PDA

View Full Version : Asus Pentium Unlock Feature??


Eltigre88
10-30-04, 11:11 AM
Anyone up on this? Does it work? I have the bios and will flash when I get home. Some how it makes the clock availible to adjust in bios. :nanahump:

nVestor
10-31-04, 01:17 PM
You talking about this one?

http://www.asus.com/news/2004/20040921.htm

It's enabled in the latest BIOS for the Asus P4C800-E Deluxe v.1018 :)

Eltigre88
10-31-04, 01:20 PM
They released 1018 bios with the sole purpose of unlocking the P4 processor! See my link below!

www.asus.com.tw/support/download/item.aspx?ModelName=P4C800-E%20Deluxe

Eltigre88
10-31-04, 01:21 PM
Hey know fair you beat me to it.

Crap I did not realize it is Prescott only, bummer!!!

bkswaney
10-31-04, 10:11 PM
They released 1018 bios with the sole purpose of unlocking the P4 processor! See my link below!

www.asus.com.tw/support/download/item.aspx?ModelName=P4C800-E%20Deluxe


I wish my Gigabyte could unlock a Prescott. ;)

jAkUp
11-01-04, 12:23 AM
Wow thats ****ing awesome! I wish my Abit could unlock :(

Eltigre88
11-30-04, 02:08 AM
Does anyone have a success story with this new bios update?

jAkUp
12-14-04, 07:20 PM
I noticed a new BIOS update for my IC7 that has the multiplier unlocker as well! I'm gonna try it tonight :) I don't have a prescott, but it doesnt say a prescott is required for this board.

seastar
12-14-04, 07:40 PM
you need a prescott to do that :P even on the abit one

JoKeRr
12-14-04, 07:53 PM
guess it wouldn't work on my northwood 2.4C, Damn...

jAkUp
12-14-04, 11:40 PM
you need a prescott to do that :P even on the abit one

nooooo dammit :(

EDIT:

Yup, your right :( I just flashed my BIOS and did not see any unlocking :(

wshadow
12-15-04, 12:41 AM
CDS DONT BURN! (snowlol)

Rakeesh
12-15-04, 06:05 AM
Mine is a prescott CPU, but I have an intel branded motherboard so I'll never see that kind of feature unless somebody produced a hacked bios.

Unless of course there was some kind of unified bios for all 915 chipsets. My motherboard seems to use that same American Megatrends bios as the Asus one, but that is hardly a notable similarity.

Rakeesh
12-18-04, 08:36 PM
Hmm....I just remembered that whenever I set the bios configure jumper (used to reset passwords and undo a bad configuration without resetting all of your bios settings to the factory defaults, but the system can't boot the OS with that jumper enabled) theres a bios menu option for "Default Frequency Ratio." By default it is enabled, and I tried disabling it, but I don't see any options anywhere for adjusting the multiplier when it is disabled.

I did notice however that while this jumper is in the configure mode, the processor runs at 2.8ghz as opposed to its normal 3.4ghz. This is probably for some kind of a failsafe, but it indicates that the processor is well capable of adjusting the multiplier.

Cruel_Logic
12-19-04, 12:50 PM
umm, it only moves the multiplier down to 14x..... tried it on my friends, it wont let him increase it, just go down.