were down tonight for a patch,so I decided to play a little World of Warcraft ( I haven't played it in about a month).

After playing EQ2 for awhile,I cant believe how bad WoW looks now,heh.

|MaguS|
11-03-04, 09:33 AM
AA is useless, you take a less performance hit by increasing the resolution...

Graphicmaniac
11-03-04, 09:49 AM
well but there are times when you reach the monitor resoultion limit and then the only thing you can improve are AA and AF :)

|MaguS|
11-03-04, 10:27 AM
If you can run at 1280x1024 (which is the common highest res) then you can start tweaking the ingame details because no computer I know can run MAX ingame settings and 1280x1024 without the framerate going into seizure during heavy populated areas (which will be most on launch).

I run 1280x1024 in EQ2 and must turn down many settings to get a smooth average framerate, going to 1600x1200 forces me to lower the display settings. Heck, I rather have AF enabled insted of AA since the jaggies in the game aren't bad if you run it at a decent resolution.

ynnek
11-03-04, 03:27 PM
Thats intersting, because they have this official post on their forum:

http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/eq2/board/message?board.id=faq&message.id=12


What are the reccomended hardware specifications for the game?

Operating System: Windows 98/2000/ME/XP
Processor: 2 GHz or greater
RAM: 1 GB
Video Card: DirectX 9 compatible; pixel shader and vertex shader compatible hardware with 128 MB or more of texture memory
Sound Card: DirectSound compatible audio hardware



What type of video card will I need for EQII?

You will need a card that supports DirectX 9 features, such as pixel and vertex shaders.



Does that include the Nvidia GeForce MX line of cards?

Unfortunately the GeForce 4 MX cards are not supported because they do not have pixel and vertex shaders.


Multiclassing is not possible. Its simply a class tree. However there are some pretty cool traits in game. Plus customization is really nice.


On the DirectX 9.0 requirements, Thats incorrect, This game requires a DirectX 8.0 class hardware, It uses shaders for lighting, Vertex for modeling, Also water, player models ect are all shaded. I noticed that forcing a Geforce 4 Ti 4600 rendering path has resulted in slight IQ discrepencies.

ChrisRay
11-03-04, 03:59 PM
AA is useless, you take a less performance hit by increasing the resolution...


Thats dependent on game and how fillrate or bandwith limited you are.

ChrisRay
11-03-04, 04:00 PM
Thats intersting, because they have this official post on their forum:

http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/eq2/board/message?board.id=faq&message.id=12


What are the reccomended hardware specifications for the game?

Operating System: Windows 98/2000/ME/XP
Processor: 2 GHz or greater
RAM: 1 GB
Video Card: DirectX 9 compatible; pixel shader and vertex shader compatible hardware with 128 MB or more of texture memory
Sound Card: DirectSound compatible audio hardware



What type of video card will I need for EQII?

You will need a card that supports DirectX 9 features, such as pixel and vertex shaders.



Does that include the Nvidia GeForce MX line of cards?

Unfortunately the GeForce 4 MX cards are not supported because they do not have pixel and vertex shaders.


Go here.

http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/eq2/board/message?board.id=tech_support&message.id=211

|MaguS|
11-03-04, 05:01 PM
Go here.

http://eqiiforums.station.sony.com/eq2/board/message?board.id=tech_support&message.id=211

That post is VERY old, close to when the boards first opened up...

BTW, They have added the ability to purchase pets in the game so if you don't purchase the collectors edition of the game to get the dragon, you can buy a pet kittie to put in your apt! :)

ChrisRay
11-03-04, 08:39 PM
Does anyone know whats required to defect from freeport to qeynos? I know its going to be difficult but I need to have an idea of where to begin.

spirited1
11-03-04, 09:46 PM
Not sure on the whole quest, but I know part of it includes killing 500 Orc's.

Graphicmaniac
11-04-04, 05:10 AM
how are the npc's voices?

are them well done?

does the lips move sincronized with the words?

spirited1
11-04-04, 05:29 AM
From what I gather Graphicmaniac, some are, and some aren't. For example, in the tutorial there's a Captain of the Ship you are on. He's actually Dwight Shultz apparently (guy from the A Team) He's adopted a pirates voice, and it's actually very over the top. ("Arrr, me ol scurvy swab, you best be killin' the rats or you'll be walkin' the plank" type of thing. I saw him speak in a short movie clip and noted he wasn't a very good voice actor - seemed to go from Hobbit to Welsh to Southern English. Might come from the Mel Gibson school of Unconvincing Accents :retard: )

On the other hand, the Freeport head honcho Lucan D'Lere (voiced by Christopher Lee of LOTR fame) is actually very good imo. Some people have said some of the quest NPC's in the cities call out to you as you run past, and can be annoying when you've heard them x amount of times. I'm not in beta though, just going on what others have said. Not sure if their mouths are synched with what their saying or not though. I can't decide whether the voices add immersion or take away from them.

