PDA

View Full Version : Newest BIOS for 6800 Ultras available from LeadTek


Pages : [1] 2

-Crni-
10-27-04, 06:10 AM
Newest BIOS for 6800 Ultras available from LeadTek v5.40.02.32.00

ftp://ftp.winfast.com.tw/entertainment_graphics/BIOS/041027_A400Series/2994.zip

there are bioses for GT & NU too, http://www.leadtek.com.tw/eng/support/download.asp?downlineid=95&lineid=1

mylok
10-27-04, 01:30 PM
so has anyone tried this yet? any changes?

Golden Sample
10-27-04, 01:51 PM
so has anyone tried this yet? any changes?

Hi

flashed it on my Gainward 6800 Ultra Golden Sample. Running fine so far.

I didn`t notice anything new or diffrent (as expected ;-) )

...but somebody @ a german board said he can overclock a little higher now!?! Placebo?! Who knows....

Sven

hypertek
10-27-04, 02:19 PM
does leadtek still have that nasty boot up screen?

Golden Sample
10-27-04, 03:21 PM
does leadtek still have that nasty boot up screen?

Hi

Yeah, it has. I like it, because it lets the 6800U look more expensive ;)

Only diffrence i found so far: The Max Core Slowdown is 120 celcius, and was 115 before (MSI and eVGA bios)

Works fine. 2D and 3D is 400/1100 by default.

Sven

Fahim
10-27-04, 04:00 PM
Thanks for the BIOS. NiBiToR 1.6a shows 4/5 digit memory clock.... :screwy:

-Crni-
10-27-04, 04:17 PM
i flashed it too, no problems whatsoever,
previous bios i modded for 1.5v for 3d and i was able to get 445MHz/1.19GHz without lockups or artifacts, with previous bios on 1.4 i could only dream on these clocks.
this bios i left alone because both OmniExtremeEditFX & NiBiTor latest versions show weird frequencies for 2D so i decided its better not to ***** with this :) and gone straight to flash, now i put straightforward the same frequencies but now with this bios on 1.4v and it works flawlesly..

tobit
10-27-04, 05:08 PM
do people here just use nvflash or the included flash utility?

NoWayDude
10-27-04, 06:26 PM
I'm using wfflash personaly.Much easier
just type: wfflash nm ****.rom (*** indicates name of the rom u want to flash) and there u go

sammy2066
10-27-04, 07:00 PM
this bios .... can it be flashed on an asus v9999 ultra deluxe? ... will it make the card .... Leadtek in windows??

angelok
10-27-04, 07:10 PM
this bios .... can it be flashed on an asus v9999 ultra deluxe? ... will it make the card .... Leadtek in windows??

Hi Sammy,
Yes to all your questions. I have the asus v9999 ultra deluxe and flashed to the leadtek bios.

-Crni-
10-27-04, 09:18 PM
I'm using wfflash personaly.Much easier
just type: wfflash nm ****.rom (*** indicates name of the rom u want to flash) and there u go

yes if you have genuine leadtek card or already moddified bios onboard so wfflash think you have leadtek..

i have leadtek a400 tdh ultra and i re-flashed from MSI (5.40.02.28.00) to leadtek using nvflash (4.42), because it wont flash and there is no switches to make it force, afaik..

tobit
10-27-04, 09:26 PM
what about NTSC vs pal. I used winfox to 'read' the bios file and it indicates its NTSC. should the new bios work on both? (I'm in Aus)

sammy2066
10-28-04, 07:14 AM
Hi Sammy,
Yes to all your questions. I have the asus v9999 ultra deluxe and flashed to the leadtek bios.


does this better the perfromance, add new features, lower temps???


what are the benefits of doing this??

Gurra101
10-28-04, 02:40 PM
If I donīt have any problems why switch I have a leadtek 6800Ultra and im not going to change the bios! I don`t know how risky it is?? Most gains are in drivers anyway so if it aint broke donīt fix it :) My card is stable now! Its to expensive to mess whit i think or itīs easy to get it right if something goes wrong?

sammy2066
10-28-04, 06:01 PM
RUle #1 in hardware: if it aint broke, dont fix it .....

-Crni-
10-28-04, 09:27 PM
if you follow procedure its 99.99999% risk free, those 0.0000001% is loss of power during flashing (10 seconds procedure) or ur own fault like resseting PC during flash etc. if you have leadtek card like me there is no need to modify bios, this is original leadtek bios, use wfflash...

MustangSVT
10-28-04, 10:01 PM
What's the point of doing this BIOS flash? I don't see any benefits.

MUYA
10-28-04, 11:51 PM
Some ppl just like to try for the heck of it to see if they can get any benefit..that is all.

rewt
10-29-04, 12:01 AM
RUle #1 in hardware: if it aint broke, dont fix it .....

I love when people say that. Because then I can respond with this...

Just because it aint broke doesn't mean it can't work better. Haha

Gurra101
10-29-04, 02:35 AM
I love when people say that. Because then I can respond with this...

Just because it aint broke doesn't mean it can't work better. Haha

Thats true :) but you that have tried this bios was there any change??

-Crni-
10-29-04, 03:27 AM
stable overclock on lower vcore (stock), at least for me.

Gurra101
10-29-04, 04:41 AM
stable overclock on lower vcore (stock), at least for me.

ok but i donīt overclock :clap:

webmal
10-29-04, 12:25 PM
I tried the new BIOS (6800NU NTSC and non-NTSC version) on my Leadtek 6800NU but I had to revert back because I had serious screen corruption. I believe the default speed and memory clock on the new BIOS didn't tally with the original BIOS. Anyway, Winfox saved my original BIOS and restored/verified my BIOS afterwards, thank god :)

BTW, has anyone successfully used the new BIOS on a 6800NU?

Webmal

webmal
10-29-04, 12:27 PM
do people here just use nvflash or the included flash utility?

I strongly suggest that you use Winfox software (free d/l) to flash because it can save your old BIOS and it will verify your new one (i.e. almost foolproof). Winfox will flash any BIOS and I presume any brand 6800 series card from Windows with a little coaxing. Load the flash utility, read your BIOS from the card, then read the BIOS from your drive you want to flash to. Go to the flashing tab, in the bottom right flash will be greyed out, however... alternate left/right click the flash button rapidly, a tune will play and a red light bulb will appear in the top right, you can now click flash and update to another BIOS.

Hope this helps.

Webmal