PDA

View Full Version : 3-3-3-8 vs 2-2-2-5 Performance Difference?


Fatman
10-25-04, 12:19 PM
3-3-3-8 memory vs 2-2-2-5, will that yeild any kind of noticeable difference in performance? Are we talking few frames in UT/Doom3 and 100+ points in 3DMark or more?

-=DVS=-
10-25-04, 12:46 PM
Arround 200 marks or so , couple of FPS , nothing major but every bit counts right ? ;)

Ninjaman09
10-25-04, 12:52 PM
Going from 3-3-3-8 to 2.5-3-3-6 gave me 1fps in Doom 3's demo1 benchmark. I'm getting some OCZ PC4000 Rev2 2.5-3-3 tomorrow and I'll try it with that too, to see if it makes a difference.

Graphicmaniac
10-25-04, 01:09 PM
but 22... cost double than 333 lol

Ninjaman09
10-25-04, 01:11 PM
Yeah, that's true too. I can't imagine that it's worth it. I'm getting the PC4000 so I can run 250x10 in a 1:1 ratio. The weirdest thing is that I had some OCZ PC3700 Rev3, which is supposedly the exact same RAM as the PC4000 Rev2, but it wasn't stable at 240, much less 250. Weird. I guess I'll see.

Dazz
10-25-04, 02:38 PM
You need more voltage thats why.

Ninjaman09
10-25-04, 03:11 PM
I was running it at 2.8v. That's as high as I can go with my MB, and I don't want to do any voltmodding. Is that still not enough? Oh! I just looked at your sig and noticed you have the same CPU as me, and a similar setup. Can you give me any advice to get that nice 2.6ghz overclock? Temperature isn't an issue.

coldpower27
10-25-04, 03:24 PM
Isn't supposed to be JEDEC timings 3-4-4-8 vs 2-2-2-5? The cost difference is horrendous and yields barely any performance improvement, likely spending the extra money on getting a better CPU or GPU will have a greater effect then spending more money on anything higher then value ram.

Take for example this:

OCZ Value PC-3200 3-4-4-8 2x512 = 239CAN
OCZ Premier PC-3200 2.5-3-3-7 2x512 = 255CAN
OCZ EL Platinum PC-3200 2-3-2-5 2x512 = 319CAN
OCZ EL Platinum Ver.2 PC-3200 2-2-2-5 2x512 = 479CAN!

The 2-2-2-5 ratings is overly expensive to me. Though these are awesome latencies compared to the JEDEC speed for DDR2 which is 4-4-4-12 :(

Fatman
10-25-04, 04:41 PM
So the general consensus is that it's not worth it?

Graphicmaniac
10-25-04, 05:08 PM
for normal people it doesn't worth the price..

but for who like play McGiver (i forgot how is written eheh) i think will be much pleased to overclock until limits :P

it doesn't matter anyway maybe i have find a part time job in a computer shop :P finally iw ill touch some 6800U and FX-55 and not just watch them in pic lol... also if they will not go in my own case :(( lol

circuitbreaker8
10-25-04, 05:27 PM
Usually lower latency ram is better quality wise.

Riptide
10-25-04, 05:42 PM
Well FWIW the higher quality RAM (like the OCZ 3200EL) tends to have a lot more headroom for overclocking should you decide to do that. Plus lifetime warranty... Tough to beat that with the cheap stuff.

npras42
10-25-04, 06:15 PM
Yeah. The latencies make very little difference, but the quality of the sticks makes them OVERALL so much more stable at ALL timings, which means they are much better for overclocking.

bkswaney
10-25-04, 08:29 PM
I'm running 4000 Geil.
It's rated at 2.5 7 4 4.
http://www.geilusa.com/proddetail.asp?linenumber=24

Any of u using this ram in a AMD system?

Just wondering how it was doing. :)

I'm going to use it in my new 64 rig I'm building. :D
It's new and I have 1 gig of it. So I have to use it
in my new rig.

Rytr
10-25-04, 08:48 PM
I tried it initially on the first version of the MSI K8T FIS2R with an A64 3000+ and it would not boot. Have not tried it since but probably would work now with the mature drivers. It runs great (1:1) in my IC7 at 250 FSB.

superklye
10-25-04, 10:28 PM
Well FWIW the higher quality RAM (like the OCZ 3200EL) tends to have a lot more headroom for overclocking should you decide to do that. Plus lifetime warranty... Tough to beat that with the cheap stuff.
I have Kingston ValueRAM and it's got a lifetime warranty...