PDA

View Full Version : GeForce 6800 @ q3 engined games


BlaD3
10-25-04, 12:27 PM
Hiya,

I got a big problem now. Bought a geforce 6800. switched it with old radeon 9800 pro. But I had this problem also with radeon card. It seems that in q3 engined games playing without vsync really makes the game lag. at least it is like im playing on 50 fps while its 125 constantly. other games it isnt noticable that this happens. note that i got 120 hz and its not locked or anything not playing with 60 hz in games. cg_drawfps just shows 125 constantly.

I enabled vsync with my radeon to fix this problem and it worked. But the nVidia drivers doesn't seem to work vsync. But still I think the game should be decend playable with 125 fps without vsync? wtf is this? its nothing with the bios cuz I got the latest version and with old version it was still the same. games like cs,shadow ops,tribes work perfectly well.

can anyone fix this?

grtz

BlaD3

saturnotaku
10-25-04, 12:39 PM
Forceware drivers have a profile for Quake 3. Load that profile, but then turn vsync on (might be off by default or set to application controlled). Then play and see if that works.

BlaD3
10-25-04, 01:12 PM
tried it it just doesn't work? it works with you? pls give some more info if it works? really need to fix this it influance my game a lot.

Decimator
10-25-04, 01:19 PM
What refresh rate are you playing at?

BlaD3
10-25-04, 01:52 PM
refreshrate: 120 hz @ 800x600. tried changing it to lower but that worsens it. highering it doesn't help either. I saw lowering resolution works A BIT. but not much. still happens on 640 but less (the warpy thingies).

system specs:

ASUS GeForce 6800
ASUS P4C800 Deluxe
512 DDR ram
128,5 gb space / using 80.3 gb /
p4 2.8 ghz

Elvin Presler
10-25-04, 02:11 PM
This probably won't help, but just FYI:

I play Q3 at 800x600x32 (or 1024x768x32), 120 refresh rate, No V-Sync, and com_maxfps 125 and it is smooth and fast as hell.

The catch. My monitor actually does 120 Hz at 800 or 1024. Does yours? Are you forcing a higher refresh rate with r_displayrefresh "xxx" than your monitor can actually do?

zeejay
10-25-04, 02:14 PM
with vsync on, if the card can't put out a constant FPS equal or greater the then the refresh rate of the monitor then it will start to really kill FPS, triple buffering helps this some but nvidia won't let you force it in OGL like ati does.

depending on the game, even the 6800 might not be getting greater then or equal to 120 fps all the time, but at 800x600 it most likely should be able to.
I would try with a lower refresh rate and see if it's any smoother. Is it smooth without vsync? The only thing i haven seen slow down OGL on my GT is having the HW accel set to multi display mode while using multi monitors.

BlaD3
10-25-04, 03:35 PM
hmm no its just weird it only happens in q3 engine games? I had this problem from the beginning. vsync helped preventing it. But still it should run smooth without it?... really need an answer for this :(

subbo
10-25-04, 04:58 PM
Try enabling mouse smoothing, it gives a helluva smoother look to all ID games since Quake1, including Doom3.

BlaD3
10-27-04, 10:10 AM
is it possible that it has something to do with my RAM. maybe it's defective. cuz my idea is it only happens to the games that have "punkbuster". and this works offline aswell. Online q3 is much worser because pb uses a lot of RAM then. this might be it? I'm gonna find out :p