PDA

View Full Version : GPU Core OC?


MX/MX400
11-02-04, 12:41 AM
Hiya,

Ok, I'm kinda in my newb stages of card modding career, (my GTO is the first card I've ever tried to mod/OC), and I've noticed several ppl with GTs and GTOs getting core speeds of 400-455 with their OCs... mine on the other hand artifacts at ~400MHz :(

Although the GTO does run a bit hot, I don't think heat is to blame, as it artifacts noticably in 3D2K5 from the get go (before the card's even warmed up).

I was thinking of trying volt modding, although jumping blindly into BIO editing has kinda got me worried, and I'm not even sure if this is a power issue, since others are hitting +400MHz with their GTOs at the stock 1.3v. Do you guys think volt modding might help, or is my core just too weak to handle those frequencies? Thx.

Subtestube
11-02-04, 12:48 AM
Entirely unrelatedly - is the softmod actually sticking? I've seen reports on the RT forums of GTOs not softmodding properly. Also, if it is working, are you sure your artifacts aren't softmod related?

MX/MX400
11-02-04, 01:02 AM
Yes, my softmod sticks... and no it artifacted at ~400MHz core at 12x1,5 as well.

It is a minor gripe (I can get within 10MHz of a stock Ultra) but damn... being soooooo close is driving me nuts :p

StoNer
11-02-04, 01:12 AM
Try 400 core 1000 memory and see how that does.

btw what does your autodetect come up as?

MX/MX400
11-02-04, 01:27 AM
hmm, tried 400/1000 but it still artifacted... I guess 400MHz and my card's core don't agree with each other :retard:

Anyway my auto detect usually comes up anywhere between 361-392 core, and ~980 mem. But I've been able to push the mem close to 1.2GHz without any artifacting. The core on the other hand...

Warden13
11-02-04, 06:44 AM
Assuming you have proper cooling then I would get the bios editor and go to 1.4 volts. There is a thread here discussing how to mod your bios or something that should have the info you need. My GT was stuck at 370/1050 until I did this and then it would do 400/1100. Once I put my watercooling in place I was able to run 460/1200 with 100% stability and ZERO artifacts.

Warden

Slammin
11-02-04, 07:34 AM
Chances are that the 1.4v mod will allow your card to OC much higher, BUT, heat will be a problem and you will more than likely have to settle for something much closer to the 400 gpu than will be worth it anyway.

At stock 1.3v, my car is happiest at 400-410 and anything higher causes artifacts. At 1.4v, I can run 425 w/o artifacts but I get the paisley screen lockups after playing IL-2 AEP online for 20 minutes or more.

Needless to say, I leave it at 1.3 and 400mhz on the clock.