PDA

View Full Version : MSI fabricating multiplier adjustments?


saturnotaku
10-30-04, 12:26 AM
Found this story (http://www.sudhian.com/showdocs.cfm?aid=616) at Sudhian. I'm not entirely sure what to make of it, except for the fact that I'm even more sorry that I purchased the motherboard I have now. Aside from the horrible layout, now we have this business. Hopefully it's something that can be fixed via a BIOS update.

Again, to anyone looking for a Socket 939 solution, do not, I repeat do not purchase the MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum.

Bill The Cat
10-30-04, 02:02 AM
Joel posted an update: http://www.sudhian.com/showdocs.cfm?aid=617

Interesting stuff.

john19055
10-30-04, 03:01 AM
I have always heard the half multiplers would'nt work right,I have a MSI K8N NEO Platinum and it does'nt even show half multiplers,but I just have the 1.3 bios and have'nt updated to see if the newer ones have the half multipler or that might just be for the 939 boards.But from what I have read from some fourms they said when they went to a half multipler it would increase the FSB instead of the multipler working right.

Riptide
10-30-04, 10:16 AM
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=460895&postcount=19

;)

This problem is not Neo2 exclusive, btw.

saturnotaku
10-30-04, 10:19 AM
Ahh dammit. Oh well, time to watch the Posting and You Flash animation. :D

Banko
10-30-04, 11:06 AM
Thing is you shouldn't even use half multi's since AMD 64's don't support half multi's and this hack is the only possible way of doing it.

john19055
10-30-04, 07:39 PM
It was'nt much of a hack to me I just updated to the new Bios 1.4 at MSI web site and sure enough it has the .5 multiplers in it I have'nt messed with them yet since it seems they don't work right anyway.It has a hidden features to that you can enable but most of them I don't know what they do.One is Hammer Vid control It starts at 1.55v. and then goes down to .85v it may of went lower did'nt really look at it that much since I did'nt know what it was for.But it had one I think it was called NV/ATI Speedup,but when it was on auto it was enable ,it would automanticaly overclock my 6800ultra to 446/1150,but my card would have the tab for no overclocking marked, and others on the MSI site have had this problem of it overclocking the Video cards when on auto,I do'nt know how it did this but I finnally got the hidden feature to show back up and disable that and my card went back to it normal default clocks,I could run it fine at that speed but since I did'nt now how it was doing it ,I did'nt want to chance it.But that was weird haveing a board with hidden features,that you could just press Shift+F2 and ALt+F3 to get them to show up.

Riptide
11-02-04, 08:58 AM
A follow-up from Sudhian on this.

http://www.sudhian.com/showdocs.cfm?aid=617

Blacklash
11-02-04, 04:26 PM
Its nice he's finally figuring it out on his own :D