PDA

View Full Version : Modded GeForce 6800 OC beats 6800 GT DOOM III!!!


Pantherman
11-01-04, 03:14 PM
I used the timedemo 1 for Doom III, and I got 49.3fps at 1600X1200 with HIGH DETAIL with the system below. I modded my GeForce 6800 OC to 16-pipes and 6-vertex shaders. It's also overclocked to 350MHz core and 760MHz memory. I'm using the 61.77 drivers. Anyway, I was over a friend's house, and we benchmarked DOOM III on his system. He has a P4 3.0GHz with 800MHz bus and a GeForce 6800 GT at stock speeds. He's also using the same drivers and was only able to achieve 45.6fps. All the settings were IDENTICAL. We both have 1GB of RAM, but I only have PC-2700. He wouldn't believe my system could beat his in DOOM III. I can't wait to have him over and show him my score. :)

anzak
11-01-04, 03:43 PM
Muhahaha my new Albatron card modded to 16 pipes and 6 vertex shaders and overclocked to 350/800 with tons of headroom (I know the memory will do 850). I need to dig up Doom 3 and try an beat you :P

SH64
11-01-04, 03:53 PM
How come a GeForce 6800 with 128MB (modded to 16/6) clocked @350/760 beats a 6800GT (256MB DDR3) clocked @350/1000 ?? :confused:

there must be something wrong about that ..
in best cases i would say its a system modification/optimization differnece between your PC & your friend's.

INGlewood78
11-01-04, 03:59 PM
Ditto...sorry to burst your bubble..but its probably a software issue with your friends computer. You have the same core but a significant drop in ram speed. The results don't make sense so therefore there must be some other external factors..

-=DVS=-
11-01-04, 08:33 PM
Doom 3 is heavy on CPU even at higher resolution, what CPUs you guys had one had P4 3ghz? if both have same it is weird.

john19055
11-01-04, 09:20 PM
It's only a difference of 4FPS ,did you run it more than once to see if they all came up with the same result.were all the bios settigs the same because if one used fastwrites on and the other was'nt that would cause a small difference in frame rate.

StoNer
11-01-04, 09:34 PM
i just hit 59.6 on my GT at stock speed.

He might need to clean his drivers out or soemthing. Somethins messed up.

MustangSVT
11-01-04, 09:56 PM
He probably didn't run the timedemo twice. Let me put it this way. Can you hit 66.1fps at 1024x768 4xAA 8xAF w/ high (that's on my GT @ stock). With the GT overclocked, I hit 55.1fps 1280x1024 4xAA 8xAF and Ultra settings..

MX/MX400
11-01-04, 11:56 PM
¿qué?

jhatfie
11-02-04, 01:13 AM
Yeah a overclocked and pipeline enabled 6800nu can come close to a 6800GT, but there is one key difference. Under Higher resolutions and when 4xAA/8xAF or better is enabled along with Ultra settings, the extra 128MB and faster memory of the GT will start to come into play and the GT will start to flex it's muscle. Still, a 6800nu that can enable the pipelines is a hell of a bang for the buck.

Some quick runs with my 6800nu (chaintech AA6800 @ 430/920 16p/6vp)all options on except vsync. (66.81 drivers)

1024x768 HQ noAA/8xAF: 92.9fps
1024x768 HQ 4xAA/8xAF: 78.5fps
1600x1200 HQ noAA/8xAF: 75.9fps
1280x1024 HQ 4xAA/8xAF: 56.3fps
1280x1024 UQ 4xAA/8xAF: 45.7fps

Peoples-Agent
11-02-04, 07:20 AM
yeah - my previous card was a modded XFX 6800 standard, but after being modded for a week it went pop! heheh
So I decided to stop being a cheap ass , (which is what it is) and got a 6800 GT!
But if you get away with it, for the price - shed loads more performance than anything else, and its hard for anyone to prove what you have done, RMA friendly as so to speak!

Vagrant Zero
11-03-04, 02:49 AM
Maybe driver settings were different. Maybe he's disabled opts or something.

Kojiro
11-03-04, 11:58 AM
My brother gets beter gaming performance than I do.
He has a X800 Pro, I got a BFG 6800 GT.

The key difference between our machines is he has a 2.8Ghz HT P4 with 2x512MB Dual Channel DDR 400, and I got an old outdated Athlon 2500+ @2000Mhz, With dual Channel 2x512MB PNY PC3500 running at DDR333.

Just wait till I get my 3500+ and 939 Mobo. Muhahahahaa!