PDA

View Full Version : 3200 90Nm vs 300090nm


Pages : [1] 2

Celeron 433
11-08-04, 06:38 PM
Hey, i have a question..
i wanna get an Amd athlon 90nm and i wanna OC it real good with a good heatsink...
Which one is a better OCer Amd 3200 90Nm or amd 3000 90nm?I dont wanna get 3500 coz its too expensive..

bkswaney
11-08-04, 09:04 PM
Hey, i have a question..
i wanna get an Amd athlon 90nm and i wanna OC it real good with a good heatsink...
Which one is a better OCer Amd 3200 90Nm or amd 3000 90nm?I dont wanna get 3500 coz its too expensive..


From everything I've been reading the 3000+ is a monster
overclocker. It will reach the same speeds the 3200 will.
Save the money and get a 3000+.
That's what I'm going with. :)
I'm ordering a new Koolance PC2-650 case this week
and getting my new 64 and Asus mobo in about 2 weeks. :D :nanahump:

I'm temped to get a socket 940 motherboard.
I can pick up a FX51 for 400 bucks. ;)
Or a 53 for 480.

Pandora's Box
11-08-04, 09:09 PM
nah get 939 buddy. o/c the 3000+ to fx53 speeds :p

bkswaney
11-08-04, 09:20 PM
nah get 939 buddy. o/c the 3000+ to fx53 speeds :p


That's what I have in mind soon
as I get my new case to cool that bad
boy. :D

jAkUp
11-09-04, 12:00 AM
the 3000+ if your looking for some monster oc's :) Im thinking about the 90nm 3500. I might wait for the new revision next month though... I think its the san diego chips

mustrum
11-09-04, 03:04 AM
The 3000+ 3200+ and 3500+ are reaching the same max OC of around 2.6ghz according to feedback of many people. It seems like AMD is downlabeling again. The 3000+ might need a bit more vcore to go further but in the end they top out at the same clocks.
Mileage will vary of course.
I have a 3000+ on it's way and will report back with my results. I will be pleased if it reaches 2.4ghz. :D
btw: The chip was 148, unbelievable how cheap those are allready!

Celeron 433
11-09-04, 07:32 AM
if that's all true i want to see Amd 3000 64 athlon@2.6Mghz vs Amd FX55...
Interesting
Price vs speed comparison...

Riptide
11-09-04, 08:13 AM
Can the 3000 do 2,600 on air though? Or does it need water...

Pandora's Box
11-09-04, 08:28 AM
ive seen them reach 2.6 on air. beyond 2.6 seems to be requiring water cooling.

Ninjaman09
11-09-04, 09:30 AM
My 3500+ could barely do 2.4 on air, I'd go for water, definitely.

six_storm
11-09-04, 10:02 AM
I've got the 3200 939skt .90nm CPU and with it running at 2.2 GHz, it idles at 32 degrees C. I love the performance on this thing, its awesome.

Riptide
11-09-04, 10:13 AM
My 3500+ could barely do 2.4 on air, I'd go for water, definitely.
YMMV apparently. I'm always suspicious of people claiming nearly guaranteed overclocks (like w/these 3000+ and the 6800GT for instance). Sure, there's a good chance... But do we even know for a fact that 9/10 6800GT will hit Ultra speeds? Or 9/10 3000+ CPUs hit 2.4 on air? We don't really know...

mustrum
11-10-04, 03:06 AM
YMMV apparently. I'm always suspicious of people claiming nearly guaranteed overclocks (like w/these 3000+ and the 6800GT for instance). Sure, there's a good chance... But do we even know for a fact that 9/10 6800GT will hit Ultra speeds? Or 9/10 3000+ CPUs hit 2.4 on air? We don't really know...
You never have a warranted OC of course. Lots of people have them now though and the worst reported OC was 2.3ghz and that dude really had no clue what he did. He is running unstable because of his ram for sure.

The winny @ 2.6ghz is tiny bit slower than the FX55 because of the smaller cache. It makes up a bit with it's faster memory controller though.
Not every 3000+ reaches 2.6ghz but 2.4ghz are a quite safe bet.
I'll get mine tomorrow. I'll report back. (Will be watercooled.)

superbooga
11-10-04, 05:21 AM
My 3200+ reaches 2.6 Ghz, but it requires 1.525V to do so.

Anyways, I'd recommend the 3200+ for overclocking simply because you have more flexibility with the multipliers, plus it's not that much more expensive than the 3000+. You can pick memory divisors of 9, 10, 11, 12, 15. With a 3200+, you'd need almost 280 Mhz HTT to reach 2.5 Ghz, which does put a lot of stress in many things, even if you reduce HTT and increase memory multipliers. With a 3200+ it's a lot easier to get the optimal performance.

In game performance, the 3200+ at 2.6 Ghz, assuming 1:1 memory, is faster than a stock FX55. If you drop the multiplier on the FX55 and crank the memory speed up, then the FX55 shows a 5 - 10% advantage.

Smokey
11-10-04, 05:56 AM
Well Im waiting until around christmas time as prices are meant to drop even further, so I'll either get the 3000+ or 3200+ I think, which motherboard do you think would be best, the MSI Neo2 Plat or the Asus A8V?

Pandora's Box
11-10-04, 08:39 AM
Well Im waiting until around christmas time as prices are meant to drop even further, so I'll either get the 3000+ or 3200+ I think, which motherboard do you think would be best, the MSI Neo2 Plat or the Asus A8V?


msi neo2

Dr.Nick
11-10-04, 08:50 AM
I would go with the 3200+ only because of the 10x multi(instead of 9x on the 3000+).

Riptide
11-10-04, 10:00 AM
9x267 wouldn't be to bad with the 3000+ though. And there is RAM out there that can do it on as little as 2.7v (GSkill for instance).

Ninjaman09
11-10-04, 02:56 PM
Riptide, you still running that RAM at 250? How's it holding up? My PC3200EL Plat Rev.2 is coming in tomorrow :D

JimmyWang214
11-10-04, 03:43 PM
I've got my 3200 running at 2370 mhz with crappy Corsair Value ram, (temps idle around 38-39 even with a XP-90/Tornado combo though) so this chip rocks out!

Riptide
11-10-04, 05:00 PM
Riptide, you still running that RAM at 250? How's it holding up? My PC3200EL Plat Rev.2 is coming in tomorrow :D
Holding up just fine. Best kit of memory I've owned so far as a matter of fact. So good I ordered another gig kit for the second computer I'm building up 'round christmas time. :)

Celeron 433
11-10-04, 06:37 PM
Hey no ****.....If u wanna Overclock AMd 3200 90nm to 2.6 u have to have a good memory? what? How does memory make a difference on OCing?I have a A-Data memory Pc 3200 memory...And i wanna get 3200 90nm with a good cooling and OC it to 2.5-2.6....

Dr.Nick
11-10-04, 11:04 PM
It would be best to have ram that can do 1:1 high htt, but you dont need it. I only have PC3200 and run at 290x9 with no issues and performance is great;)

Viral
11-11-04, 02:58 AM
You get a 10x multiplier with the 3200+, meaning you can reach higher frequencies while keeping most RAM in a 1:1 ratio. A max of 9x will be pretty limiting unless you have great RAM, even 10x is fairly limiting.

TacT
11-11-04, 01:57 PM
3500+ and MSI K8N neo 2 platinum getting built tomorrow, testing on Saturday and likely overclocked to death on Sunday :D