PDA

View Full Version : Newbie OC'ing question


res0n0xg
10-27-04, 08:33 PM
I have tried using coolbits and also rivatuner 15.2 to OC by 6800 NU. every time i even move the slider 1 mghz to the right it gives me "the driver failed to pass the internal test with the clock frequencies you have set"

Omega53
10-27-04, 08:38 PM
PSU issue, what power supply are you running?

res0n0xg
10-27-04, 08:40 PM
its a 420 watt, its a no name brand though. its a 6800 NU though, i mean they are not that demanding. just tell me what i need to be getting on each rail and i'll check the specs...

airhead
06-28-05, 10:28 AM
Hmm no one has an answer to this? I get the same as res0n0xg, I cannot change clockspeeds at all, not even by 1mhz, not up nor down. I get the "failed to pass driver test"-message from Rivatuner and Nvidia Control Panel. Leadtek 6800NU unlocked to 16x6 without artefacts.

[Edit]
Woah stuff is turned backwards on this forum, sorry. OK, so it is my PSU? I have a 350W Seasonic rated for 400W peak, I would think that was enough?
And surely I should be able to clock DOWN without the card sucking more power eh?

supra
06-28-05, 10:44 AM
any of you tried using different drivers?

airhead
06-28-05, 11:36 AM
Tried 71.89, 77.30 and 77.72 all with the same results. Even reinstalled Windows...

Plato
06-28-05, 05:30 PM
Hi mate. I have a 6600GT and have a similar issue when overclocking but i find that if you repeatedly click 'test' it eventually accepts and the problem solves itself. Hope that helps. :)

saturnotaku
06-28-05, 05:32 PM
In many cases unlocking a 6800NU takes away any ability to overclock the card. I had a BFG 6800NU that could unlock successfully but not overclock at all. Putting it back to 12x5 restored this functionality.

$n][pErMan
06-28-05, 07:03 PM
Here you go guys... try using ExperTool from gainward and see if that works ;) Id post a link but im on dialup right now on my laptop because the power is out from storms :( Just search around gainwards site for it.. should be there!

toxikneedle
06-28-05, 07:05 PM
Sounds weird although yeah it's a fact that after unlocking a 6800NU, most people can't overclock much. Although an unlocked card will still outperform any overclocked 6800NU with 12 pipes. My Gainward 6800NU can OC to about 400/840 after being unlocked. I keep it at 390/830 and I'm quite happy with it.

By the way my PSU is also a 420W brand-less PSU. I probably could go higher if I had a better PSU.

$n][pErMan
06-28-05, 07:29 PM
Sounds weird although yeah it's a fact that after unlocking a 6800NU, most people can't overclock much. Although an unlocked card will still outperform any overclocked 6800NU with 12 pipes. My Gainward 6800NU can OC to about 400/840 after being unlocked. I keep it at 390/830 and I'm quite happy with it.

By the way my PSU is also a 420W brand-less PSU. I probably could go higher if I had a better PSU.
Keep in mind.. i think many of those cards were NU because of broken or bad pipes.. which would probably fail any OC test as they are damaged.

jimmor
06-29-05, 05:32 AM
I have tried using coolbits and also rivatuner 15.2 to OC by 6800 NU. every time i even move the slider 1 mghz to the right it gives me "the driver failed to pass the internal test with the clock frequencies you have set"

There is a known problem with using either Rivatuner or driver Coolbits for overclocking 6800 cards with many of the 7xxx drivers.

What you need to do is enable the "DisdableInternalClockTest" option via the Rivatuner "Power User" tab and "overclocking" sub section of the displayed database options.

Also, since there will then be no internal testing, you will only know when you have overclocked too far by the artifacts or lockups that occur. Which of course is how it always was in the past with older cards and drivers.

airhead
06-29-05, 05:34 AM
Indeed putting it back on 12x5 allows me to OC. Hmm, strange.
But what I find even stranger is that when I push test on 16x6 it immediately tells me the driver failed, but as it takes slightly longer when on 12x5. As if it doesnt really try setting the new frequency...

Anyway I suppose one should be happy with no artefacts and full pipes :)

[Edit]
Arr now I saw your post jimmor, it was as I suspected then. Thanks a bunch, I will try your advice :)

peeledback1
08-01-05, 12:19 AM
try powerstrip, it doesn't "check" :) ... then go to the nvidia control panel/riva tuner and save the settings..got me up to 400/850 without complaints :>