Graphicmaniac
11-04-04, 07:03 AM
lol i have thought about everything but that they could be annoying really no!

damn, i hope it isn't or this will be a rally bad news for a game that must survive for the next 5 years eheeh

|MaguS|
11-04-04, 07:16 AM
I have no issues with any of the voice actors, I think they are all well done and usually fit the character good. During beta there were some models that had the wrong voices (I still remember the male haffling with the female barbarian voice /shudder). I love how the Iksar and Ratonga sound. Trolls also sound awsome!

nrdstrm
11-04-04, 01:51 PM
If the voice acting starts to bug, you can check a box that says "only hear voice for NPC Once" or something to that effect. So you you here it the first time, then after you just see the text for that NPC...
Nrdstrm

ChrisRay
11-04-04, 04:52 PM
One thing is I am extremely disapointed in Sony right now. I cant believe they broke AA so close to release. it's obviously being donme in favor of some stupid render to texture trick you cant disable. Even more discouragingly I cant find a .ini setting to increase Graphic Internal resolution (it seems to be specifically disabled so you're forced to use the UI!) Argh.. *sigh*

Sony you made your game look great to something that looks second rate..

Xav
11-04-04, 09:07 PM
I bet they fix it :)

ChrisRay
11-05-04, 04:34 AM
Well I just looked at a walkthrough for the betrayer quest (from freeport to qeynos, Absolutely ridiculous, If just killing 500 gnolls was the hard part) but its not heh



If your considering to do the Freeport to Qeynos Betrayer Quest and want to do this lengthy Quest without a lot of the "where is this or that NPC?" headaches then you may wish to read this guide I made for my Guild. If not Please do not read further for this post contains a ton of spoiler information....

I hope this guide helps you out. It seemed like it took me forever to find this information and I would rather not have you go through the same problems that I had.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
You can start this Quest at level 10 to level 17 but I really do not recommend you activate this quest till at least level 14. I will explain why as you read this. When I give conned descriptions for the mobs in the Freeport area they are conned as a 14th level Druid. When I give conned descriptions for mobs in the Antonica area they are conned as a 16th level Druid.

1) At level 14 go to East Freeport and seek out Stilus Graphium. Stilus is on the 2nd floor of “The Freeport Observer”.

2) Stilus will tell you to talk to Kenjedeau in the sewers below. Kenjedeau is actually in the Serpent Sewers zone. You can access the Serpent Sewers zone from The Thieves Way via the Big Bend zone in point.

3) Once in Serpent Sewers there will be a lot of aggro mobs at level 14th. In the Serpent Sewers you will first come to a “T” take the left branch. If you take the right branch you’ll meet up with a ton of very nasty casters and you may not survive. The best thing I can say is to put on your sneakers and run like the blazes until you find Kenjedeau. Kenjedeau is near some other NPC’s in the back a bit. The nice thing about this is that there is a Guard that WILL kill mobs for you if you have a train following you. Providing of course you can survive long enough for the Guard to kill them all before they kill you.

4) Warning: Read this before talking to Kenjedeau. Once you talk to Kenjedeau you will be ported into an instanced zone. You will have to fight 3 mobs, 2 of which are grouped (at least when I pulled one I got 2 instead) . This first group was a Yellow and a Yellow with a single down arrow. Take these two out and rest up to full strength for the 3rd mob. The 3rd mob is named “The Bonebreaker” he’s only a Yellow with a red outline so he should not be so hard on you.

5) Once you take out “The Bonebreaker” remove ALL your gear and be totally nakkie for this next part. The reason is that you WILL die. There is no option here and you WILL loose a spirit shard in this next step. Once all your gear is removed then open the door that Bonebreaker was standing in front of and you will get a scene with the Overlord. After your dead you’ll be zoned to the Commonlands.

6) In the Commonlands you’ll be next to “Executioner Selindi”. Talk to her and she will tell you that you need to go to Antonica and speak with Vishra. Vishra is the main NPC for this entire Quest. You will go and talk to Vishra several times during this very lengthy quest.

7) Put on your gear and run to the Commonland docks. The boat if it is not there will arrive shortly. Take the Boat to Nektulos Forest. Ring the Bell in Nektulos Forest and it will take you to Thundering Stepps. In Thundering Stepps take the boat to Antonica.

8 ) Once in Antonica you can find Vishra on the southern edge of the Antonica map just past Blackburrow and the Gnoll Waterfall at –1924, -14, -14,757.

