PDA

View Full Version : HTT - Athlon 64 - 3400+


Peoples-Agent
11-02-04, 07:13 AM
Could someone please clear this up for me!

I have an KV8 Pro v1.1 motherboard running alongside an AMD 64 3400+ cpu, I have noticed that I have been running my HTT @ x5 , with my FSB at 204.

Bottom line my clock speed is at around 2.4ghz give or take a few mhz!!

Now people have been suggesting that I lower my HTT to x4, but how could this possibly give me an increase in performance if I what I am actually doing is lowering my HTT total speed from just over 1000mhz down to around the 800mhz mark - well, that's if this is how this multiplier works???

could someone please clear this up for me, want to get best performance that I knowingly can before the drudging upgrade window flies around once more.

thanks everyone in advance,

- D -

Viral
11-02-04, 07:15 AM
You will want to lower the HTT multiplier when overclocking as HTT has a hard time clocking much over 1GHz on current motherboards. If you are not overclocking then everything is just fine :)

Peoples-Agent
11-02-04, 09:20 AM
Sort of building a picture as to how this all works!
Christ , different concept - esp back to the day of overclocking my old AMD K6-2 300 ...lol ...You could fry bacon and eggs on CPUs in them days when OC'ed!

I can get my 3400+ @ 2.6ghz comfy when lowering the HTT to x4 , but I still cant justify it if games are running great anyway! lol
OC'ing is a strange addiction - use to be when hardware was way too pricey, and system statistics did actually make a huge impact , overclocking your pc saved you a bomb, now it seems- its just a hobby to see what you can actually push out of your rig ! is fun tho :-)

john19055
11-02-04, 11:46 AM
Do you have a 939 board or a 754 board with the A64 3400+.

Dazz
11-02-04, 01:17 PM
3400+ is sk754.

Riptide
11-02-04, 01:22 PM
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=19-103-503&depa=1

3400+ is also 939 it seems.

Peoples-Agent
11-02-04, 06:02 PM
yeah, apparently there is a socket 939 out.

But saying that, changed HTT to x4, memory LT to 1 , running fsb @ 230 now and stable, with nice low temps. Weirdly stable, as my cpu voltage is at about 1.53 ....hmm thought id have to increase that, and this ram is cheap crap in comparison!
Its running like a dream - but I can nearly sense that RMA waiting to burn a hole in my soul as I smell that cpu smoulder lol

Kojiro
11-03-04, 01:06 AM
yeah, apparently there is a socket 939 out.

But saying that, changed HTT to x4, memory LT to 1 , running fsb @ 230 now and stable, with nice low temps. Weirdly stable, as my cpu voltage is at about 1.53 ....hmm thought id have to increase that, and this ram is cheap crap in comparison!
Its running like a dream - but I can nearly sense that RMA waiting to burn a hole in my soul as I smell that cpu smoulder lol

How the hell can you RMA somthing when your the one who damaged it?unless the place that handles RMAs are so overwhelmed "most likely by people like you", that they don't care anymore since it would take too damned long to check it "for user caused damage" out than it to just simply hand out a new one. :rolleyes:

Ninjaman09
11-03-04, 06:10 AM
WTF? That socket 939 3400+ is exactly the same as the 3500+ :wtf:

The 754 3400+ had a 1MB L2 cache, that was how it got its speed designation. This one is listed as 2.2 GHz and 512k L2, which is a 3500+. Weird.

Viral
11-03-04, 07:25 AM
WTF? That socket 939 3400+ is exactly the same as the 3500+ :wtf:

The 754 3400+ had a 1MB L2 cache, that was how it got its speed designation. This one is listed as 2.2 GHz and 512k L2, which is a 3500+. Weird.

I heard some news a month or two back of the 3400+ for S939 only supporting 800MHz HTT. No idea how that would work, seeing K8T800Pro motherboards for S754 allow S754 A64's designed to run at 800MHz HTT use 1GHz just fine. It is either physically restricted or they somehow can't run it right. Either way, faster HTT (faster than 800 that is) hardly means anything for single CPU systems.

Riptide
11-03-04, 08:21 AM
AMD has a really confusing set of products out right now. With two sockets and CPUs going by the same names (such as that 3400+) on each socket while at the same time having different clock speeds/cache.. it's enough to make your head spin. :retard:

LiquidX
11-03-04, 09:06 AM
AMD has a really confusing set of products out right now. With two sockets and CPUs going by the same names (such as that 3400+) on each socket while at the same time having different clock speeds/cache.. it's enough to make your head spin. :retard:

It sure as to the point I cant figure out what to get. Hell for a time I thought the 3500+ s939 was just a 3200+ s754 they shifted to s939 because they have the same specs except the 3500+ is dual channel. Then you have the Clawhammer core. Bah! They need to make up there mind.

Peoples-Agent
11-06-04, 08:01 PM
How the hell can you RMA somthing when your the one who damaged it?unless the place that handles RMAs are so overwhelmed "most likely by people like you", that they don't care anymore since it would take too damned long to check it "for user caused damage" out than it to just simply hand out a new one. :rolleyes:

If you were to sell a TV , that had a built in hard drive containing some rather fine pr0n ...to access it you have a grenade pin you have to pull out of the side, and hope it doesn't blow ....That damn pin is getting pulled! LoL

If you advertise on a package " Reliability, Stability and plenty of over clocking potential" ..they are inviting me to do just that, so I will!
And if you'd bite the bullet sooner than trying to RMA something you've blown up, more fool you Mr. They can afford it, donate the money you'd save by RMAing to a third world country if it makes you feel better :)