PDA

View Full Version : Please rate this memory!


gate1975mlm
11-01-04, 03:10 PM
http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=140210&Category_Code=Unbuffered_Corsair

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merchant2/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=M&Product_Code=140215&Category_Code=Unbuffered_OCZ
Is this memory any good?

SH64
11-01-04, 03:45 PM
Corsair 3-4-4-8 is good i suppose . i give it 4/5 .

jAkUp
11-01-04, 03:50 PM
Your better off with 4 512's. The timing on 1gb sticks arent the greatest.

gate1975mlm
11-01-04, 05:00 PM
Your better off with 4 512's. The timing on 1gb sticks arent the greatest.

No are heard its no good when running all 4 slots on a Nforce board.

Riptide
11-01-04, 05:40 PM
I give it a 3/5. 3-4-4 is slow for PC3200 speeds.

john19055
11-01-04, 05:45 PM
Most Corsair I have had will do better than what they are rated ,my PC4000XMS is rated at 3-4-4-8 but I run mine at 2.5-3-3-7 1T and have no problems with it.

superklye
11-01-04, 07:28 PM
I give it a 3/5. 3-4-4 is slow for PC3200 speeds.
well yeah, but can't you manually adjust the timings in the BIOS?

Riptide
11-01-04, 08:14 PM
Sure you can but if that's what they're rated for there's no guarantee they will run at faster timings.. Some will, some won't.

jAkUp
11-01-04, 11:36 PM
Pretty much all 1gb sticks have very high timings

john19055
11-01-04, 11:54 PM
Nothing is guarantee ,I was just trying to point out that Corsair make good memory, some memory has a hard time doing just what it is rated,and occoursed I have to set it manually,I guess if you want it to have low latency from the start you have to pay that extra price.If you are a gamer then setting you timming speeds for your memory is'nt that big of a deal.

gate1975mlm
11-02-04, 07:13 AM
In real world performence would latency settings (3-4-4-8) be alot worse then Cas Latency: 2.5? Or just a little? I guess what I am trying to say is will a game like Doom 3 play like crap if I use latency settings (3-4-4-8)? See I plan on using 2GB 2 sticks Dual Channel in the next year. I would run 4 Sticks but people here are saying that its not good to use all 4 slots.

Riptide
11-02-04, 08:48 AM
I doubt you'll notice the difference between Cas3 and Cas2 memory. Your benchmark scores will be a smidgen better w/Cas2 but IMO it's tough to see a real world difference. There are those who think they can tell but I think they're fooling themselves.