PDA

View Full Version : Help with 6800GT DOOM III Benchmarks


technoid
11-04-04, 06:33 PM
I just put together a new system.

Dual Boot Windows XP Pro with SP1 and SP2
Asus P4C800-E with Kingston RAM - 1 Gig (2x512)
Pentium 4 3.4 Northwood with Zalman 7000 AlCu
eVGA 6800GT - 61.77 Drivers ($369 deal at NewEgg)
2 - Seagate 200 Gig Hard Drives
NEC 16x DVD+/-RW
NEC 16x CD-RW (oldie)
Using Builtin Sound and LAN (Have Sound Blaster Audigy not installed)
DirectX 9.0c and latest drivers for sound/lan

I'm running DOOM III benchmarks and I'd like to find out what some of you are getting at these resolutions.

1024x768
1280x1024

I have a dual boot system with Windows XP Pro installed on two primary partitions running SP1 on one and SP2 on the other. The reason I'm asking for help is I'm getting a big difference between SP1 and SP2 at 1280.

DOOM III Retail - High Quality - No Changes in Advanced
AA + AF + VSync Disabled in Drivers (61.77)
Everything at stock speeds

SP1 1024x768 - 78.3
SP2 1024x768 - 73.0

SP1 1280x1024 - 74.7
SP2 1280x1024 - 61.9 (the question is why so much lower on SP2)

So I'd like to see what kind of numbers everyone else is getting on whatever version of XP you're running, SP1 or SP2.

What I'm most interested in is seeing benchmarks for 1024 and 1280 on different sytsems to see the change in FPS from 1024 to 1280.

Thanks for any help.

Decimator
11-04-04, 06:38 PM
What version of the drivers are you using?

Eltigre88
11-04-04, 06:45 PM
What version of the drivers are you using?

UHMMMM! He said 61.77!

Slammin
11-04-04, 07:57 PM
You don't even say what your settings are. The only distinguishing fact you state is SP1 and SP2.

If SP2 is slower, then time for me to turn up the clock speeds even more!

technoid
11-05-04, 04:35 AM
Slammin,

I updated the message with settings in it, High Quality and stock Adv Settings.

911medic
11-05-04, 08:37 AM
DOOM III Retail - High Quality - No Changes in Advanced
AA + AF + VSync Disabled in Drivers (61.77)So, you've disabled AF in the drivers? Why? You know that running in High Quality automatically enables 8XAF in the game? Just curious.
It's not what you're looking for, but I'm running XPSP2 w/66.70 drivers, Quality setting in drivers, High Quality in the game, AA/AF set to "Application Preference," Vsync disabled, all optimizations on in drivers, 2XAA in the game (and 8XAF auto-enabled by the game), and I get ~40 FPS in the timedemo @1600X1200. System specs in sig.

kenju4u
11-05-04, 11:47 AM
humm sounds about right. i have windows XP SP2 with 66.81 drivers with AA and AF set to "application controlled" in Rivatuner. My doom settings are:

AA 2X
1600 X 1200 & ~60 fps

When I tired setting AA to 4X through Rivatuner and turning off the 2X AA in Doom my fps dropped to less than 30 at 1600 X 1200.

I am over clocking at 380/801 3D.

kenju4u
11-05-04, 11:52 AM
Not sure why but I take a big performance hit when i turn on AA through Rivatuner compared to Doom 3.

When i turn on AA through Rivaturner I am suppose to turn off AA in doom correct? or should I still leave AA on to 2X in doom? does that cause a multiple effect?


Also one more question....in Rivatuner under OPENGL settings, Under the S3TC quality settings, checking "Compress DXT3 instead of DXT1" is suppose to make the image quality much better? is it worth it?

rewt
11-05-04, 11:54 AM
SP1 does not include dx 9.0c

technoid
11-05-04, 12:09 PM
rewt,

I installed DX 9.0c on the SP1 partition myself.