PDA

View Full Version : Icons disappearing with unlocked pipelines in BFG 6800 OC


vhx1
10-31-04, 01:27 PM
Just picked up a BFG 6800 OC clocked at the regular 350/700. When I use rivatuner to unlock the 4 extra pipelines, there is no artifacting in 3dmark 03,05 or any games that I play. However, on my Windows XP desktop, system tray icons start disappearing and some icons on my desktop don't show up. I am using the 66.81 drivers. Keep in mind that I only experience this problem when i have the 4 extra pipelines enabled. Does enabling these extra pipes suck more power from the psu?

I heard that this problem mite be caused by not having a powerful enough PSU. I am currently using a 350W Antec SmartPower. has anyone else experienced this before? This is really puzzling.

THE VIKING
10-31-04, 03:13 PM
I also have a BFG 6800 OC and used Rivatuner to unlock the 4 disabled pipelines and 1 vertex shader. Everything is noral for me. The card works almost like the 6800 GT I had in my system. I've heard that sometimes disabled pipelines may be defective. That may be the case with your card, but I don't know why your games are normal and your desktop isn't.

vhx1
10-31-04, 04:18 PM
The_Viking, What is your PSU rated at?

wI-OSMAN-
10-31-04, 04:23 PM
i get the same thing also my leaktek card, but i get artfacts in my games.

vhx1
11-01-04, 11:23 AM
HMmm i see,..... so this may be caused by defective pipelines also. DAMMIT!

vhx1
11-02-04, 04:45 AM
anyone else experiencing this problem?

THE VIKING
11-02-04, 09:57 PM
I have a Dell Dimension 4550 system. It only has a 250W power supply, but Dell greatly underrates its power supplies. I've heard that its equivalent to a 350W power supply. Either way, I'm not having problems.

einstein_314
11-02-04, 11:24 PM
I have a Dell Dimension 4550 system. It only has a 250W power supply, but Dell greatly underrates its power supplies. I've heard that its equivalent to a 350W power supply. Either way, I'm not having problems.

No offence or anything but I highly doubt that it is the equivalent of a 350W power supply. Why would they call it a 250W ps if its a 350W? :retard:

vhx1
11-04-04, 04:17 AM
Heres a screenshot of the problem i am having

http://www.geocities.com/vhx6/desktop.jpg

MidnightWatcher
11-04-04, 06:10 PM
Mine are unlocked, and I have no issues at all. I'm doubtful that you're icons are disappearing because of the unlocked pipes.

vhx1
11-04-04, 11:05 PM
yea but when i disable the locked pipes the problem goes away so i dunno hahaha