9) Speak with Vishra and you will receive the bulk of the quest items you must complete before you proceed further. You must kill the following: 500 Gnolls, Dancord of The Pine, Sarn The Wayfarer, Towyn The lazy, Crugybar The Rock and Nantglas The Cold. The 500 Gnolls can be any Gnolls at least they were when I did it. The easy way to do this is just slaughter low level grey Gnolls. You don’t get any exp but they mow down quickly and since you have to kill 500, quick is nice. Of the 5 named Gnolls, two are in Blackburrow and 3 are in Antonica. When you zone into Blackburrow you can find Crugybar inside the mine area. Find the entrance that has some mine cart tracks and just follow it to the far back area. Just keep to the right and you’ll eventually get to Crugybar’s area. Nantglas The Cold spawns on a little shelf of rock past the place in Blackburrow that you must dive under to reach. If you ever hunted Blackburrow you’ll know this area. If not, when you first zone into Blackburrow and head straight in and you’ll see water and some Angler Gnolls. That is the area. Just follow the water and dive down through the hole and come back up and you’ll see the small ledge that he spawns on. Dancord of The Pine spawns in the forest area just North of the Blackburrow entrance. Towyn The Lazy spawns on the beach around –900, ???, 900 or so. Towyn’s beach is west of Blackburrow. Just follow the southern coast and you’ll find it easy enough. Sarn The Wayfarer spawns on the hillside near The Keep of The Gnollslayers. Just follow the left fork of the road as it passes the Keep and you’ll see him if he’s up. All 5 of these Gnolls conned Yellow with 2 up arrows.

10) Once you completed this part go talk to Vishra again. Vishra will tell you to go talk to Timothy Cooper.

11) Timothy Cooper can be found on the dock NW of Windstalker Village and North of the Ruins of Caltorais. Lot’s of aggro here so be careful of mobs.

12) Timothy will tell you to talk to Felzik Dursin. Warning: Once you talk to Felzik he will aggro on you and you must kill him. Use a decent sized group. Again Felzik is yellow with 2 up arrows. All those in the party that needs the quest will get credit off of one kill of Felzik. Felzik can be found in Windstalker Village pretty much walking up and down near one of the stores waiting for someone to come along and take him out.

13) Time to talk to Vishra again. Vishra will tell you to speak to Darvin Gallowyn. Do not be coy here and ALWAYS choose correctly if you value your coin purse. Darvin is located at the Oracle Tower on the top floor. Your log book will update and you will then have to talk to Wolfgang Constantine.

14) Wolfgang Constantine is located at the Claymore Statue south of the two towers which are located east of the north Qeynos gate. Again follow the prompts and choose wisely if you value your pocket book. Again your log will update and you will be directed to talk to Sialla Windwhisper.

15) Sialla can be found near a tree just north of the Keep of the Gnollslayers. You may have seen her when you went hunting for Sarn. Talk to Sialla and again follow the prompts.

16) Time to talk to Vishra yet again but this time your getting very close to the end. Vishra tells you to talk to the Magistrate Rachelle and confess your sins.

17) Outside N. Qeynos Gates you will see two towers. Rachelle spawns on the bottom floor of the most southern of those two towers. If Rachelle is not up she will eventually spawn. Rachelle does not respawn on server up for some reason. Follow the prompts.

18 ) Talk to Vishra for the last time and your now a full citizen of Qeynos.

19) Congrats!!!

ChrisRay
11-05-04, 08:29 PM
To get AA in game. Add this line to your eq_recent and eq_default.ini files.

The game will try to overwrite your eq_default.ini files when it patches. However just reenable it after patch is over.

r_aa_blit 1


It does work and game looks ALOT better.

Sovereignxp
11-05-04, 09:53 PM
Sweet! Thnx Chris! I can't wait for EQ2!

|MaguS|
11-06-04, 06:34 AM
Beta ends Sat noon PST, Everything then will be wiped in prep for retail on Mon/Tues.

nrdstrm
11-06-04, 11:59 AM
Well, just played my last hour of beta last night...Popped to 10...Yay...lol... Can't wait to play when it goes live!
Nrdstrm
PS. Some of us should try to play on the same server...

|MaguS|
11-06-04, 12:02 PM
I will be at Gamestop @ Open to pick it up, hehe. I will post my character name and server here as soon as im in. :)

nrdstrm
11-06-04, 12:22 PM
I also have a preorder at gamestop, but I might cancel. It appears that EBGames is going to sell EQII at 12:00 AM on the 8th along with Halo 2. I might go check that out instead...
Nrdstrm